KENEBIO - Support COOPAKE through diversification and sustainable technical and agricultural innovation

Start
January 2017
End
December 2018
Project cost
32 000 €
Role in the project
Technical support

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Market

Sectors

Cashew Shea Mango Sesame

Main goals

As part of the joint project to strengthen COOPAKE through diversification and sustainable technical and agricultural innovation in the province of Kénédougou, COOPAKE, Ethiquable and RONGEAD have decided to form a consortium and submit a joint proposal for the call for projects launched by the Equity Program, implemented by AVSF and PFCE and financed by AFD and FFEM. The consortium is created by the partnership protocol and the agreement between Ethiquable and COOPAKE.

Specific objectives

Diversify COOPAKE’s productions for more added value and income security, through sustainable and agro-ecological production and processing practices

Beneficiaries

The project specifically concerns producers of the cashew, sesame and mango sectors, and marginally hibiscus and shea

Results

R1. The employees and board members are strengthened in their technical, financial and commercial skills, and have a medium-term strategic plan, and the opportunities are diversified
R2. The processing activities (cashew and mango) are consolidated (equipment, finance, quality and outlet), respectful of the environment (renewable energy, waste management and recycling), and increase local employment
R3. The cooperative diversifies its activities by introducing crop combination (sesame and legume in combination with hibiscus and shea), according to the principles of organic production, and reinforces its practices of agro-ecology and agroforestry – which are promoted on demonstration plots

Related people

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
jules.png
Country representative

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Holder of a Master II in "Accounting and Financial Management" from the International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston, USA, he brings his expertise in sustainable community development in West Africa, particularly in the fields of identification and enhancement of local individual or collective initiatives

See more

KENEBIO - Projet de renforcement de la COOPAKE par la diversification et l’innovation technique et agricole durable

Début
janvier 2017
Fin
juin 2018
Coût de l’action
32 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Appui technique

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Hibiscus Karité Mangue Sésame

Objectifs principaux

Dans le cadre du projet commun de renforcement de la COOPAKE par la diversification et l’innovation technique et agricole durable dans la province de Kénédougou, COOPAKE, Ethiquable et RONGEAD décident de former un consortium et de déposer un dossier commun à l’appel à projet lancé par le programme Equité mis en œuvre par AVSF et PFCE et financé par l’AFD et le FFEM. Le consortium est constitué par la signature du présent protocole de partenariat et de l’accord entre Ethiquable et COOPAKE.

Objectifs spécifiques

Diversifier les productions de la coopérative COOPAKE vers plus de valeur ajoutée et de sécurité des revenus à travers des pratiques durables et agro-écologiques de production et de transformation

Bénéficiaires

Le projet concerne spécifiquement les producteurs des filières anacarde, sésame et mangue, et de façon marginale l’hibiscus et le karité.

Résultats

R1. L'équipe salariée et les membres du CA sont renforcés dans leurs compétences technique, financière, et commerciale, et ils se dotent d'un plan stratégique à moyen terme, et les débouchés sont diversifiés
R2. Les activités de transformation des produits (cajou et mangue) sont consolidées (équipements, finance, qualité et débouché)dans le respect de l'environnement (énergie renouvelable, gestion et valorisation des déchets), et elles permettent d'augmenter l’emploi local
R3. La coopérative diversifie son activité en introduisant des associations culturales (sésame et légumineuses en association avec hibiscus et karité) selon les principes de production biologique et renforce ses pratiques d'agro-écologie et d'agroforesterie qui sont promues sur des parcelles de démonstration

Personnes associées

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
jules.png
Représentant au Burkina Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Diplômé d'un Master II of Accounting and Financial Management de l'International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston MA, USA, il apporte toute son expertise en matière de développement communautaire durable en Afrique de l’Ouest dans l'agriculture et l’identification et la valorisation d’initiatives individuelles ou collectives locales

En voir +