LIBERISK - Feasibility study for PA4RM for investment to improve access to agricultural risk information for meso-level stakeholders in Liberia

Start
October 2018
End
March 2019
Project cost
35 000 €
Role in the project
Market information expertise

Countries

Liberia

Fields

Agriculture Market ICT

Partners

Main goals

Promote for PARM (IFAD's Plateform for Agricultural Risk Managment http://p4arm.org/) low-cost, user-friendly and timely information services. Our experience leads us to defend that the information tool developed for farmers and stakeholders of agricultural value chain must be adapted to the context, the demand and the skills of the final users. We see technology as a tool but not as an end in itself.

Specific objectives

  • The 1st goal of the feasibility study is to describe the supply and demand of agricultural information in Liberia
  • The 2nd goal of the feasibility study is to propose investments to improve the dissemination of agricultural information (mainly on weather, pest and market) and to design an investment plan for the Ministry of Agriculture of Liberia and IFAD

Results

R1. Design an Action Plan which would lead to efficient and sustainable supply of information to meso-level stakeholders of agricultural Value-Chains
R2. Build the proposed Action Plan on the realities of agricultural sector in Liberia and on the priorities of Liberia Ministry of Agriculture, including the strategy of IFAD in Liberia

Activities

A1. Identify the public and private stakeholders involved and/or likely to be involved in production and dissemination of useful information for Agricultural Risk Management, including weather, pest/diseases and market information
A2. Meet the public authorities in charge of agriculture, trade and transport, international organizations (including IFAD), NGOs active in agriculture and the leaders of Farmer Organizations based in Monrovia
A3. Identify 3 distinct rural areas where we will meet extension services, local farmer organizations and agricultural inputs providers to have a large picture of the current availability of information, the priority demand of information, and the skills of meso-level stakeholder in using information and communication technologies
A4. Meet representative of Mobile Operators to understand their strategy to increase use of mobile phone in rural areas and to see if they could be involved in the Action Plan

Related people

image1.jpg
Project Officer

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more

LIBERISK - Étude pour PA4RM de faisabilité sur les investissements destinés à améliorer l'accès aux informations sur les risques agricoles pour les parties prenantes de niveau méso au Libéria

Début
octobre 2018
Fin
mars 2019
Coût de l’action
35 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise informations de marché

Pays

Libéria

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché TIC

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

Promouvoir pour PARM (Plateform for Agricultural Risk Managment du FIDA http://p4arm.org/) des services d’information peu coûteux, adaptés et rapides. Notre expérience nous amène à défendre que l'outil d'information développé pour les agriculteurs et les acteurs de la chaîne de valeur agricole doit être adapté au contexte, à la demande et aux compétences des utilisateurs finaux. Nous considérons la technologie comme un outil mais pas comme une fin en soi.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Le premier objectif de l’étude de faisabilité est de décrire l’offre et la demande d’informations agricoles au Libéria
  • Le deuxième objectif de l’étude de faisabilité est de proposer des investissements pour améliorer la diffusion de l’information agricole (principalement sur les conditions météorologiques, les nuisibles et le marché) et de concevoir un plan d’investissement

Résultats

R1. Concevoir un plan d'action qui conduirait à la fourniture efficace et durable d'informations aux parties prenantes de niveau intermédiaire des chaînes de valeur agricoles
R2. Elaborer le plan d'action proposé sur les réalités du secteur agricole au Libéria et sur les priorités du Ministère de l'agriculture du Libéria, y compris la stratégie du FIDA au Libéria

Activités

A1. Identifier les parties prenantes publiques et privées impliquées et / ou susceptibles d'être impliquées dans la production et la diffusion d'informations utiles pour la gestion des risques agricoles, y compris la météo, les parasites / maladies et les informations de marché
A2. Rencontrer les autorités publiques en charge de l'agriculture, du commerce et des transports, les organisations internationales (y compris le FIDA), les ONG actives dans le secteur de l'agriculture et les dirigeants d'organisations paysannes basées à Monrovia
A3. Identifiez 3 zones rurales distinctes où nous rencontrerons les services de vulgarisation, les organisations d'agriculteurs locales et les fournisseurs d'intrants agricoles pour avoir une vue d'ensemble de la disponibilité actuelle de l'information, de la demande d'informations prioritaire et des compétences des parties prenantes de niveau moyen dans l'utilisation des technologies de l'information et de la communication
A4. Rencontrer des représentants des opérateurs de téléphonie mobile afin de comprendre leur stratégie visant à accroître l'utilisation du téléphone mobile dans les zones rurales et de voir s'ils pourraient être associés au plan d'action

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +