BIOSTAR - Supplying sustainable bioenergy to agro-food SMEs in the Sahel

Start
August 2020
End
August 2024
Project cost
11 000 000 €
Role in the project
Value Chain & Energy expertise

Countries

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali Niger Senegal

Fields

Agroprocessing Bioenergy Climate Market

Sectors

Peanut Cashew Shea Mango Rice

Main goals

Cashew nut, peanut, shea, nutshell rice husks, mango kernels: these residues produced by food sector SMEs are all potential sources of bioenergy. A sustainable energy option that CIRAD and nine of its partners - including Nitidæ - are planning to develop in West Africa through the BIOSTAR project, supported by the European Union and the Agence Française de Développement (French Development Agency).

Specific objectives

Improving energy supply to food processing SMEs thanks to bioenergy in the countries of the Sahel is the goal of the BIOSTAR project. Coordinated by CIRAD in collaboration with nine African and European partners – research and civil society –, it is part of the major European DeSIRA programme. Its five-year funding (2020-2024) is provided by the European Union and the Agence Française de Développement, with a total budget of more than 11 million euros .

Results

Activities

A potential energy source for local food sector SMEs

In West Africa, access to energy in rural areas is often erratic, expensive and insufficient. To secure energy supplies, agrifood processing SMEs are forced to set up in city suburbs. As a consequence, transporting raw materials from agricultural production areas generates extra costs and results in post-harvest losses. In addition, urban concentration is increasing, at the expense of rural areas, which are struggling to develop since their activity is consequently limited to agriculture.

These companies also generate organic waste that, if poorly managed, causes problems in terms of public health and safety and/or environmental contamination. Nevertheless, this biomass – cashew and shea nut shells, groundnut shells, mango kernels or rice husks – is a potential source of energy: heat, mechanical power and electricity. Hence the objective of BIOSTAR, in other words setting up bioenergy production units in food sector SMEs that are fed by their organic residues.

Success is conditioned by the quality of supply of organic residues

Starting this year, the project will focus on Senegal and Burkina Faso, where five agrifood sectors – cashew nut, groundnut, shea, mango and rice – have been identified. In collaboration with local interprofessional organizations, the project will look for SMEs that have the capacity to innovate and are representative of their sector in order to define with them their energy needs and to find solutions for a sustainable supply of residues. The latter point is crucial: in 2013 , a study conducted by CIRAD showed that in different countries, including Burkina Faso, the quality of supply conditioned the success or failure of bioenergy production systems in rural areas. Next, 16 prototypes of bioenergy production equipment will be adapted to the situation of each SME and installed by Sahelian or European suppliers. At the end of the project, the experimental units will be transferred to the SMEs. Finally, a training programme will be deployed in order to develop the bioenergy sector in Sahelian Africa, thanks in particular to the involvement of local, national and sub-regional policymakers. The goal of this process is to implement a policy framework that is more conducive to this development in rural areas.

More dynamic and energy-independent rural areas

Eventually, thanks to cheaper, stable energy, these SMEs will be able to relocate to rural areas, closer to the production of raw materials, which should have a domino effect. For companies, this means less transport and reduced post-harvest losses. Moreover, better preservation of processed products will contribute to food security for all actors in the chain, whether farmers or SME employees, who are often women. In other words, rural areas will become more energy-independent and dynamic. Finally, and more broadly, better management of these methane-producing residues and a reduction in the use of fossil fuels will help to reduce the sector’s impact on climate change.

Related people

sacla_aide_2.png
Project Officer

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Design & Mechanical Engineer, specialised in "Energy and industrial technician in mechanical production" from the Ecole Polytechnique of Abomey Calavi (EPAC) in Benin, he brings his expertise in renewable energy including biomass energy recovery and industrial process

See more
herve_abbo.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina-Faso

Hervé Abbo

Holder of a diploma in Energy Engineering and a master's degree in International Relations, he worked on improved stoves on behalf of organizations such as the Ministry of Energy and GIZ in Benin. Before joining the team, he worked as a Green Energy Project Manager (Recovery of biodegradable household waste into biofuels) for a Benin-French NGO

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more

BIOSTAR - Approvisionner en bioénergies durables les PME agroalimentaires au Sahel

Début
août 2020
Fin
août 2024
Coût de l’action
11 000 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise filières & énergie

Pays

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali Niger Sénégal

Thématiques

Agroprocessing Bio-énergie Climat Marché

Filières

Arachide Cajou/Anacarde Karité Mangue Riz

Objectifs principaux

Coques de noix de cajou, d'arachide, de karité, balle de riz, noyaux de mangue: ces résidus produits par les PME agroalimentaires sont autant de sources potentielles de bioénergie. Une option énergétique durable que le Cirad et ses partenaires, dont Nitidæ, vont développer en Afrique de l’Ouest grâce au projet BioStar soutenu par l’Union européenne et l’Agence française de développement.

