SENEKELA - Market intelligence service for farmers

Start
January 2012
End
January 2019
Project cost
25 000 € /an
Role in the project
Market and ICT expert

Countries

Mali

Fields

Market

Sectors

Cashew Cereal Fertilizer Gum arabic Shea Corn Millet Rice Sesame

Main goals

SENEKELA is a package of services proposed by Orange Mali to Malian farmers or their representatives and accessible via mobile phone. These services aim at enhancing the productivity of the farms and at providing information in order to allow farmers to market their production in better conditions.

Specific objectives

  • Implementation of the data collection system (market price for agricultural products) and their modelling in a database
  • Implementation of an Information Service by Orange named SENEKELA on 4 agricultural chains (cashew, shea, onion, maize) through the USSD service and a call center of agricultural advisors. It includes a data collection system of market prices on products and their modeling in a data base

Beneficiaries

Orange clients and Malian farmers

Related people

diaye3.jpg
Project Officer

Ousmane N'Diaye

Holder of a Master II in "Economic intelligence and competitive strategies" from the University of Saint Serges in Angers, he brings his expertise in market analysis (Mali), supporting producers' organisations and organic farming development

See more
image1.jpg
Project Officer

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
griffon.jpg
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more

SENEKELA - Service de collecte des prix du marché destiné aux agriculteurs

Début
janvier 2012
Fin
janvier 2019
Coût de l’action
25 000 € /an
Rôle dans l'action
Expert marché, TIC

Pays

Mali

Thématiques

Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Céréales Engrais Gomme arabique Karité Maïs Mil Riz Sésame

Objectifs principaux

SENEKELA est un ensemble de services proposés par Orange Mali aux agriculteurs maliens ou à leurs représentants et accessible via téléphone mobile. Ces services visent à améliorer la productivité des exploitations et à fournir des éléments de nature à permettre aux agriculteurs de commercialiser leur production dans de meilleures conditions.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Mise en place d’un système de collecte des prix sur le marché des produits agricoles et de leur modélisation dans une base de données dans le cadre du développement du Programme SENEKELA
  • Mise en place d’un service d’information par Orange Sènèkela sur 4 filières agricoles (anacarde, karité, oignons, maïs) à travers service USSD et un call center de conseillers agricoles. Ceci inclut un système de collecte des prix sur le marché des produits agricoles et de leur modélisation dans une base de données

Bénéficiaires

Clients Orange et agriculteurs maliens

Personnes associées

diaye3.jpg
Chargé de mission

Ousmane N'Diaye

Diplômé d'un Master 2 "Intelligence Economique et stratégies compétitives" de l'Université Saint Serges à Angers, il apporte son expertise en analyse des marchés au Mali, en appui aux organisations de producteurs et en Agriculture Biologique

En voir +
img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture et marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Serge Kedja

Ingénieur en Systèmes d’Information Avancés (Université de Bejaia, Algérie),titulaire d’un MSc en Technologies de l’Information (Université de Bournemouth, Royaume Uni) et Alumni Chevening, il est spécialisé dans la conception, le développement, la gestion et la capitalisation de solutions numériques pour l’agriculture en Afrique.

En voir +
image1.jpg
Chargé de mission

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +