CTACV - Educational tools on Agricultural Value Chains

Start
May 2014
End
May 2015
Project cost
45 000 €
Role in the project
Coordinator

Countries

Benin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Guinea Gambia Guinea-Bissau Equatorial Guinea Madagascar Mali Senegal Togo

Fields

Agriculture Market

Sectors

Peanut Banana Cocoa Cashew Cereal Cotton Fertilizer Fonio Gum arabic Hevea Palm oil Shea Corn Cassava Millet Cowpea Onion Rice Sesame Sorghum

Main goals

Drafting of training materials to promote the development of value chains and agribusiness in ACP countries.

Specific objectives

Improve relations between actors to structure agricultural chains and make each actor’s income sustainable thanks to the development of training material on agricultural value chains.

Beneficiaries

Direct and indirect actors of the agricultural value chains in ACP Countries.

Results

R1. Support "producers" : « The Agricultural Marketing: Build an Agricultural Value Chain to improve the living conditions ».
R2. Downstream support : « The Agricultural Marketing: Build an Agricultural Value Chain to improve the living conditions ».
R3. The materials were field tested with actors of the shea sector in Burkina Faso and cashew sector in Kenya.
R4. They were also used for an intervention at Peleforo Gon Coulibaly University of Korhogo in Ivory Coast for students in Master 1 "Agropastoral Industries Management".
R5. Two pedagogical videos made in partnership with Scientific Animation Without Borders (SAWBO), a laboratory of the University of Illinois in the United States.
R6. The proposed supports consist of images that are designed to be easily adapted to local contexts and sectors. The drawings, like all the supports included, are placed under "Creative Commons", so they are freely modifiable, adaptable and repeatable.

Activities

A1. Module 1 is primarily intended for farmers and leaders of producers’ organizations but it can also be interesting to use it to train small traders or artisanal processors.The overall objective of the module is to explain to the actors in the upstream value chain the importance of managing their business risks and work to adapt to the specifics of the demand and to the constraints of the actors in the downstream value chain. In order to increase sustainably their incomes in a more efficient value chain.
A2. Module 2 is primarily intended for people who work downstream in the agricultural sectors (wholesale marketing, import / export, food processing, distribution) or for people involved in consulting, expertise or agricultural sectors regulation. It can also be used for training students in the University or in a professional context (agrofood industries). The overall objective of this module is to explain to the actors of the downstream value chain and those working across all agricultural sectors the specificity of these sectors in terms of risk. Therefore the project propose tools and strategies to improve trade relations and build efficient value chains. As for the module for producers, this module can be freely adapted to the needs and specificity of each sector.

Related people

jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more

CTACV - Supports pédagogiques chaînes de valeur agricoles pour améliorer les relations entre les acteurs, structurer les filières agricoles et durabiliser les revenus

Début
mai 2014
Fin
mai 2015
Coût de l’action
45 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordinateur

Pays

Bénin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Guinée Gambie Guinée-Bissau Guinée équatoriale Madagascar Mali Sénégal Togo

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché

Filières

Arachide Banane Cacao Cajou/Anacarde Céréales Coton Engrais Fonio Gomme arabique Hévéa Huile de palme Karité Maïs Manioc Mil Niébé Oignon Riz Sésame Sorgho

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

Elaboration de matériel de formation destiné à promouvoir le développement des chaînes de valeur et de l’agro-industrie dans les pays ACP

Objectifs spécifiques

Améliorer les relations entre les acteurs pour structurer les filières agricoles et durabiliser les revenus de chacun grâce au développement de matériel de formation sur les chaînes de valeur agricoles

Bénéficiaires

Les acteurs directs et indirects des chaînes de valeur agricoles dans les pays ACP

Résultats

R1. Supports producteurs : « La commercialisation des produits agricoles : Construire une Chaîne de Valeur Agricole pour améliorer ses conditions de vie »
R2. Support aval : « La commercialisation des produits agricoles : Construire une Chaîne de Valeur Agricole pour améliorer ses conditions de vie »
R3. Ces supports ont été testés sur le terrain notamment auprès d’acteurs des filières karité au Burkina Faso et noix de cajou au Kenya
R4. Ils ont également été utilisés lors d’une intervention à l’Université Peleforo Gon Coulibaly de Korhogo en Côte d’Ivoire auprès des étudiants en Master1 "Managements des Entreprises Agropastorales"
R5. 2 vidéos pédagogiques réalisées en partenariat avec Scientific Animation Without Borders (SAWBO), un laboratoire de l’Université de l’Illinois aux Etats-Unis
R6. Les supports sont constitués d’images qui sont conçues pour être facilement adaptables en fonction des contextes locaux et des filières. Les dessins, tout comme l’ensemble des supports, sont placés sous Creative Commons, ils sont donc librement modifiables, adaptables et reproductibles

Activités

A1. Le module 1 est principalement destiné aux agriculteurs et aux responsables d’Organisations de Producteurs mais il peut également être intéressant de l’utiliser pour former des petits commerçants ou des transformateurs artisanaux. L’objectif général du module est de faire comprendre aux acteurs en amont d’une chaîne de valeur agricole l’importance de gérer leurs risques commerciaux et de travailler à s’adapter aux caractéristiques de la demande et aux contraintes des acteurs de l’aval de la chaîne de valeur afin d’augmenter durablement leurs revenus au sein d’une chaîne de valeur plus efficace.
A2. Le module 2 est principalement destinés à des personnes qui interviennent soit en aval des filières agricoles (commercialisation en gros, import/export, transformation agroalimentaire, distribution), soit à des personnes qui interviennent dans le conseil, l’expertise ou la régulation des filières agricoles. Il peut aussi être utilisé pour des formations d’étudiants en université ou en formation professionnelle dans le secteur agroalimentaire ou économique. L’objectif général de ce module est de faire comprendre aux acteurs de l’aval des filières et à ceux travaillant sur l’ensemble des filières agricoles la spécificité de ces filières en termes de risques et de proposer des outils et des stratégies pour améliorer les relations commerciales et construire des chaînes de valeur performantes.

Comment améliorer une chaîne de valeur?

Comment l'offre et la demande fait bouger les prix?

Personnes associées

jg.jpg
Chargé de projets

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
image1.jpg
Chargé de mission

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
griffon.jpg
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +