FORECO - Forestry territories and innovative sectors for the forest and the local economy

Start
May 2019
End
April 2023
Project cost
941 105 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Mali

Fields

Spatial Planning Climate Degradation-Restoration Forest

Sectors

Cashew Gum arabic Shea NTFPs

Main goals

Improve the forest cover of the Segou Region, its protection and the economy related to the forest.

Specific objectives

OS1. Ensure the reforestation of tree species that have, above all, an economic logic (cashew nuts, Arabic gum, shea butter, fruits, timber, wood energy ...).
OS2. Increase the attractiveness of the forest through better marketing of forest products and services (improvement of practices, market information, networking ...).

Beneficiaries

14 municipalities (Ségou region, 5 circles : Ségou, San, Bla, Barouéli and Tominian)

Results

R1. Actions are defined with the targeted municipalities for the sustainable reduction of the pressures on the forest
R2. Territorial management capacities and skills of municipalities are strengthened and sustainable forest management practices are adopted
R3. Producers and loggers are trained
R4. 640 ha are replanted or protected in adapted and profitable species (of which 500 ha in pure)
R5. Wood and non-wood forest products are known, the market access is improved, which generates diversified incomes

Activities

A1. Participatory diagnoses and development of a forest action plan for each of the 20 municipalities
A2. Cartographic analysis for identification of priority reforestation / protection areas and monitoring of forest cover
A3. Accompanying municipalities and loggers to reforestation and to the preservation of threatened forests on 640 ha (500 ha of which are pure)
A4. Training of the 14 municipalities and 3,500 NTFP producers and / or loggers in forest management, territorial planning, planting techniques, collection and marketing of NTFP
A5. Forest and carbon monitoring, monitoring-evaluation and capitalization / Animation of the CCOSAD and CLOCSAD consultation Framework
A6. Development of an Environmental and Social Impact Notice

Related people

frederic_de_coster.jpg
Country representative in Mali

Frederic De Coster

Holder of a master's degree in development economics from the University of Namur in Belgium, he has more than 5 years of experience in private companies active in renewable energy and agriculture in Africa. His expertise lies in optimizing business models and logistics and financial operations. He worked for 4 years at myAgro, a social enterprise active in the agricultural sector in Mali and Tanzania that gave him a particular knowledge of the Malian context, both at the institutional level and at the level of actors in the agricultural world.

souleymane_fadiga.jpg
Technical Assistant / Forest & REDD + / Burkina

Souleymane Fadiga

Agricultural engineer, graduated from the Polytechnic Rural Institute / Institute of Training and Applied Research IPR/IFRA (Koulikoro, Mali), he worked for twenty years in national and international NGOs and capitalizes skills on: natural resources management, agroforestry, reforestation and reforestation and agro-socio-economic studies. He brings his expertise to the FORECO project as Technical Assistant to AMASSA

jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
clovis_grinand.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in Functional Ecology and Agronomic Sciences (SupAgro, IRD and CIRAD) and specialized in Localized Information Systems for Spatial Planning (AgroParisTech), he is an expert in land use change monitoring using remote sensing, digital soil mapping and spatial modeling applied to forestry, agronomy and landscape ecology. He is the author of numerous international scientific publications.

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Project manager / Agriculture & Market / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Currently in a thesis, he is graduated with a Master 2 in remote sensing and Geographic Information Systems from the Félix Houphouët Boigny University in Abidjan. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis and support to the FORECO project as Remote Sensing Assistant and Geographic Information Systems

FORECO - Territoires forestiers et filières innovantes pour la forêt et l'économie locale

Début
mai 2019
Fin
avril 2023
Coût de l’action
941 105 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Mali

Thématiques

Aménagement du Territoire Climat Dégradation-Restauration Forêt

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Gomme arabique Karité PFNL

Objectifs principaux

Améliorer le couvert forestier de la Région de Ségou, sa protection et l’économie liée à la forêt.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Assurer la reforestation d’espèces d’arbres qui ont, avant tout, une logique économique (noix de cajou, gomme arabique, beurre de karité, fruits, bois d’œuvre, bois-énergie…)
OS2. Augmenter l’attrait pour la forêt grâce à une meilleure mise en marché des produits et services de la forêt (amélioration des pratiques, information de marché, mise en relation…).

Bénéficiaires

14 communes (Région de Ségou, 5 cercles : Ségou, San, Bla, Barouéli et Tominian)

Résultats

R1. Des actions sont définies avec les communes ciblées pour la diminution durable des pressions sur la forêt
R2. Les capacités et les compétences de gestion territoriale des communes sont renforcées et les pratiques de gestion forestière durable sont adoptées
R3. Les producteurs et exploitants forestiers sont formés
R4. 640 ha sont replantés ou protégés en espèces adaptées et rémunératrices (dont 500 ha en pure)
R5. Les produits forestiers ligneux et non ligneux sont connus, l’accès au marché amélioré, ce qui génère des revenus diversifiés

Activités

A1. Diagnostics participatifs et élaboration d’un plan d’action forestier pour chacune des 20 communes
A2. Analyse cartographique pour l’identification des zones de reboisement /protection prioritaires et le suivi de la couverture forestière
A3. Accompagnement des communes et des exploitants forestiers à la reforestation et à la préservation des forêts menacées sur 640 ha (dont 500 ha en pure)
A4. Formation des 14 communes et de 3500 producteurs de PFNL et/ou exploitants forestiersà la gestion forestière, la planification territoriale, les techniques de plantation, la cueillette et la commercialisation des PFNL
A5. Monitoring forestier et carbone, suivi-évaluation et capitalisation / Animation du cadre de concertation des CCOSAD et CLOCSAD
A6. Élaboration d’une Notice d’Impact Environnemental et Social

Personnes associées

frederic_de_coster.jpg
Représentant au Mali

Frederic De Coster

Titulaire d'un master en économie du développement de l'Université de Namur en Belgique, il possède plus de 5 ans d'expérience au sein des entreprises privés actives dans l’énergie renouvelable et l’agriculture en Afrique. Il a une expertise dans l’optimisation des modèles d’affaires et des opérations logistiques et financiers. Il a travaillé pendant 4 ans au sein de myAgro, une entreprise sociale active dans les filières agricoles au Mali et Tanzanie qui lui ont donné une connaissance particulière du contexte malien, tant au niveau institutionnel qu'au niveau des acteurs du monde agricole.

souleymane_fadiga.jpg
Assistant Technique / Forêt & REDD+ / Burkina

Souleymane Fadiga

Ingénieur agronome, diplômé de l’Institut Polytechnique Rural/Institut de Formation et de Recherche Appliquée IPR/IFRA (Koulikoro, Mali), il a travaillé pendant une vingtaine d’années dans les ONG nationales et internationales et capitalise des expériences sur : la gestion des ressources naturelles, l’agroforesterie, le reboisement et la reforestation et les études agro-socio-économiques. Il apporte son expertise au projet FORECO en qualité d’Assistant technique auprès d'AMASSA

jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un Master 2 en télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique de l’Université Félix Houphouët Boigny d’Abidjan. Il apporte son expertise en analyse des marchés agricoles et accompagnement au projet FORECO en qualité d’Assistant de télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique