PONASI (Dikwé Ni Weogo) - Project to support the enhancement of the natural capital of the landscape and increase the resilience of riparian communities

Start
October 2019
End
September 2022
Project cost
1 660 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Spatial Planning Degradation-Restoration Forest ICT

Sectors

Timber Shea Rice

Main goals

Reduce the complex's vulnerability, support the enhancement of the complex's natural capital and increase the resilience of the riparian communities

Specific objectives

  • Strengthen the security of targeted Protected Areas, surveillance, anti-poaching and law enforcement through sustainable measures and involving local populations
  • Enhance and strengthen environmentally friendly local economic initiatives to improve the livelihoods and incomes of the riparian populations of the PONASI complex
  • Support the revitalization and operationalization of the PONASI landscape co-governance mechanism as an integrated decision-making platform (joint partnership between DGEF, OFINAP, DREEVCC, DREP, community representatives and private operators)

Beneficiaries

Riparian communities living directly or indirectly from the ecosystem resources from the services of the complex or its periphery. They benefit from the stability provided by the security of the complex. The training and know-how of the project thus make it possible to create a more favorable framework for development and investment and to improve the local economy resulting from the good governance of natural resources. The State is also a derivative beneficiary since the project supports its management actions and induces greater stability in the region.

Results

R1. The perimeter of the PONASI ecological complex is protected and secured thanks to the reinforcement of the monitoring and anti-poaching system.
R2. Populations, including transhumant herders, are associated with the integrated management of natural resources and derive sustainable benefits: value chain approaches (wood, shea, hunting, ecotourism), secure community development and capacity building management and production of populations and their sectoral associations.
R3. An integrated platform to stimulate effective management is operational. This co-governance mechanism makes it possible to harmonize the management jurisdictions of the various units and corridors of the complex with an elaborate master plan. It is based on a consultation framework between local authorities and peripheral consular chambers of PONASI. A reflection aiming at a unified governance or a delegation of governance of the whole complex with possibilities of development of the Public Private Partnerships is triggered during these multi-stakeholder meetings. Local natural resource management plans are developed (or updated) for 4 priority communes, including their financing plans

Activities

A1. Securing and Monitoring Targeted Protected Areas

  • Intensification of surveillance, protection and anti-poaching in protected areas of the PONASI complex
  • Development of methods for monitoring wildlife populations and monitoring the environment by airborne systems (ULM and drone)
  • Community sensitization and mobilization around conservation issues and security issues on the periphery of the PONASI complex and setting up an intelligence system
  • Legal follow-up in the fight against poachers against traffickers

A2. Inclusion of riparian populations and promotion of natural resource development models

  • Improved carbonization and good PFNL harvesting and processing practices
  • Training on good agricultural practices
  • Support to the rice sector
  • Support to the structuring of the livestock sector

A3. Animation and consultation

  • Organization and animation of a consultation framework of local authorities and peripheral consular chambers
The European Union supports Burkina Faso to preserve forest and wildlife resources. Through the PONASI project, we are working to improve the living conditions of current and future generations

Related people

ismael_nombre.jpg
Field and Logistic Coordinator / Forest & REDD+ / Burkina

Ismaël Nombré

Graduate of a Master's degree in Economics and management option agricultural economy and environment of the University of Koudougou in Burkina Faso. He brings expertise in the management of local development projects, extension of water conservation techniques, land/soil protection and restoration (CES/DRS) and support for income generating activity in the valuation of non-timber forest products

jules_souleymane_gaye.jpg
Country representative in Burkina-Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Holder of a Master II in "Accounting and Financial Management" from the International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston, USA, he brings his expertise in sustainable community development in West Africa, particularly in the fields of identification and enhancement of local individual or collective initiatives

See more
yaguibou_abdoul_moumouni_adoua.jpg
PONASI Accountant / Burkina

Abdoul Yaguibou

Holder of a Professional License in Management Science specializing in Finance and Accounting. Since 2009, he has worked as an accountant-tax specialist and material accountant in several fields (community, state public establishment, construction and trading company, accounting firm) and in training - support for companies and organizations vocational (GERME 1 and Professional Schools) and the rural world.

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
romaric.jpg
Project Officer / Energy / Burkina

Romaric Aouake

Holder of an engineering degree in management of mining, oil and energy activities, Romaric joined Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire in January 2018 and currently holds the position of Energy Project Manager for the REDD + Project of Mé. He brings his expertise in the improvement of carbonization techniques and the support of local biomass energy recovery and energy efficiency projects.

salamata_tapsoba.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Salamata Tapsoba

Holder of a Series A Baccalaureate obtained in Nobéré. Passionate about women's peasant organizations, she brings her expertise in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

inoussa_tapsoba.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Inoussa Tapsoba

Certified by the Ministry in charge of Agriculture and Hydro-agricultural Development for permanent agricultural surveys. Passionate about plant production, he brings his expertise in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

aouya_zibare.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Aouya Zibare

Holder of a general university study diploma (DEUG) in History and archeology from Joseph Ky ZERBO University in Ouagadougou. Passionate about interactions between communities and within communities, he brings his expertise in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

jerome_yogo.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Jérôme Yogo

Holder of a Baccalaureate series A obtained in Pô. Passionate about communication tools and approaches in rural areas, he brings his expertise in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

ousmane_nebie.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Ousmane Nebié

Certified by the Ministry in charge of Agriculture and Hydro-agricultural Development for permanent agricultural surveys and extension in rural areas. Passionate about plant production, he brings his expertise and highlights his experience in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

issoufou_nacro.jpg
Family Farm Advisor / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Issoufou Nacro

Certified by the Ministry in charge of Agriculture and Hydro-agricultural Development for permanent agricultural surveys and extension in rural areas. Passionate about plant production, he brings his expertise and uses his experience in supporting producers as well as popularizing good agricultural practices that respect the environment within the PONASI Project

tony.jpg
Project Officer

Anthony Guhur

With a degree in "Environment, Earth, Change, Climate", specialised in "Rural Area & Environment" from the University of Bourgogne (co-accredited with AgroSup Dijon), he brings expertise in bioenergy, forestry & agro-environmental projects and in project management

See more

PONASI (Dikwé Ni Weogo) - Projet d’appui à l’amélioration du capital naturel du paysage et à l’accroissement de la résilience des communautés riveraines

Début
octobre 2019
Fin
septembre 2022
Coût de l’action
1 660 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Aménagement du Territoire Dégradation-Restauration Forêt TIC

Filières

Bois d'œuvre Karité Riz

Objectifs principaux

Réduire la vulnérabilité du complexe, appuyer l’amélioration du capital naturel du complexe et accroître la résilience des communautés riveraines

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Renforcer la sécurisation des Aires Protégées ciblées, la surveillance, la lutte anti-braconnage et l'application de la loi à travers des dispositifs pérennes et impliquant les populations riveraines
  • Valoriser et renforcer les initiatives économiques locales respectueuses de l’environnement pour une amélioration des moyens d’existence et des revenus des populations riveraines du complexe PONASI
  • Accompagner la redynamisation et l’opérationnalisation du dispositif de co-gouvernance du paysage PONASI comme plateforme intégrée de prise de décisions (conjointe entre la DGEF, l’OFINAP, la DREEVCC, la DREP, les représentants des communautés et des opérateurs privés)

Bénéficiaires

Communautés riveraines qui vivent directement ou indirectement des ressources issues des services de l’écosystème du complexe ou de sa périphérie. Elles bénéficient de la stabilité apportée par la sécurisation du complexe. Les formations et les savoir-faire du projet permettent ainsi de créer un cadre plus favorable au développement et à l’investissement et d’améliorer l’économie locale issue de la bonne gouvernance des ressources naturelles. L'État est également un bénéficiaire dérivé puisque le projet vient appuyer ses actions de gestion et induit une stabilité accrue de la région.

Résultats

R1. Le périmètre du Complexe écologique PONASI est protégé et sécurisé grâce au renforcement du dispositif de surveillance et de lutte anti-braconnage.
R2. Les populations, y compris les éleveurs transhumants, sont associées à la gestion intégrée des ressources naturelles et en tirent des bénéfices durables: approches filières (bois, karité, chasse, écotourisme), aménagements communautaires sécurisés et renforcement des capacités de gestion et production des populations et de leurs associations sectorielles.
R3. Une plateforme intégrée pour stimuler une gestion efficace est opérationnelle. Ce dispositif de co-gouvernance permet d’harmoniser les juridictions de gestions des différentes unités et corridors du complexe avec un plan directeur élaboré. Elle s’appuie sur un cadre de concertation des collectivités territoriales et des chambres consulaires périphériques du PONASI. Une réflexion visant une gouvernance unifiée ou une délégation de gouvernance de tout le complexe avec des possibilités de développement des Partenariats Publics Privés est déclenchée lors de ces rencontres multi-acteurs. Des plans locaux de gestion des ressources naturelles sont élaborés (ou mis à jour) pour 4 communes prioritaires, incluant leurs plans de financement.

Activités

A1. Sécurisation et surveillance des Aires Protégées ciblées

  • Intensification de la surveillance, de la protection et de la lutte anti-braconnage dans les aires protégées du complexe PONASI
  • Développement de méthodes de suivi des populations fauniques et de surveillance de l'environnement par systèmes aériens (ULM et drone)
  • Sensibilisation et mobilisation communautaires autour des questions de conservation et des enjeux sécuritaires en périphérie du complexe PONASI et mise en place d'un système de renseignement
  • Suivi juridique dans le cadre de la lutte anti-braconnage contre les trafiquants

A2. Inclusion des populations riveraines et promotion de modèles de valorisation des ressources naturelles

  • Carbonisation améliorée et bonnes pratiques de cueillettes et de transformation PFNL
  • Formations sur les bonnes pratiques agricoles
  • Appui à la filière riz
  • Appui à la structuration de la filière élevage

A3. Animation et concertation

  • Organisation et animation d’un cadre de concertation des collectivités territoriales et des chambres consulaires périphériques
L'Union européenne appuie le Burkina Faso pour préserver les ressources forestières et fauniques. A travers le projet PONASI, nous œuvrons à améliorer les conditions de vie des générations actuelles et futures

Personnes associées

ismael_nombre.jpg
Coordinateur Terrain et Logistique / Forêt & REDD+ / Burkina

Ismaël Nombré

Diplômé d’une Maîtrise en Sciences économiques et gestion option économie agricole et de l’environnement de l’Université de Koudougou au Burkina Faso. Il apporte son expertise dans la gestion des projets de développement local, la vulgarisation des techniques de conservation des eaux et des sols, la défense et restauration des sols (CES/DRS) et l’appui aux activités génératrices de revenus (AGR) par la valorisation des produits forestiers non ligneux

jules.png
Représentant au Burkina Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Diplômé d'un Master II of Accounting and Financial Management de l'International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston MA, USA, il apporte toute son expertise en matière de développement communautaire durable en Afrique de l’Ouest dans l'agriculture et l’identification et la valorisation d’initiatives individuelles ou collectives locales

En voir +
yaguibou_abdoul_moumouni_adoua.jpg
Comptable PONASI / Burkina

Abdoul Yaguibou

Titulaire d’une Licence Professionnelle en Science de Gestion spécialité Finance et Comptabilité. Depuis 2009, il a travaillé comme comptable-fiscaliste et comptable matières dans plusieurs domaines (collectivité, établissement public de l’état, société de construction et de négoce, des cabinet d’expertise comptable) et dans la formation - accompagnement des entreprises et organisations professionnelles (GERME 1 et Ecoles professionnelles) et du monde rural.

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / France

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
romaric.jpg
Chargé de mission / Energie / Burkina

Romaric Aouake

Titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur en gestion des activités minières, pétrolières et énergétiques, Romaric a rejoint Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en Janvier 2018 en tant que chargé de mission énergie du Projet REDD+ de la Mé. Il apporte maintenant son expertise en termes d’amélioration des techniques de carbonisation dans le cadre du projet PONASI.

salamata_tapsoba.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Salamata Tapsoba

Détenteur d’un Baccalauréat série A obtenu à Nobéré. Passionné par les organisations paysannes féminines, elle apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

inoussa_tapsoba.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Inoussa Tapsoba

Certifié par le Ministère en charge de l’Agriculture et des Aménagements Hydro-agricoles pour les enquêtes permanentes agricoles. Passionné par la production végétale, il apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

aouya_zibare.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Aouya Zibare

Détenteur d’un diplôme d’étude universitaire général (DEUG) en Histoire et archéologie obtenu à l’Université Joseph Ky ZERBO de Ouagadougou. Passionné par les interactions entre les communautés et au sein des communautés, il apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

jerome_yogo.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Jérôme Yogo

Détenteur d’un Baccalauréat série A obtenu à Pô. Passionné par les outils et approches de communication en milieu rural, il apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

ousmane_nebie.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Ousmane Nebié

Certifié par le Ministère en charge de l’Agriculture et des Aménagements Hydro-agricoles pour les enquêtes permanentes agricoles et la vulgarisation en milieu rural. Passionné par la production végétale, il apporte son expertise et met à profil son expérience dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

issoufou_nacro.jpg
Conseiller à l’exploitation familiale / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Issoufou Nacro

Certifié par le Ministère en charge de l’Agriculture et des Aménagements Hydro-agricoles pour les enquêtes permanentes agricoles et la vulgarisation en milieu rural. Passionné par la production végétale, il apporte son expertise et met à profit son expérience dans l’accompagnement des producteurs ainsi que la vulgarisation des bonnes pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement au sein du Projet PONASI

tony.jpg
Chargé de projet

Anthony Guhur

Diplômé d'un Master 2 Environnement - Terre - Evolution - Climat, Spécialité Espace Rural & Environnement de l’Université de Bourgogne (co-habilitation avec AgroSUP Dijon), il apporte son expertise sur les projets de bioénergies, foresterie et agro-environnement ainsi que sur la gestion de projet

En voir +