CUNIBUR - Agricultural risk assessment study in Burundi using a value chain approach

Start
November 2023
End
April 2024
Project cost
47 000 €
Role in the project
Agricultural risk expertise

Countries

Burundi

Fields

Agriculture Climate Market Modeling

Sectors

Corn Rice

Partners

Main goals

The objective of this agricultural risk assessment study is to help decision-makers understand the risk profile of the value chains of selected products and to propose appropriate management tools for these risks for sustainable development policies, capacities institutions and investments of Burundi

Specific objectives

SO1. Carry out a detailed inventory and assess agricultural risks in the maize, rice and rabbit farming value chain
SO2. Provide information on their probability and their effects on the economy and agriculture
SO3. Propose agricultural risk management tools (ARM) adapted to selected sectors

Related people

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more

CUNIBUR - Etude d’évaluation des risques agricoles au Burundi à travers une approche chaîne de valeur

Début
novembre 2023
Fin
avril 2024
Coût de l’action
47 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise risques agricoles

Pays

Burundi

Thématiques

Agriculture Climat Marché Modélisation

Filières

Maïs Riz

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

L'objectif de cette étude d'évaluation des risques agricoles est d'aider les décideurs à comprendre le profil de risque des chaînes valeurs des produits sélectionnés et de proposer des outils de gestion appropriés de ces risques pour les politiques de développement durable, les capacités institutionnelles et les investissements du Burundi.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Réaliser un inventaire détaillé et évaluer les risques agricoles dans les secteurs du maïs, du riz et du lapin
OS2. Fournir des informations sur leur probabilité et leurs effets sur l'économie et agriculture
OS3. Proposer des outils de gestion des risques agricoles (ARM) adaptés aux secteurs sélectionnés

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +