REZOBIO - Support project for the transition towards organic and/or agroforestry cocoa production

Start
November 2020
End
December 2023
Project cost
Multi-projets
Role in the project
Cocoa production expertise
agroforesterie_gmelina_12ans_cacao.jpg

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Organic Agriculture

Sectors

Cocoa

Main goals

Co-construct solutions with producers for cocoa cultivation in accordance with the standards of the Organic agriculture

Specific objectives

Increase the economic, agronomic and environmental performances of cocoa farming in Côte d'Ivoire

Why a program to support cocoa producers towards organic farming?

In West Africa, cocoa cultivation has developed massively by exploiting forest resources. To maintain yields, producers resort to chemical fertilizers and phytosanitary products, without however succeeding in generating a decent income. Organic Agriculture is a double opportunity: a remunerative market and a production method less dependent on external resources. However, the transition from current cropping systems to organic farming poses many risks for producers:

  • drop in yields, in the event of a sudden stop of mineral fertilizers
  • sanitary, linked to changes in practices
  • from market, in the event of an unsecured outlet
  • social, linked to the originality of the approach

The current modes of cocoa production are extremely diverse depending on the characteristics of the producers. If the way of producing cocoa is often presented as very homogeneous, it actually has multiple facets: technical, social, economic, agronomic. The production issues are also variable in time and space.

In this complex context, we believe that it is necessary to analyze the different situations of cocoa production (physical, human, technical ...) to co-construct strategies adapted to the specific conditions. The human dimension is extremely important, here it will be to experiment together, to combine traditional knowledge and research and to support change processes.

Renewing the links between the plant, its soil, its environment, its operator and the associated services is a complex process. This is the objective of this program which wishes to accompany with finesse the development of organic cocoa cultivation in Africa

Limit the technical risks of transition through experimental co-construction

This project aims to develop innovative strategies to reduce the risks of producers entering into a transition from conventional cocoa production to organic cocoa production. The experiments target the following themes:

Agronomic:

Identify and activate the technical levers for organic cocoa production in Côte d'Ivoire in order to ensure the agro-ecological transition of cropping systems less dependent on forest resources and phytosanitary products.

Environmental:

Propose a systemic model of sustainable and profitable cultivation for organic cocoa in Côte d'Ivoire without deforestation

Quality:

Activate the technical levers of post-harvest production and selection of varieties and terroirs with a view to organoleptic differentiation to diversify the supply of fine cocoas from Côte d'Ivoire

Traceability:

Contribute to the development of a supply chain traced to the plot

Territorial-Social:

Validate the feasibility of organic cocoa farming as a prototype of agro-forestry arboriculture, a showcase of the agro-ecological transition of the Ivorian production system (historically based on the exploitation of "forest rent")

Our desire is to create a first level of technical support service for organic, competent at the sub-regional level

Federate networks of cocoa orchards to innovate and respond to the market

An experimental network for the transition to agro-ecological practices

Create effective technical support with an immediate impact in the orchard to support the transition to agro-ecological practices. This will involve conducting analytical tests using a participatory approach with the associated producers.

For example, with producers, the effectiveness of certified organic inputs delivered in the trade or produced locally by producers will be tested to fight against the main phytosanitary pressures of cocoa trees in Côte d'Ivoire (alternatives to insecticides and fungicides chemicals) or improve the fertility of orchards (improvement of production in orchards in transition and support for the renewal of plant material in aging plantations).

An experimental agroforestry network

Support the reintroduction of trees in cocoa orchards to support an agroforestry transition. The analytical tests will integrate a strong transfer capacity (translation of the results into agricultural advice).

The 2 networks, agro-ecological and agroforestry, will ultimately allow the co-construction of technical, economic and social references for the ecologically intensive production of cocoa in the Côte d'Ivoire

Webinar: "Towards sustainable cocoa: opportunities and challenges of a complex value chain" - N ° 4

Related people

noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Project Manager

Noémie Rullier

Holder of an Engineering diploma in Agronomy, specializing in Sustainable agricultural & Agri-Food systems for the South, from Montpellier SupAgro- Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), she brings her expertise to support technical changes and development processes in rural area; to support farm advisory, training engineering and plant biology research

See more
ange.jpg
Agricultural Trainer Adviser

Ange Konan

Holder of a BTS in Tropical Agriculture and Plant Production, Ange held various positions of agricultural adviser and technician (Nestlé R & D) before joining Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire in April 2018. He brings his expertise in the production of organic cocoa and in the frame of the producers of the REDD + Project of the Mé and CERTIBIO

See more
img_20180324_093949850.jpg
Agro-Botanist in Côte d'Ivoire

Rolande Ettien

Botanist, Rolande holds a Master 2 in Systematics, Ecology and Biodiversity. She currently holds the position of Agro-Botanist for the Mé REDD+ Project. She mainly brings her expertise on cocoa agroforestry plots, the management of organic cocoa cooperatives and the Organic and Fair Trade certification.

See more
clarisse.png
Agricultural Trainer Adviser

Clarisse Kouakou

Holds a Master 2 in Economic Development Administration and a Master's degree in Economic Sciences and Development option Public Economics obtained at Alassane Ouattara University. She is currently working in Côte d'Ivoire on the agricultural component of the REDD + Project of the Mé as an Agricultural Trainer Advisor. It mainly brings its expertise at the level of beneficiary management to the establishment of cropping systems to increase value added per hectare

ulrich_alle.jpg
Chargé de projet modélisation agroclimatique / Agriculture & Marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Ulrich Alle

PhD in hydrology from the University Abomey-Calavi (Benin), with experience in agroclimatic modeling and the creation of community areas of biodiversity conservation, he brings his expertise in agroclimatology in the framework of the development of a crop forecasting model applied to cashew trees in Ivory Coast

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more

REZOBIO - Projet d’accompagnement à la transition de production de cacao biologique et/ou agroforestier

Début
novembre 2020
Fin
décembre 2023
Coût de l’action
Multi-projets
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise production cacao
agroforesterie_gmelina_12ans_cacao.jpg

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agriculture Biologique Agroforesterie

Filières

Cacao

Objectifs principaux

Co-construire avec les producteurs de solutions pour développer une cacaoculture conforme aux standards de l’Agriculture Biologique

Objectifs spécifiques

Augmenter les performances économiques, agronomiques et environnementales de la cacaoculture en Côte d’Ivoire

Pourquoi un programme d’accompagnement des producteurs de cacao vers l’agriculture biologique ?

En Afrique de l’Ouest, la cacaoculture s’est massivement développée en exploitant les ressources forestières. Pour maintenir les rendements, les producteurs recourent aux engrais chimiques et produits phytosanitaires, sans toutefois réussir à dégager un revenu décent. L’Agriculture Biologique constitue une double opportunité : un marché rémunérateur et un mode de production moins dépendant des ressources externes. Toutefois, la transition des systèmes de culture actuels vers une agriculture biologique représente de nombreux risques pour les producteurs:

  • chute des rendements, en cas d’arrêt brutal des engrais minéraux
  • sanitaires, liés aux changements des pratiques
  • de marché, en cas de débouché non sécurisé
  • sociaux, liés à l’originalité de la démarche

Les modes de productions actuels du cacao sont extrêmement divers selon les caractéristiques des producteurs. Si la façon de produire du cacao est souvent présentée comme très homogène, elle revêt en réalité de multiples facettes : techniques, sociales, économiques, agronomiques. Les problématiques de productions sont aussi variables dans le temps et dans l’espace.

Dans ce contexte complexe, nous pensons qu’il est nécessaire d’analyser les différentes situations des productions de cacao (physiques, humaines, techniques...) pour co-construire des stratégies adaptées aux conditions particulières. La dimension humaine est extrêmement importante, ici il s'agira d'expérimenter ensemble, de combiner savoirs traditionnels et recherche pour accompagner les processus de changement.

Renouer les liens entre la plante, son sol, son environnement, son exploitant et les services associés est un processus complexe. C’est l’objectif de ce programme qui souhaite accompagner avec finesse le développement de la culture biologique du cacao en Afrique

Limiter les risques techniques de transition par la co-construction expérimentale

Ce projet vise à mettre au point des stratégies innovantes pour diminuer les risques des producteurs qui entrent dans une transition de production de cacao conventionnel vers une production de cacao biologique. Les expérimentations ciblent les thématiques suivantes :

Agronomique:

Identifier et activer les leviers techniques pour la production de cacao biologique en Côte d’Ivoire afin d’assurer la transition agro-écologique des systèmes de culture moins dépendant de la ressource forestière et des produits phytosanitaires.

