MALUX 2 - Technical assistance for LuxDev on trade and funding for producers' organisations on sesame, rice and fonio

Start
February 2019
End
December 2019
Project cost
72 452 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Mali

Fields

Agriculture Market ICT

Sectors

Fonio Rice Sesame

Main goals

Strengthen the commercial support of the MLI/021 program for the benefit of actors of the sectors

Specific objectives

  • Support the emergence of the sesame sector through the strengthening of stakeholders on product standards and requirements, information and communication on the product market
  • Conduct an economic analysis and develop a viable business model for ARPASO on rice
  • Monitor and evaluate the financial intermediation mechanism implemented by AMASSA with FOs and MPEs (Micro and Small Enterprises) of MLI/021 and MFIs (Micro Finance Institutes) on rice, sesame and fonio

Beneficiaries

Actors of the sesame sector in Mali

Results

R1. Training modules on sesame quality and the functioning of the international sesame market are produced for the specific context of the sesame sector in the six MLI/021 intervention circles, the trainers of AOPP and AMASSA are trained in the use of these materials, a training program is set up to enable the training of 2000 sesame producers targeted by the MLI / 021 program.
R2. The telephone contacts of all beneficiaries of the MLI/021 Program (50 POs, 20 MEPs, 10 seed companies, 2000 individual producers, etc.) are collected and all beneficiaries receive one SMS per week during two campaigns of 21 weeks each (2018-2019 campaign and 2019-2020 campaign).
R3. One or more economic models for the trading of ARPASO's rice production are designed and detailed in a report.
R4. A restitution workshop is organized and allows the validation of an economic model by ARPASO, LuxDev and the other partners of ARPASO on rice, fonio and sesame. Following this validation, an implementation plan is defined with the different partners.
R5. Six synthetic monitoring notes showing the progress of the device are produced every two months.
R6. An evaluation and capitalization report on the implementation of the device in the framework of the MLI/021 program is produced and shared with all the actors involved in the mechanism. This report includes recommendations for improving the device for future marketing campaigns.

Activities

A1. Production of training / communication tools
A2. raining of trainers on:
i) the international sesame market
ii) health standards
iii) the use of information from the N'kalô Service
A3. Weekly SMS broadcast on the sesame market: 1 message/week to 2000 producers for 42 weeks
A4. Literature Review
A5. Field visits and surveys
A6. Definition of 1 or 2 viable business models
A7. Workshop presentation and validation of the study (return mission / 3-day workshop)
A8. Periodic monitoring of the marketing financing mechanism AMASSA / SOS Faim
A9. Evaluation and capitalization mission for the first year of implementation of the plan

Related people

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more

MALUX 2 - Assistance technique auprès de LuxDev sur la commercialisation et le financement des organisations de producteurs de sésame, riz et fonio

Début
février 2019
Fin
décembre 2019
Coût de l’action
72 452 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Mali

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché TIC

Filières

Fonio Riz Sésame

Objectifs principaux

Renforcer l'accompagnement commercial du MLI/021 aux bénéfices des acteurs des filières

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Appuyer l'émergence de la filière sésame à travers le renforcement des acteurs sur les normes et exigences du produit, l'information et la communication sur le marché du produit
  • Procéder à une analyse économique et élaborer un modèle d'affaires viable pour l'ARPASO sur le riz
  • Suivre et évaluer le mécanisme d'intermédiation financière mise en oeuvre par AMASSA auprès des OP et MPE (Micro et Petites Entreprises) de MLI/021 et les IMF (Instituts de Micro-Finance) sur le riz, le sésame et le fonio

Bénéficiaires

Acteurs de la filière sésame au Mali

Résultats

R1. Des modules de formations sur la qualité du sésame et le fonctionnement du marché international du sésame sont produits pour le contexte spécifique de la filière sésame dans les six cercles d'intervention de MLI/021, les formateurs de l'AOPP et d'AMASSA sont formés à l'utilisation de ces supports, un programme de formation est mis en place pour permettre la formation de 2000 producteurs de sésame ciblés par le programme MLI/021.
R2. Les contacts téléphoniques de tous les bénéficiaires du Programme MLI/021 (50 OP, 20 MPE,10 semenciers, 2000 producteurs individuels, etc.) sont collectés et tous les bénéficiaires reçoivent un SMS par semaine pendant deux campagnes de 21 semaines (campagnes 2018-2019 et 2019-2020).
R3. Un ou plusieurs modèles économiques pour la commercialisation de la production de riz de l'ARPASO sont conçus et détaillés dans un rapport.
R4. Un atelier de restitution est organisé et permet la validation d'un modèle économique par l'ARPASO, LuxDev et les autres partenaires de l'ARPASO sur le riz, le fonio et le sésame. Suite à cette validation, un plan de mise en oeuvre est défini avec les différents partenaires.
R5. Six notes synthétiques de monitoring faisant état de l'avancée du dispositif sont produites tous les deux mois.
R6. Un rapport d'évaluation et de capitalisation sur la mise en oeuvre du dispositif dans le cadre du progarmme MLI/021 est produit et partagé avec l'ensemble des acteurs impliqués dans le mécanisme. Ce rapport inclut des recommandations pour l'amélioration du dispositif lors des campagnes de commercialisation à venir.

Activités

A1. Production des outils de formation / communication
A2. Formations de formateurs sur:
i) le marché international du sésame
ii) les normes de santé
iii) l'utilisation des informations du Service N'kalô
A3. Diffusion de SMS hebdomadaires sur le marché du sésame: 1 message/semaine à 2000 producteurs pendant 42 semaines
A4. Analyse documentaire
A5. Visites de terrain et enquêtes
A6. Définition de 1 ou 2 modèles économiques viables
A7. Atelier de présentation et validation de l'étude (mission de restitution / atelier de 3 jours)
A8. Monitoring périodique du mécanisme de financement de la commercialisation AMASSA / SOS Faim
A9. Mission d'évaluation et de capitalisation sur la première année de mise en oeuvre du dispositif

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +