ERPDIVOIRE - Support for the development of the Emission Reductions Program Document (ERPD) of the jurisdictionnal REDD+ program of Ivory Coast

Start
April 2017
End
December 2018
Project cost
33 100 €
Role in the project
Technical assistance

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

REDD+

Main goals

The Taï National Park Emission Reductions Program (ERP) is the first step in the implementation of the national REDD+ strategy initiated by the Republic of Ivory Coast. Its objective is to reach 28 million tonnes of CO2 of emission reductions by 2025, in the regional areas of Cavally, Nawa, San Pédro, Guémon and Gboklè (4.3 million hectares, including 2.7 million hectares of forest). The Government wishes to value this commitment to the reduction of deforestation by selling the associated carbon credits to the Forest Carbon Partnership Facility (FCPF) managed by the World Bank. The approval of this program by the FCPF could enable the purchase of nearly $ 83 million of carbon credits.

Specific objectives

Support the firm ONF International, commissioned by the Government of Ivory Coast, in the development of the ERPD of the Taï National Park Program to access FCPF funding, and propose an innovative financial model that would foster the inclusion of local stakeholders in the financing of the program (co-financing).

Beneficiaries

The Government of the Republic of Ivory Coast and in particular the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development (MINEDD), the National REDD+ Commission (CN-REDD +) and its Permanent Executive Secretariat (SEP-REDD +).

Results

R1. Approval by the FCPF of the ERPD of the Taï National Park ERP
R2. Adoption of an innovative financial mechanism for the implementation of the program

Activities

A1. Support for the conceptualization of the overall ERPD and of its logical framework, in line with the national REDD+ strategy and other existing initiatives
A2. Stakeholders coordination and facilitation of bilateral consultations and workshops with a position of local representation of the ERPD experts mission in Ivory Coast
A3. Management of the drafting of the sections referring to the analysis of the drivers and agents of deforestation and technical assistance for the design of the chapters related to the definition of the activities of the program (actions leading to emission reductions), institutional arrangements and budget
A4. Synthesis on the initiatives and lessons learned from the private sector and drafting of a proposal to adapt these initiatives to the program in order to create an innovative model including local stakeholders in its funding

Related people

photo_vicky_site_internet.png
Project Officer

Vicky Viguet

Graduated from Sciences Po Lille and the French Petroleum Institute (IFP School) in Energy, Sustainable Developement and Environment Economics, she has expertise in the field of environment and energy and REDD+ strategies.

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
vaudry.jpg
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Romuald Vaudry

Forester and with a Master II in "Development and Land Planning" from the National Agronomic Institute Paris Grignon and University of Science Montpellier II (France). Currently our representative in Cote d'Ivoire, he brings his expertise in the design and implementation of multi-stakeholder territorial projects (REDD+, IWRM) as well as sustainable forest management and reforestation.

See more
clipboard01.png
Project Officer

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more

ERPDIVOIRE - Appui à l’élaboration de l’Emission Reductions Program Document (ERPD) du programme juridictionnel REDD+ de la Côte d’Ivoire

Début
avril 2017
Fin
décembre 2018
Coût de l’action
33 100 €
Rôle dans l'action
Assistance technique

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

REDD+

Objectifs principaux

Le Programme de Réduction des Emissions (PRE) du Parc National de Taï est la première étape de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale REDD+ engagée par la République de Côte d’Ivoire (RCI). Son objectitf est d’atteindre un volume total de réduction d’émissions de l’ordre de 28 millions de tonnes de CO2 d’ici 2025, dans les régions de Cavally, Nawa, San Pédro, Guémon et Gboklè (4,3 millions d’hectares, dont 2,7 millions d’hectares de forêts). Le Gouvernement souhaite pouvoir valoriser ces efforts de réduction de la déforestation à travers la vente de crédits carbone au Forest Carbon Partnership Facility (FCPF) géré par la Banque mondiale. L’acceptation de ce programme par le FCPF pourrait alors ouvrir à un achat de près de 83 millions de dollars de crédits carbone générés.

Objectifs spécifiques

Appuyer le cabinet ONF International, mandaté par le Gouvernement de la RCI, dans l’élaboration de l’ERPD du PRE du Parc National de Taï pour accéder au FCPF, et proposer un modèle innovant de financement du programme qui permette l’inclusion des différentes parties prenantes de sa zone (co-financement).

Bénéficiaires

Le gouvernement de la République de Côte d’Ivoire et en particulier le Ministère de l’Environnement et du Développement Durable (MINEDD), la Comission Nationale REDD+ (CN-REDD+) et son Secrétariat Exécutif Permanent (SEP-REDD+).

Résultats

R1. Soumission acceptée par le FCPF de l’ERPD relatif au PRE du Parc National de Taï
R2. Adoption d’un mécanisme financier innovant pour la mise en œuvre du programme

Activités

A1. Appui à la conceptualisation de l’ERPD dans son ensemble et de son cadre logique, en accord avec la stratégie nationale REDD+ et avec les initiatives existantes
A2. Coordination des parties prenantes en tant que représentation locale de la mission d’experts ERPD en Côte d’Ivoire, avec facilitation des consultations bilatérales et des ateliers
A3. Pilotage des sections relatives à l’analyse des causes et agents de la déforestation et assistance technique sur la conception des chapitres liés à la définition des activités du programme (actions menant aux réductions d’émissions), aux arrangements institutionnels et au budget
A4. Réalisation d’une synthèse des initiatives et des leçons apprises du secteur privé et proposition d’adaptation de ces initiatives pour le développement dun modèle innovant permettant d’inclure l’ensemble des parties prenantes de la zone du programme dans son financement

Personnes associées

photo_vicky_site_internet.png
Chargée de mission

Vicky Viguet

Diplômée de Science Po Lille et de l’Institut Français du Pétrole (IFP School) en économie du développement durable, de l’environnement et de l’énergie, elle possède une expertise dans le domaine de l'environnement et de l'énergie et les stratégies REDD+.

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
vaudry.jpg
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Romuald Vaudry

Forestier de formation, Romuald est également titulaire d'un Master 2 de Développement et d'Aménagement Intégré des Territoires. Il est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire et assure la coordination du Projet REDD+ de la Mé. Il apporte principalement son expertise sur la conception et la mise en œuvre de projets territoriaux multi-acteurs (REDD+, GIRE) ainsi que sur la gestion durable des forêts et le reboisement.

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Chargé de mission

Benjamin Garnier

Diplômé Ingénieur Agronome de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT), spécialité : qualité de l’environnement et Gestion des ressources, il apporte son expertise dans les études de faisabilité pour des fonds d’investissements et les études des marchés agricoles et des chaînes de valeurs

En voir +