Environnemental:

Proposer un modèle systémique de culture durable et rentable pour le cacao biologique en Côte d’Ivoire sans déforestation

Qualité:

Activer les leviers techniques de production post récolte et sélection de variété et terroirs en vue d’une différenciation organoleptique pour diversifier l’offre de cacaos fins d’origine Côte d’Ivoire

Traçabilité:

Contribuer au développement de filière d’approvisionnement tracée jusqu’à la parcelle

Territorial-Social:

Valider la faisabilité de la cacaoculture biologique en tant que prototype de l’arboriculture agro-forestière, vitrine de la transition agro écologique du système de production ivoirien (historiquement basé sur l’exploitation de la « rente forestière »)

Notre volonté est de créer un premier niveau de service technique d'accompagnement au bio, compétent à l'échelle sous-régionale

Fédérer des réseaux de vergers de cacao pour innover et répondre au marché

Un réseau expérimental de transition vers des pratiques agro-écologiques

Créer un accompagnement technique efficace avec un impact immédiat dans le verger pour accompagner la transition vers des pratiques agro-écologiques. Il s'agira de conduire des essais analytiques selon une approche participative avec les producteurs associés.

Par exemple seront testés, avec les producteurs, l’efficacité des intrants certifiés biologiques délivrés dans le commerce ou produits localement par les producteurs pour lutter contre les principales pressions phytosanitaires des cacaoyers en Côte d’Ivoire (alternatives aux insecticides et fongicides chimiques) ou améliorer la fertilité des vergers (amélioration de la production des vergers en transition et accompagnement au renouvellement du matériel végétal dans les plantations vieillissantes).

Un réseau expérimental en agroforesterie

Accompagner la réintroduction des arbres dans les vergers de cacao pour accompagner une transition agroforestière. Les essais analytiques intégreront une forte capacité de transfert (traduction des résultats en conseil agricole).

Les 2 réseaux, agro-écologique et agroforestier, permettront au final de co-construire des références techniques, économiques et sociales pour la production écologiquement intensive de cacao en Côte d’Ivoire

Webinaire : «Vers un cacao durable : potentiels et défis d’une chaîne de valeur complexe» - N°4

Personnes associées

noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Chargée de projets

Noémie Rullier

Diplômée Ingénieur Agronome, Systèmes Agroalimentaires et Agronomiques durables de Montpellier SupAgro-Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), elle apporte son expertise pour appuyer les processus de changements techniques et organisationnels en milieu rural, le conseil à l’exploitation agricole, l'ingénierie de formation et la recherche en Biologie Végétale

En voir +
ange.jpg
Conseiller Formateur Agricole / Agriculture & Marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Kouadio Ange François Konan

Titulaire d'un BTS en Agriculture Tropicale et Production Végétale, Ange a occupé divers postes de conseiller agricole et de technicien (R&D Nestlé) avant de rejoindre Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en avril 2018. Il apporte principalement son expertise dans la production de cacao biologique et dans l’encadrement des producteurs.

En voir +
img_20180324_093949850.jpg
Cheffe de projet DESIRA / Agro-Botaniste / Côte d'Ivoire

Rolande Kouassi Ettien

Botaniste de formation, Rolande est titulaire d'un Master 2 de Systématique, Écologie et Biodiversité Végétales et apporte principalement son expertise dans la conduite de parcelles agroforestières cacaoyères, l’encadrement de coopératives cacao bio et la certification Agriculture Biologique et Équitable. Après avoir occupé le poste d’Agro-Botaniste au sein du Projet REDD+ de la Mé, elle est désormais en charge de la coordination des activités menées par Nitidæ au sein du projet Cocoa 4 Future.

En voir +
clarisse.png
Conseillère Formatrice Agricole

Adjo Clarisse Kouakou

Titulaire d'un Master 2 en Administration de Développement Economique et d'une Maîtrise en Sciences Economiques et de Développement option Economie Publique obtenu à l'Université Alassane Ouattara. Elle travaille actuellement en Côte d’Ivoire en tant que Conseillère Formatrice Agricole et apporte principalement son expertise au niveau de l'encadrement des bénéficiaires à la mise en place de systèmes de culture permettant d'augmenter la valeur ajoutée à l'hectare.

ulrich_alle.jpg
Chargé de projet modélisation agroclimatique / Agriculture & Marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Ulrich Allé

Docteur en Hydrologie de l’Université d’Abomey-Calavi (Rép. du Bénin), ayant de l’expérience dans la modélisation agroclimatique et la création des aires communautaires de conservation de la biodiversité. Il apporte son expertise en agroclimatologie dans le cadre de la construction d’un modèle de prévision de rendement de l’anacardier en Côte d’Ivoire

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Ingénieur Agronome issu de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT - spécialité en qualité de l’environnement et gestion des ressources), Benjamin est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire. Il assure également la coordination directe des projets CERTIBIO et ELECTRICI.

En voir +