Objectifs spécifiques

Améliorer l'approvisionnement énergétique des PME de transformation agroalimentaire grâce aux bioénergies, dans les pays du Sahel, c’est l’ambition du projet BioStar. Coordonné par le Cirad en collaboration avec neuf partenaires africains et européens – recherche et société civile - il s’inscrit dans le cadre du grand programme européen DeSIRA (pour Development Smart Innovation through Research in Agriculture). Son financement sur cinq ans (2020-2024) est assuré par l’Union européenne et l’Agence française de développement, à hauteur de plus de 11 millions d’euros.

Résultats

Activités

Une source potentielle d’énergies au bénéfice des PME agroalimentaires locales

En Afrique de l’Ouest, l’accès à l’énergie en zones rurales est souvent fluctuant, cher et insuffisant. Pour sécuriser leur approvisionnement énergétique, les PME de transformation agroalimentaire sont contraintes de s’implanter en banlieues des villes. Conséquences : le transport des matières premières depuis les zones de production agricole engendre un surcoût et s’accompagne de la perte d’une partie des récoltes. En outre, la concentration urbaine croît au détriment des zones rurales qui peinent à se développer, avec une activité alors limitée à l’agriculture.

Ces entreprises génèrent, par ailleurs, des résidus organiques qui, mal gérés, entraînent des problèmes en termes de santé et de sécurité publiques et/ou de contamination environnementale. Néanmoins, cette biomasse - coques des noix de cajou et de karité, coques de gousses d’arachide, noyaux de mangue ou balle de riz - est une source potentielle d’énergies : chaleur, force motrice, électricité. D’où le propos de BioStar, à savoir implanter, dans les PME agroalimentaires, des unités de production de bioénergies à partir de leurs résidus organiques.

Le succès conditionné par la qualité de l’approvisionnement en résidus organiques

Au démarrage, le projet va se concentrer sur le Sénégal et le Burkina Faso où cinq filières agroalimentaires — noix de cajou (anacarde), arachide, karité, mangue et riz — ont été identifiées car leur transformation locale génère des déchets valorisables et en quantité. En collaboration avec les organisations interprofessionnelles locales, y seront recherchées les PME en capacité d’innover et représentatives de la filière afin de définir avec elles leurs besoins énergétiques et trouver des solutions pour un approvisionnement durable en résidus. Ce dernier point est capital : en 2013, une étude menée par le Cirad avait montré que dans divers pays dont le Burkina Faso, la qualité de l’approvisionnement conditionnait le succès ou l’échec des systèmes de production de bioénergies dans les zones rurales. Ensuite, 16 prototypes d’équipements de production de bioénergie seront adaptés à la situation de chaque PME et installés par des équipementiers sahéliens et/ou européens. À la fin du projet, les unités expérimentales seront rétrocédées aux PME. Enfin, une filière de formation sera déployée afin de développer le secteur des bioénergies en Afrique sahélienne grâce notamment à l’implication des décideurs politiques locaux, nationaux et sous régionaux. Cette démarche vise à la mise en place d’un cadre politique plus favorable à ce développement dans les territoires ruraux.

Des zones rurales plus dynamiques et autonomes en énergie

À terme, grâce à une énergie moins chère et stable, ces PME pourront s’installer dans les zones rurales, au plus près de la production des matières premières. D’où l’effet domino attendu. Pour les entreprises, cela signifie moins de transport et moins de perte post-récoltes. Tandis qu’une meilleure conservation des produits transformés contribuera à la sécurité alimentaire de l’ensemble des acteurs de la filière, aussi bien des agriculteurs que des employés des PME qui sont souvent des femmes. Autrement dit, les zones rurales gagneront en autonomie énergétique et en dynamisme. Enfin, plus largement, une meilleure gestion de ces résidus pourvoyeurs de méthane et une moindre utilisation des énergies fossiles permettront de réduire l’impact de cette filière sur le changement climatique.

Personnes associées

sacla_aide_2.png
Chargé de mission

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Diplômé en Ingénieur de conception en Génie Mécanique, Option Energétique et technicien industriel en fabrication mécanique de l'Ecole Polytechnique d’Abomey Calavi - EPAC (Bénin), il apporte son expertise dans les énergies renouvelables et notamment la valorisation énergétique de la biomasse et le procédé industriel

En voir +
herve_abbo.jpg
Chargé de mission / Bioénergies & Déchets / Burkina-Faso

Hervé Abbo

Titulaire d’un diplôme d’Ingénieur en Energétique et d’une maîtrise en Relations Internationales, il a travaillé sur les foyers améliorés pour le compte d’organismes tels que le Ministère de l’Energie et la GIZ au Bénin. Avant d’intégrer l'équipe, il a travaillé comme Chargé de Mission Energie Verte (Valorisation des déchets ménagers biodégradables en biocombustibles) pour une ONG bénino-française

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +
julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +