JATRINVEST - Analysis of conditions for growth and investment tracks for the Jatropha sector in Mali

Start
August 2020
End
December 2020
Project cost
30 000 €
Role in the project
Market / processing expertise

Countries

Mali

Fields

Agroprocessing Spatial Planning Bioenergy Climate Market

Sectors

Jatropha

Partners

Main goals

The central objective of this consultancy is twofold: i) analyze the conditions necessary for the development of the jatropha sector in Mali and ii) propose tracks of investment for its development taking into account the prerequisites necessary for his development

Specific objectives

OS1. An in-depth analysis of the Jatropha market from local to international, including current outlets, trends, competitiveness, risks and opportunities (in particular energy outlets, co-product outlets)
OS2. An analysis of the existing situation and proposals on the part of plant production and family farms (techniques, yields, quality, logistics, volumes, strategic interests, share of income in the household ...)
OS3. An analysis of the existing situation and proposals on the processing and sale of co-products (location, capacity, yields, quality, process, quality of co-products seeds, oil, meal, destinations, capacity as energy, as an amendment ...) as well as proposals for improving profitability (equipment, organization, performance, outlets, niches ...)

Results

R1. An analysis of the conditions to be gathered and of the ecosystems necessary to be created around Jatropha (local, national) to ensure the development of the sector (private, public, associative actors, etc.) throughout the value chain (inputs and outlets)
R2. A multi-criteria model to assess the impact of investments on the development of the sector
R3. A dimensioning of the recommendations (organizational, financial, technical and human) in order to obtain a multi-variable financial analysis leading to an estimate of the injection of funds necessary for the development of the sector according to the development trageted zone

Activities

A1. Bibliographic review and analysis of available quantitative data
A2. Identification of the target stakeholders of the study
A3. Field mission / direct interviews with sector stakeholders and study target stakeholders in Mali
A4. Telephone interviews with international stakeholders
A5. Writing contextual analysis of the sector
A6. Modeling
A7. Final drafting and presentation of results

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
souleymane_fadiga.jpg
Project Officer / Forest & REDD + / Mali

Souleymane Fadiga

Agricultural engineer, graduated from the Polytechnic Rural Institute / Institute of Training and Applied Research IPR/IFRA (Koulikoro, Mali), he worked for twenty years in national and international NGOs and capitalizes skills on: natural resources management, agroforestry, reforestation and reforestation and agro-socio-economic studies. He brings his expertise to the FORECO project as Technical Assistant to AMASSA

alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Project manager / Agriculture & Market / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Currently in a thesis, he is graduated with a Master 2 in remote sensing and Geographic Information Systems from the Félix Houphouët Boigny University in Abidjan. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis and support to the FORECO project as Remote Sensing Assistant and Geographic Information Systems

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
leo_godard.jpg
Value chain project manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Léo Godard

Agronomist with a degree from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT), he works on the analysis of agroindustrial projects and provide consultancy for promoters and investors of agro value chains. He also provides technical assistance and consultancy for small to large scale agricultural to switch to organic or regenerative practices

See more

JATRINVEST - Analyse des conditions d'essor et des pistes d’investissement de la filière Jatropha au Mali

Début
août 2020
Fin
décembre 2020
Coût de l’action
30 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise marché / transformation

Pays

Mali

Thématiques

Agroprocessing Aménagement du Territoire Bio-énergie Climat Marché

Filières

Jatropha

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

L’objectif central de cette consultance est double : i) analyser les conditions nécessaires à l’essor du secteur du jatropha au Mali et ii) proposer des pistes d’investissement pour le développement de celui-ci en prenant en compte les prérequis nécessaires à son développement

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Une analyse approfondie du marché du Jatropha du local à l’international, incluant les débouchés actuels, les tendances, la compétitivité, les risques et les opportunités (notamment débouchés énergétiques, débouchés coproduits)
OS2. Une analyse de l’existant et des propositions sur la partie production végétale et exploitations familiales (techniques, rendements, qualité, logistique, volumes, intérêts stratégiques, part du revenu dans le ménage…)
OS3. Une analyse de l’existant et des propositions sur la transformation et vente des coproduits (localisation, capacité, rendements, qualité, process, qualité des coproduits graines, huile, tourteaux, destinations, capacité comme énergie, comme amendement…) ainsi que des propositions d’amélioration de la rentabilité (matériel, organisation, performances, débouchés, niches…)

Résultats

R1. Une analyse des conditions à rassembler et des écosystèmes nécessaires à créer autour du Jatropha (local, national) pour assurer le développement de la filière (acteurs privés, publics, associatifs, etc.) sur l’ensemble de la chaine de valeur (intrants et débouchés)
R2. Un modèle multicritère pour évaluer la portée des investissements sur l’essor du secteur
R3. Un dimensionnement des recommandations (organisationnelle, financière, techniques et humaines) afin d’obtenir une analyse financière multi-variable conduisant à une estimation de l’injection de fonds nécessaires au développement de la filière en fonction de la zone de développement envisagée

Activités

A1. Revue bibliographique et analyse des données quantitatives disponibles
A2. Identification des acteurs cibles de l'étude
A3. Mission terrain/ entretiens directs avec les acteurs du secteur et les acteurs cibles de l'étude au Mali
A4. Entretiens téléphoniques avec les acteurs à l'international
A5. Rédaction analyse contextuelle du secteur
A6. Modélisation
A7. Rédaction finale et restitution des résultats

Personnes associées

griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
frederic_de_coster.jpg
Chargé de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / Mali

Frederic De Coster

Titulaire d'un master en économie du développement de l'Université de Namur en Belgique, il possède plus de 5 ans d'expérience au sein des entreprises privés actives dans l’énergie renouvelable et l’agriculture en Afrique. Il a une expertise dans l’optimisation des modèles d’affaires et des opérations logistiques et financiers. Il a travaillé pendant 4 ans au sein de myAgro, une entreprise sociale active dans les filières agricoles au Mali et Tanzanie qui lui ont donné une connaissance particulière du contexte malien, tant au niveau institutionnel qu'au niveau des acteurs du monde agricole.

souleymane_fadiga.jpg
Chargé de mission / Forêt & REDD+ / Mali

Souleymane Fadiga

Ingénieur agronome, diplômé de l’Institut Polytechnique Rural/Institut de Formation et de Recherche Appliquée IPR/IFRA (Koulikoro, Mali), il a travaillé pendant une vingtaine d’années dans les ONG nationales et internationales et capitalise des expériences sur : la gestion des ressources naturelles, l’agroforesterie, le reboisement et la reforestation et les études agro-socio-économiques. Il apporte son expertise au projet FORECO en qualité d’Assistant technique auprès d'AMASSA

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un Master 2 en télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique de l’Université Félix Houphouët Boigny d’Abidjan. Il apporte son expertise en analyse des marchés agricoles et accompagnement au projet FORECO en qualité d’Assistant de télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +
leo_godard.jpg
Agronome chargé de missions filières / Agriculture & Marché / France

Léo Godard

Ingénieur agronome diplômé de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP-ENSAT), il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse et le conseil pour le montage et l'investissement de projets agro-industriels (plantation, transformation), ainsi que l'accompagnement technique à la transition vers l'agriculture biologique pour des projets agricoles de petite, moyenne et grande échelle

En voir +