GAZEL - Energy from agricultural industries waste through local appropriation and deployment of gas generators

Start
August 2020
End
August 2025
Project cost
6 913 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Benin Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Agroprocessing Spatial Planning Bioenergy Climate Market

Sectors

Cashew Organic waste

Main goals

The aim of the program is to develop a viable solution for the recovery of agricultural and agro-industrial waste, for powers from 100kWe to 2MWe, with a strong impact on local economies, the local and global environment, and climate change. The manufacturing and operating know-how of such gas-fired factories, already effectively operational in Cambodia, will be capitalized to be transferred and adapted in West Africa. A major training-action and on-site support component will make it very operational to manufacture the first units in Côte d'Ivoire, to install them, and to operate these first installations in Benin and Côte d'Ivoire with a view to to develop a viable sector, which provides high local added value in terms of employment, improvement of the electrical service (and access) in rural areas, local environment and positive impact on climate change.

Specific objectives

SO1. Develop the industrial tool for the production of gas generators through the transfer of technology and knowledge from Cambodia
SO2. Adapt gasification technology to the context (cashew in Côte d'Ivoire, Benin)
SO3. Demonstrate the production of small power electricity in West Africa: Build, commission and operate a first gasification unit for cashew shells, supported by operational training, and complete the file financial to launch a second unit, start of a sector
SO4. Improve the international competitiveness of cashew factories in West Africa and perpetuate the establishment of the gas-generating sector to improve access and local rural services

Beneficiaries

  • Industrialists for the production of gas generators and 100% gas engines
  • Project leaders: cashew industry (notably OLAM and Tolaro)
  • Institutions in the electricity sector, the cashew sector and agriculture
  • Financing structures (notably MORINGA, SUNREF West Africa, ELECTRIFI...)
  • Training and research & development institutions (in particular INSA, PROVADEMSE, 2iE, the National Polytechnic Institute of Yamoussoukro, The University of Abomey Calvi...)
  • The target audience is the agro-industrial sector with recoverable waste in electrical energy as well as sectoral sector managers

Results

R1. Effective South-South technology transfer (Cambodia-Côte d'Ivoire) concerning the production of gas generators, the gas cleaning system and 100% gas engines
R2. All the different components of the plant will be adapted to the new context: new biomass (cashew shell for which the first validation tests have already been carried out) and new context in West Africa
R3. A global industrial solution for West Africa including two gas-fired plants with a capacity between 500 and 2000kW operating from cashew shells in West Africa, a priori in Benin and in Côte d'Ivoire, with 100% local gas generators and engines
R4. In view of the two demonstrations and dissemination actions carried out by the partners, the cashew sector and more generally small agro-industries (rice, sawmills, etc.) will be mobilized and in demand, and a pipeline projects will be created, both because of the solution to waste management and the better economic viability

Activities

A1. Capitalization of the Cambodian experience and adaptation to the cashew nut and the context of West Africa; Manufacture in Côte d'Ivoire of local gas generators and engines; formalization with local businesses
A2. Transfer and implementation of technical know-how / training (manufacturing, installation, operation of gas-generating plants)
A3. Mobilization of agro-industry project leaders and organizational, financial and technical arrangements
A4. Engineering, construction support, commissioning and operation
A5. Collective advocacy, institutional framework, capitalization and reproduction

Related people

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more

GAZEL - Valorisation énergétique des déchets des industries agricoles à travers l’appropriation et le déploiement local de gazogènes

Début
août 2020
Fin
août 2025
Coût de l’action
6 913 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Bénin Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agroprocessing Aménagement du Territoire Bio-énergie Climat Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Déchets

Objectifs principaux

La finalité du programme est de développer une solution viable pour la valorisation des déchets agricoles et agroindustriels, pour des puissances de 100kWe à 2MWe, à fort impact sur les économies locales, l’environnement local et global, et le changement climatique. Les savoir-faire de fabrication et d’opération de telles usines gazogènes, déjà effectivement opérationnels au Cambodge seront capitalisés pour être transférés et adaptés en Afrique de l’Ouest. Un important volet de formation-action et d’accompagnement sur site permettra de manière très opérationnelle de fabriquer les premières unités en Côte d’Ivoire, de les installer, et d’opérer ces premières installations au Bénin et en Côte d’Ivoire en vue de développer une filière viable, qui apporte une forte valeur ajoutée locale en terme d’emploi, d’amélioration du service électrique (et d’accès) en zones rurales, d’environnement local et d’impact positif sur le changement climatique.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Développer l’outil industriel de production des gazogènes à travers un transfert de technologies et des savoirs depuis le Cambodge
OS2. Adapter la technologie de gazéification au contexte (anacarde en Côte d’Ivoire, Bénin)
OS3. Démontrer la production d’électricité de petite puissance en Afrique de l’Ouest : Réaliser, mettre en service et exploiter une première unité de gazéification de coques d’anacarde, appuyé par une formation opérationnelle, et boucler le dossier financier pour lancer une seconde unité, début d’une filière
OS4. Améliorer la compétitivité internationale des usines de cajou en Afrique de l’Ouest et pérenniser l’implantation de la filière gazogène pour l’amélioration de l’accès et des services ruraux locaux

Bénéficiaires

  • Industriels pour la fabrication de gazogènes et moteurs 100% gaz
  • Porteurs de projets : industriels de l’anacarde (notamment OLAM et Tolaro)
  • Institutions du secteur électrique, du secteur de l’anacarde et de l’agriculture
  • Structures de financement (notamment MORINGA, SUNREF Afrique de l’Ouest, ELECTRIFI...)
  • Des institutions de formation et recherche & développement (notamment INSA, PROVADEMSE, 2iE, l’Institut National Polytechnique de Yamoussoukro, L’Université d’Abomey Calvi...)
  • Le public cible est le secteur des agro-industriels ayant des déchets valorisables en énergie électrique ainsi que les responsables sectoriels de filière

Résultats

R1. Un transfert de technologie Sud-Sud (Cambodge-Côte d'Ivoire) effectif concernant la fabrication des gazogènes, le système de nettoyage des gaz et les moteurs 100% gaz
R2. Toutes les différentes composantes de l’usine seront adaptées au nouveau contexte : nouvelle biomasse (coque d’anacarde pour laquelle les premiers tests de validation ont déjà été réalisés) et nouveau contexte de l’Afrique de l’Ouest
R3. Une solution industrielle globale pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest dont deux usines gazogènes d’une capacité entre 500 et 2000kW en fonctionnement à partir de coques d’anacarde en Afrique de l’Ouest, à priori au Bénin et en Côte d’Ivoire, avec des gazogènes et moteurs 100% gaz locaux
R4. Au vu des deux démonstrations et des actions de diffusion menées par les partenaires, le secteur de l’anacarde et plus largement les petites agro-industries (riz, scieries,…) seront mobilisées et demandeuses, et un pipeline de projets sera constitué, tant en raison de la solution apportée à la gestion du déchet que de la meilleure viabilité économique

Activités

A1. Capitalisation de l’expérience Cambodgienne et adaptation à l’anacarde et au contexte de l’Afrique de l’Ouest ; Fabrication en Côte d’Ivoire de gazogènes et moteurs locaux ; formalisation avec les entreprises locales
A2. Transfert et implantation de savoir-faire / formation technique (fabrication, installation, opération d’usines gazogène)
A3. Mobilisation de porteurs de projets agro-industries et montage organisationnel, financier et technique
A4. Engineering, accompagnement à la construction, mise en service et opération
A5. Plaidoyer collectif, cadre institutionnel, capitalisation et reproduction

Personnes associées

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +