PONASI - Project to support the enhancement of the natural capital of the landscape and increase the resilience of riparian communities

Start
October 2019
End
September 2022
Project cost
1 660 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Spatial Planning Degradation-Restoration Forest ICT

Sectors

Timber Shea Rice

Main goals

Reduce the complex's vulnerability, support the enhancement of the complex's natural capital and increase the resilience of the riparian communities

Specific objectives

  • Strengthen the security of targeted Protected Areas, surveillance, anti-poaching and law enforcement through sustainable measures and involving local populations
  • Enhance and strengthen environmentally friendly local economic initiatives to improve the livelihoods and incomes of the riparian populations of the PONASI complex
  • Support the revitalization and operationalization of the PONASI landscape co-governance mechanism as an integrated decision-making platform (joint partnership between DGEF, OFINAP, DREEVCC, DREP, community representatives and private operators)

Beneficiaries

Riparian communities living directly or indirectly from the ecosystem resources from the services of the complex or its periphery. They benefit from the stability provided by the security of the complex. The training and know-how of the project thus make it possible to create a more favorable framework for development and investment and to improve the local economy resulting from the good governance of natural resources. The State is also a derivative beneficiary since the project supports its management actions and induces greater stability in the region.

Results

R1. The perimeter of the PONASI ecological complex is protected and secured thanks to the reinforcement of the monitoring and anti-poaching system.
R2. Populations, including transhumant herders, are associated with the integrated management of natural resources and derive sustainable benefits: value chain approaches (wood, shea, hunting, ecotourism), secure community development and capacity building management and production of populations and their sectoral associations.
R3. An integrated platform to stimulate effective management is operational. This co-governance mechanism makes it possible to harmonize the management jurisdictions of the various units and corridors of the complex with an elaborate master plan. It is based on a consultation framework between local authorities and peripheral consular chambers of PONASI. A reflection aiming at a unified governance or a delegation of governance of the whole complex with possibilities of development of the Public Private Partnerships is triggered during these multi-stakeholder meetings. Local natural resource management plans are developed (or updated) for 4 priority communes, including their financing plans

Activities

A1. Securing and Monitoring Targeted Protected Areas

  • Intensification of surveillance, protection and anti-poaching in protected areas of the PONASI complex
  • Development of methods for monitoring wildlife populations and monitoring the environment by airborne systems (ULM and drone)
  • Community sensitization and mobilization around conservation issues and security issues on the periphery of the PONASI complex and setting up an intelligence system
  • Legal follow-up in the fight against poachers against traffickers

A2. Inclusion of riparian populations and promotion of natural resource development models

  • Improved carbonization and good PFNL harvesting and processing practices
  • Training on good agricultural practices
  • Support to the rice sector
  • Support to the structuring of the livestock sector

A3. Animation and consultation

  • Organization and animation of a consultation framework of local authorities and peripheral consular chambers

Related people

jules.png
Country representative in Burkina-Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Holder of a Master II in "Accounting and Financial Management" from the International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston, USA, he brings his expertise in sustainable community development in West Africa, particularly in the fields of identification and enhancement of local individual or collective initiatives

See more
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
charlotte_hemingway.jpg
Project officer

Charlotte Hemingway

She holds an engineering diploma (specialisation in Agricultural Development) from AgroParisTech Engineering school and studied Human Geography and Management of Protected Areas at the University Pontificia Catolica of Santiago de Chile. She joined Nitidæ in may 2019. She worked on agricultural development issues in dryland areas and on conflicts between agriculture, pastoralism and conservation in Kenya. She uses her systemic approach and provides her field expertise to carry out agrarian diagnoses of some of Nitidæ’s areas of intervention.

See more

PONASI - Projet d’appui à l’amélioration du capital naturel du paysage et à l’accroissement de la résilience des communautés riveraines

Début
octobre 2019
Fin
septembre 2022
Coût de l’action
1 660 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Aménagement du Territoire Dégradation-Restauration Forêt TIC

Filières

Bois d'œuvre Karité Riz

Objectifs principaux

Réduire la vulnérabilité du complexe, appuyer l’amélioration du capital naturel du complexe et accroître la résilience des communautés riveraines

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Renforcer la sécurisation des Aires Protégées ciblées, la surveillance, la lutte anti-braconnage et l'application de la loi à travers des dispositifs pérennes et impliquant les populations riveraines
  • Valoriser et renforcer les initiatives économiques locales respectueuses de l’environnement pour une amélioration des moyens d’existence et des revenus des populations riveraines du complexe PONASI
  • Accompagner la redynamisation et l’opérationnalisation du dispositif de co-gouvernance du paysage PONASI comme plateforme intégrée de prise de décisions (conjointe entre la DGEF, l’OFINAP, la DREEVCC, la DREP, les représentants des communautés et des opérateurs privés)

Bénéficiaires

Communautés riveraines qui vivent directement ou indirectement des ressources issues des services de l’écosystème du complexe ou de sa périphérie. Elles bénéficient de la stabilité apportée par la sécurisation du complexe. Les formations et les savoir-faire du projet permettent ainsi de créer un cadre plus favorable au développement et à l’investissement et d’améliorer l’économie locale issue de la bonne gouvernance des ressources naturelles. L'État est également un bénéficiaire dérivé puisque le projet vient appuyer ses actions de gestion et induit une stabilité accrue de la région.

Résultats

R1. Le périmètre du Complexe écologique PONASI est protégé et sécurisé grâce au renforcement du dispositif de surveillance et de lutte anti-braconnage.
R2. Les populations, y compris les éleveurs transhumants, sont associées à la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles et en tirent des bénéfices durables: approches filières (bois, karité, chasse, écotourisme), aménagements communautaires sécurisés et renforcement des capacités de gestion et production des populations et de leurs associations sectorielles.
R3. Une plateforme intégrée pour stimuler une gestion efficace est opérationnelle. Ce dispositif de co-gouvernance permet d’harmoniser les juridictions de gestions des différentes unités et corridors du complexe avec un plan directeur élaboré. Elle s’appuie sur un cadre de concertation des collectivités territoriales et des chambres consulaires périphériques du PONASI. Une réflexion visant une gouvernance unifiée ou une délégation de gouvernance de tout le complexe avec des possibilités de développement des Partenariats Publics Privés est déclenchée lors de ces rencontres multi-acteurs. Des plans locaux de gestion des ressources naturelles sont élaborés (ou mis à jour) pour 4 communes prioritaires, incluant leurs plans de financement.

Activités

A1. Sécurisation et surveillance des Aires Protégées ciblées

  • Intensification de la surveillance, de la protection et de la lutte anti-braconnage dans les aires protégées du complexe PONASI
  • Développement de méthodes de suivi des populations fauniques et de surveillance de l'environnement par systèmes aériens (ULM et drone)
  • Sensibilisation et mobilisation communautaires autour des questions de conservation et des enjeux sécuritaires en périphérie du complexe PONASI et mise en place d'un système de renseignement
  • Suivi juridique dans le cadre de la lutte anti-braconnage contre les trafiquants

A2. Inclusion des populations riveraines et promotion de modèles de valorisation des ressources naturelles

  • Carbonisation améliorée et bonnes pratiques de cueillettes et de transformation PFNL
  • Formations sur les bonnes pratiques agricoles
  • Appui à la filière riz
  • Appui à la structuration de la filière élevage

A3. Animation et concertation

  • Organisation et animation d’un cadre de concertation des collectivités territoriales et des chambres consulaires périphériques

Personnes associées

jules.png
Représentant au Burkina Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Diplômé d'un Master II of Accounting and Financial Management de l'International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston MA, USA, il apporte toute son expertise en matière de développement communautaire durable en Afrique de l’Ouest dans l'agriculture et l’identification et la valorisation d’initiatives individuelles ou collectives locales

En voir +
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / France

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
charlotte_hemingway.jpg
Chargée de mission

Charlotte Hemingway

Ingénieure agronome de formation, spécialisée en Développement Agricole de l’école d’ingénieur AgroParisTech, elle a aussi étudié la Géographie Humaine et la Gestion des Aires Protégées à l’Université Pontificia Catolica de Santiago du Chili. Elle a intégré Nitidæ en mai 2019. Elle a travaillé sur des enjeux de développement agricole de zones semi-arides et arides, ainsi que sur les conflits entre agriculture, pastoralisme et conservation au Kenya. Elle utilise son approche systémique et apporte son expertise de terrain pour réaliser des diagnostics agraires dans certaines régions d’intervention de Nitidæ

En voir +