PROTEGE - Methodological support for the establishment and animation of the PROTEGE network of demonstration farms in agroecology in New Caledonia, French Polynesia and Wallis and Futuna

Start
September 2020
End
August 2022
Project cost
81 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

France

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Spatial Planning Biodiversity Climate Forest Market

Sectors

Wood energy Coconut Vanilla

Main goals

PROTEGE is a regional cooperation project which aims to build sustainable and resilient development of the French Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) economies in the face of climate change, by relying on biodiversity and renewable natural resources.

Specific objectives

The specific objective of the project theme is to support the agroecological transition for agriculture, particularly organic, adapted to climate change and respectful of biodiversity, and the sustainable and integrated management of forest resources in Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie française and Wallis et Futuna.

Results

R1. Viable agroecological systems are technically validated and transferred and the obstacles to the development of organic agriculture have been lifted.
R2. An integrated management policy for forests, agroforestry and coconut groves is defined and implemented.
R3. Products from agroecology, forest and coconut groves are valued.
R4. Operational, coordination and support tools have been put in place to strengthen and sustain inter-OCTs and OCT/ACP cooperation

Activities

A1. Island agroecology and climate: Develop the technical and economic foundations of agroecology by contributing to climate change mitigation and adaptation.
A2. Farmer / breeders networks: Facilitate networks of farms practicing ecological intensification.
A3. Organic farming sector: Remove the obstacles and structure the “organic farming” (AB) sector in the long term.
A4. Integrated and participatory management plans for forests, agroforestry and coconut trees: Draft and validate participatory management plans for forests, agroforestry and coconut groves.
A5. The tree at the heart of practices: Support innovative projects integrating the use of trees.
A6. From field to plate: Integrate products from agroecology and organic farming into food systems, support the marketing and consumption of healthy local products.
A7. Promotion of wood and coconut products: Support the promotion and marketing of products from local forests and coconut groves.
A8. Territorial coordination and animation: Ensure territorial coordination and support for the implementation of activities: agreement with a "lead" organization and recruitment of territorial "Agriculture and forestry" coordinators to ensure the coordination of exchanges and the coordination between the stakeholders of the territories, the follow-up and the implementation of the activities and the technical and financial reporting of the actions carried out.
A9. Regional forestry and agroecology platform: Set up a sustainable regional platform in agroecology and forestry to organize and share regional studies, training and technico-economic information and support agroecological and organic management methods.

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Project Manager

Noémie Rullier

Holder of an Engineering diploma in Agronomy, specializing in Sustainable agricultural & Agri-Food systems for the South, from Montpellier SupAgro- Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), she brings her expertise to support technical changes and development processes in rural area; to support farm advisory, training engineering and plant biology research

See more

PROTEGE - Appui méthodologique pour la mise en place et l’animation du réseau PROTEGE de fermes de démonstration en agroécologie en Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie française et Wallis et Futuna

Début
septembre 2020
Fin
août 2022
Coût de l’action
81 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

France

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Aménagement du Territoire Biodiversité Climat Forêt Marché

Filières

Bois énergie Noix de coco Vanille

Objectifs principaux

PROTEGE est un projet de coopération régionale qui vise à construire un développement durable et résilient des économies des Pays et Territoires d'Outre-Mer (PTOM) face au changement climatique, en s’appuyant sur la biodiversité et les ressources naturelles renouvelables.

Objectifs spécifiques

Le thème du projet a pour objectif spécifique d’appuyer la transition agroécologique pour une agriculture, notamment biologique, adaptée au changement climatique et respectueuse de la biodiversité, et la gestion durable et intégrée des ressources forestières en Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie française et Wallis et Futuna.

Résultats

R1. Des systèmes agroécologiques viables sont techniquement validés et transférés et les freins au développement de l’agriculture biologique sont levés.
R2. Une politique de gestion intégrée des forêts, de l’agroforesterie et des cocoteraies est définie et mise en œuvre.
R3. Les produits issus de l’agroécologie, de la forêt et de la cocoteraie sont valorisés.
R4. Des outils opérationnels, de coordination et d’accompagnement sont mis en place pour renforcer et pérenniser la coopération inter-PTOM et PTOM/ACP.

Activités

A1. Agroécologie et climat insulaires: Développer les fondements technico-économiques de l’agroécologie en contribuant à l’atténuation et à l’adaptation au changement climatique.
A2. Réseaux agriculteurs / éleveurs: Animer des réseaux de fermes pratiquant l’intensification écologique.
A3. Filière agriculture biologique: Lever les freins et structurer durablement la filière « Agriculture biologique » (AB).
A4. Plans de gestion intégrée et participative des forêts, de l'agroforesterie et des cocoterais: Rédiger et valider les plans de gestion participatifs de forêts, de l’agroforesterie et des cocoteraies.
A5. L'arbre au cœur des pratiques: Appuyer les projets innovants intégrant l’utilisation des arbres.
A6. Du champ à l'assiette: Intégrer les produits issus de l’agroécologie et de l’agriculture biologique dans les systèmes alimentaires, appuyer la commercialisation et la consommation des produits locaux sains.
A7. Valorisation des produits bois et cocotier: Soutenir la valorisation et la mise en marché des produits issus des forêts locales et des cocoteraies.
A8. Coordination et animation territoriales: Assurer la coordination territoriale et le soutien à la mise en œuvre des activités : conventionnement avec une organisation « chef de file » et recrutement d’animateurs territoriaux « Agriculture et foresterie » pour assurer l’animation des échanges et la coordination entre les acteurs des territoires, le suivi et la mise en œuvre des activités et le rapportage technique et financier des actions réalisées.
A9. Plateforme régionale forestière et d'agroécologie: Mettre en place une plateforme régionale pérenne en agroécologie et foresterie permettant d’organiser et de partager les études, les formations et les informations technico-économiques régionales et de soutenir les modes de gestion agroécologiques et biologiques

Personnes associées

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Chargée de projets

Noémie Rullier

Diplômée Ingénieur Agronome, Systèmes Agroalimentaires et Agronomiques durables de Montpellier SupAgro-Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), elle apporte son expertise pour appuyer les processus de changements techniques et organisationnels en milieu rural, le conseil à l’exploitation agricole, l'ingénierie de formation et la recherche en Biologie Végétale

En voir +