WRICONGO - Readiness assistance to the Republic of Congo to the Green Climate Fund: feasibility of biomass-to-energy projects

Start
September 2019
End
December 2019
Project cost
13 343 USD
Role in the project
International consultant

Countries

Congo - Brazzaville

Fields

Agriculture Bioenergy Climate Forest

Sectors

Timber Organic waste

Main goals

The Republic of Congo expects to lose until 2020 about 500,000 hectares of forests, due to agro-industrial and mining development. As a result, the country’s engagements in terms of reduction of Greenhouse Effect Gases (GEG) emissions taken through the National Determinated Contribution (NDC) aim in particular the emissions coming from the Land use, land-use change, and forestry sector, source of more than thwo-thirds of the GEG émissions of the country. In order to reach this goal, The Republic of Congo expects to benefit from the support from the Green Climate Fund (GCF). The World Ressources Institute (WRI) has been asked to help the Congolese government to identify the priorities of the country in the identification of activities to be supported by the GCF. To do this, several studies will be realised to determine technical and financial feasibility of economic activities having an effect in reducing pressure on forestry resources, generating benefits to the rural communities and improve leur resilience to climate change. Nitidæ’s intervention is framed in one of the components, being the study and development of biomass-to-energy projects eligible to the GCF.

Specific objectives

Explore technical and financial feasibility of biomass-to-energy initiatives for energy production

Beneficiaries

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
General Directorate for Sustainable Development
Ministry of Forest Economy, Sustainable Development and Environment

Results

R1. Technical and economical feasibility study of biomass-to-energy initiatives at a national level
R2. Cost-benefits analysis of the selected and dimensioned projects.

Activities

A1. Mapping and evaluation of existing projects and sites : waste biomass from forestry and agro-industrial activities, wood-energy plantations, improved carbonisation
A2. Selection and analysis of 3 strudy cases
A3. Dimensioning of the projects to be presented to the GCF
A4. Estimation of social, economic and carbon mitigation impacts of the selected projects

Related people

julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more
marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more

WRICONGO - Appui à la préparation de la République du Congo au Fonds Vert Climat - Étude de faisabilité de projets de biomasse-énergie

Début
septembre 2019
Fin
décembre 2019
Coût de l’action
13 343 USD
Rôle dans l'action
Consultant international

Pays

Congo-Brazzaville

Thématiques

Agriculture Bio-énergie Climat Forêt

Filières

Bois d'œuvre Déchets

Objectifs principaux

La République du Congo projette perdre d’ici 2020 environ 500.000 hectares de forêts à cause du développement agroindustriel et minier. Par conséquent, les engagements en termes de réduction des émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre (GES) pris par la République du Congo dans sa Contribution Déterminée au niveau National (CDN) ciblent en priorité les émissions provenant du secteur de l'utilisation des terres, le changement de l'affectation des terres et la foresterie, qui est responsable de plus de deux tiers des émissions de GES du pays. Afin d’atteindre cet objectif, le Congo entend bénéficier de l’appui du Fonds Vert Climat (FVC). Le World Ressources Institute (WRI) a été mobilisé afin d’appuyer le gouvernement congolais à identifier les priorités du pays pour l’identification d’activités qui seront soutenues par le FVC. Pour ce faire, des études seront réalisées afin de déterminer la faisabilité technique et financière d’activités économiques qui réduiront la pression sur les forêts, généreront des bénéfices pour les moyens d’existence des communautés rurales et accroitront leur résilience au changement climatique. Nitidæ intervient dans l’une des composantes, qui est l’étude et élaboration de projets biomasse-énergie susceptibles d’être présentés au Fonds Vert Climat.

Objectifs spécifiques

Explorer la faisabilité technique et financière d’initiatives de valorisation de la biomasse pour la production énergétique

Bénéficiaires

L’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’Alimentation et l’Agriculture (FAO)
Direction Générale du Développement Durable
Ministère de l’Économie Forestière du Développement Durable et de l’environnement (MEFDDE)

Résultats

R1. Étude de faisabilité technique et économique de projets concrets de biomasse-énergie au niveau national
R2. Analyse coûts-bénéfices des projets sélectionnés et dimensionnés

Activités

A1. Cartographie et évaluation de projets et sites existants : déchets des activités forestières et agroindustrielles, plantations de bois-énergie, carbonisation améliorée
A2. Sélection et analyse de 3 cas d’étude
A3. Dimensionnement des projets à présenter pour financement FVC
A4. Estimation des impacts sociaux, économiques et de mitigation des émissions carbone des projets sélectionnés

Personnes associées

julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +
marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +