AURA-HB BIODECHETS - Work to capitalize on innovative technologies for recovering bio-waste from Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes / Hauts-Bassins cooperation projects

Start
July 2019
End
July 2020
Project cost
21 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination and waste expertise

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Bioenergy Climate

Sectors

Cashew Organic waste Fertilizer Shea Mango

Main goals

The project entitled "Supporting the regional authorities of Hauts-Bassins (Burkina Faso) in the definition of a regional and local public policy in the area of circular economy" aims to initiate reflection at the level of regional and municipal representation bodies of this region, on the development of policies for the recovery of organic waste (bio-waste) from households and agrifood industries.

The objective is to strengthen the capacities of the Region and the 3 provincial capital municipalities, in the implementation of policies in the area of circular economy. This project responds to a dual challenge of waste management and recovery, with the backdrop of research into initiatives and techniques in tune with the green economy.

Thus, component 2 of the project consists of inventorying innovative technologies for recycling bio-waste. In the past, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region has supported initiatives that have resulted in the development of this type of technology in the region; this study is also an opportunity to take stock of the impacts of these projects.

Specific objectives

OS1. Conduct an assessment of the current state of recovery methods and technologies practiced in the territory of the Hauts-Bassins region
OS2. Highlight the contributions of the Rhône-Alpes Region to the development of technologies adapted to the recovery of bio-waste in the Hauts-Bassins
OS3. Highlight the main sectors of bio-waste generation and the issues and problems linked to these economic activities
OS4. Make recommendations to elected officials and regional and municipal officials on the inclusion of best technological practices in the circular economy strategy to be formulated

Beneficiaries

  • 35 technicians from the 4 Burkinabè communities
  • 995,000 people impacted in the 3 municipalities (833,475 people for Bobo-Dioulasso, 45,696 people for Orodara and 115,307 people for Houndé)
  • 170 agrifood companies

Results

R1. The elected officials and agents of the Hauts-Bassins Region and the 3 municipalities concerned have a better knowledge of the circular economy (actors, technical innovations, methodology) thanks to their involvement during the diagnostic and capitalization
R2. Good technological practices for the transformation and recovery of bio-waste are capitalized on and brought to the attention of local stakeholders
R3. The capitalization document reflects the contribution of decentralized cooperation to the development of technologies adapted to the recovery of bio-waste
R4. The elected officials and agents of the Hauts-Bassins Region and the 3 municipalities concerned understand the issues behind the sectors that generate priority bio-waste, as well as the most appropriate approaches for their management

Activities

A1. Inventory of the main agro-food sectors generating bio-waste in the Hauts-Bassins region
A2. Meetings with key players in the identified agro-food sectors carried out in collaboration with officials from the 3 municipalities concerned
A3. Production of the capitalization report on the technologies and valuation routes identified; including a critical analysis of the level of adoption of these technologies, their social, economic and environmental advantages as well as avenues for the generalization of good practices, and the identification of sectors with high potential for waste recovery at the scale of any the region
A4. Final workshop for presentation of results and validation

Related people

julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more
sacla_aide_2.png
Project Officer

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Design & Mechanical Engineer, specialised in "Energy and industrial technician in mechanical production" from the Ecole Polytechnique of Abomey Calavi (EPAC) in Benin, he brings his expertise in renewable energy including biomass energy recovery and industrial process

See more

AURA-HB BIODECHETS - Travail de capitalisation des technologies innovantes de valorisation des biodéchets des projets de la coopération Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes / Hauts-Bassins

Début
juillet 2019
Fin
juillet 2020
Coût de l’action
21 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination et expertise déchets

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Bio-énergie Climat

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Déchets Engrais Karité Mangue

Objectifs principaux

Le projet intitulé « Accompagner les collectivités territoriales des Hauts-Bassins (Burkina Faso) dans la définition d’une politique publique régionale et locale en matière d’économie circulaire » vise à entamer la réflexion au niveau des instances de représentation régionale et communale de cette région, sur le développement de politiques pour la valorisation des déchets organiques (biodéchets) issus des ménages et des industries agroalimentaires.

L’objectif est de renforcer les capacités de la Région et des 3 communes chef-lieu de province, dans la mise en place de politiques en matière d’économie circulaire. Ce projet répond à un double enjeu de gestion et de valorisation de déchets, avec en toile de fond la recherche des initiatives et techniques en syntonie avec l’économie verte.

Ainsi, la composante 2 du projet consiste au recensement des technologies innovantes de valorisation des biodéchets. La Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes a par le passé accompagné des initiatives qui ont abouti au développement de ce type de technologies dans la région ; cette étude est également l’occasion de faire un état des lieux des impacts apportés par ces projets.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Réaliser un bilan de l’état actuel des voies et technologies de valorisation pratiquées sur le territoire de la région Hauts-Bassins
OS2. Faire ressortir les contributions de la Région Rhône-Alpes au développement de technologies adaptées à la valorisation des biodéchets dans les Hauts-Bassins
OS3. Faire ressortir les principales filières de génération de biodéchets et les enjeux et problématiques liées à ces activités économiques
OS4. Formuler des recommandations à l’encontre des élus et agents territoriaux et communaux en matière d’inclusion des meilleures pratiques technologiques dans la stratégie en économie circulaire à formuler

Bénéficiaires

  • 35 techniciens des 4 collectivités burkinabè
  • 995 000 personnes impactées dans les 3 communes (833 475 personnes pour Bobo-Dioulasso, 45 696 personnes pour Orodara et 115 307 personnes pour Houndé)
  • 170 entreprises agroalimentaires

Résultats

R1. Les élus et agents de la Région des Hauts-Bassins et les 3 communes concernées ont une meilleure connaissance de l’économie circulaire (acteurs, innovations techniques, méthodologie) grâce à leur implication lors des travaux de diagnostic et de capitalisation
R2. Les bonnes pratiques technologiques de transformation et de valorisation des biodéchets sont capitalisées et portées à la connaissance des acteurs du territoire
R3. Le document de capitalisation reflète la contribution de la coopération décentralisée au développement de technologies adaptées à la valorisation de biodéchets
R4. Les élus et agents de la Région des Hauts-Bassins et les 3 communes concernées comprennent les enjeux derrière les filières génératrices de biodéchets prioritaires, ainsi que les approches les plus appropriées pour leur gestion

Activités

A1. Recensement des principales filières agroalimentaires génératrices de biodéchets dans la région Hauts-Bassins
A2. Rencontres avec les acteurs-clé des filières agroalimentaires recensées réalisées en collaboration avec les agents des 3 communes concernées
A3. Réalisation du rapport de capitalisation sur les technologies et voies de valorisation recensées ; incluant une analyse critique du niveau d’adoption de ces technologies, leurs avantages sociaux, économiques et environnementaux ainsi que les pistes pour une généralisation des bonnes pratiques, et l’identification des filières à haut potentiel de valorisation de déchets à l’échelle de toute la région
A4. Atelier final pour présentation des résultats et validation

Personnes associées

julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +
sacla_aide_2.png
Chargé de mission

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Diplômé en Ingénieur de conception en Génie Mécanique, Option Energétique et technicien industriel en fabrication mécanique de l'Ecole Polytechnique d’Abomey Calavi - EPAC (Bénin), il apporte son expertise dans les énergies renouvelables et notamment la valorisation énergétique de la biomasse et le procédé industriel

En voir +