BENINUT - Sustainable Cashew Nuts in Benin

Start
February 2018
End
June 2018
Project cost
65 000 €
Role in the project
Bioenergy expertise

Countries

Benin

Fields

Organic Agriculture Agroprocessing Bioenergy Market

Sectors

Cashew

Main goals

Valorise cashew production & processing waste in order to improve the sector's performance and sustainability

Specific objectives

Assess the economic and technical viability of a power plant using cashew nut residues and other agricultural waste available locally for mitigating environmental & social challenges regarding waste disposal and unreliable access to electricity in Benin. The study will assess local availability and biomass potential of cashew and other agricultural waste as well as the practical feasibility of energy generation for Tolaro and local off-takers. The study will assess the impact of such a project to confirm the expected positive social and environmental outcomes.

Beneficiaries

Cashew stakeholders in Benin

Results

A feasibility study clearly pointing the best bio-mass energy system and the best way to create a mini-grid to service the community (and respecting the MCC grant requirements) with the following results:

  • The comprehensive study will identify the best feasible solution for a bio-mass energy system based on Tolaro’s needs, absorbing at least 80% of produced cashew nut shells and possibility using cashew apple waste from smallholder famers (based on technical, economic and practical feasibility)
  • The knowledge produced on the local availability of agricultural waste and potential uses will be used to identify other transformation options and potential value addition for farmers
  • Ultimately, such a plant will increase the sustainability of cashew nut's value chain (by reducing waste). It will also create value for farmers who will sell biomass to Tolaro and potentially -in turn - receive organic compost for their plantations, while fostering local development by ensuring access to an affordable, secured and clean energy – hence contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals defined by the UNPD
  • The project will exemplify an innovative strategy to create new synergies between cashew nuts producers and processors and as a contribution to the national governmental plan to foster the production of renewable energy from the use of biomass
  • The plant will facilitate the development of new market opportunities for cashew nut by-products, which will benefit producers and processors, improving the overall competitiveness of the cashew nut value chain in Benin.

Activities

The undertaking of the feasibility study of a biomass power generation system based on the cashew residues of the processing plant of Tolaro Global is performed by a consortium of two consulting firms (10 experts): NITIDÆ (ex-RONGEAD-EtcTerra) and IED (Innovation Energy Development).

A1. Data collection – desktop and field research

  • Desktop research based on secondary data available on cashew nut residues management, and state of the art of reutilization of cashew residues and other agricultural waste for energy generation
  • On-site visit and field research in Benin
  • Meetings and interviews with Tolaro management, outgrowers and other relevant stakeholders

A2. Assessment of biomass residue potential and availability

  • Technical assessment of biomass potential of cashew nut residues (cashew nut shells and apples for gasification, direct burn)
  • Identification of appropriate machinery/technologies
  • Identification of machinery/technology providers (preferably locally)
  • Assessment of gas emission and necessary environmental and health related control measures according to IFC guidelines

A3. Factory electricity needs
A4. Technical support for at least three units
A5. Economic analysis of the three potential units
A6. Social and environmental impact
A7. Conclusion and recommendations

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more
copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
photo_soglagbe.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / Benin

Albéric Soglagbe

As an agronomist, he has more than 9 years of experience in specialized services in various fields, including analysis of information systems on agricultural markets, identification of training needs of a group, analysis economic value chains, social science studies and research, and strategic planning.

BENINUT - Etude de faisabilité sur la valorisation énergétique des déchets de noix de cajou au Bénin

Début
février 2018
Fin
juin 2018
Coût de l’action
65 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise filière cajou & valorisation déchets

Pays

Bénin

Thématiques

Agroprocessing Bio-énergie Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde

Objectifs principaux

Etude de faisabilité sur la valorisation énergétique des déchets de noix de cajou

Objectifs spécifiques

Evaluer la faisabilité économique et technique d’une unité de valorisation énergétique des déchets de noix de cajou et d’autres résidus agricoles disponibles localement, dans le but d’atténuer les défis environnementaux et sociaux liés au traitement des déchets et l’accès limité à l’électricité au Bénin. L’étude va évaluer la disponibilité locale et le potentiel de production de biomasse de la noix de cajou et des autres résidus agricoles ainsi que les possibles pratiques de régénération d’énergie pour Tolaro SA et les acheteurs locaux. Cette étude va estimer l’impact d’un tel projet d’un point de vue social et environnemental.

Bénéficiaires

Acteurs béninois du secteur de la noix de cajou.

Résultats

Une étude de faisabilité concernant le meilleur système de bioénergie et la meilleure façon de créer une réseau pour desservir la communauté (en respectant les conditions de l’accord MCC) avec les résultats suivants:

  • L’étude exhaustive va identifier la meilleure solution possible pour la mise en place d’un système de bioénergie d’une unité de valorisation des déchets d’un point de vue technique, économique et pratique et basé sur les besoins de Tolaro SA. Ce système absorbera au moins 80% des coques de noix de cajou produites localement par les petits producteurs et possiblement les déchets de pommes de cajou.
  • Les connaissances acquises sur la disponibilité locale des déchets agricoles et sur leurs utilisations potentielles seront utilisées pour identifier d’autres options de transformation et le potentiel d’ajout de valeur pour les producteurs.
  • Finalement, une telle unité de valorisation des déchets augmentera la durabilité de la chaine de valeur de la noix de cajou (en réduisant les déchets). Cela créera aussi de la valeur ajoutée pour les producteurs qui pourront vendre leur biomasse à Tolaro SA et pourront potentiellement recevoir du compost biologique pour leurs plantations, tout en favorisant le développement local en assurant l’accès à une énergie abordable, garantie et propre. Donc, en contribuant aux objectifs du développement durable définis par l’UNPD.
  • Le projet illustrera une stratégie innovante pour créer de nouvelles synergies entre les producteurs de noix de cajou et les transformateurs. Et, contribuera au plan gouvernemental national qui est de promouvoir la production d’énergie renouvelable à partir de l’utilisation de la biomasse.
  • L’unité de valorisation énergétique de déchets va faciliter le développement de nouvelles opportunités commerciales pour les sous-produits de la noix de cajou. Cela profitera aux producteurs et transformateurs grâce à l’amélioration de la compétitivité globale de la chaine de valeur de la noix de cajou au Benin.

Activités

La réalisation de l’étude de faisabilité sur la valorisation énergétique des déchets de noix de cajou d’une usine de transformation de Tolaro Global Sarl est entrepris par un consortium entre deux sociétés de conseils (10 experts) : NITIDÆ (ex-RONGEAD-EtcTerra) et IED (Innovation Energy Development).

A1. Collecte de données – recherche dans la littérature & sur le terrain

  • Recherche basée sur les données secondaires disponibles sur la gestion des résidus de noix de cajou et revue de littérature sur la réutilisation des résidus de noix de cajou et autres produits agricoles, pour la production énergétique.
  • Visite de l’usine et recherche terrain au Benin.
  • Rencontre et interview avec les gestionnaires de Tolaro, les producteurs et autres acteurs du secteur.

A2. Evaluation du potentiel et de la disponibilité des résidus de biomasse.

  • Assistance technique sur le potentiel de biomasse des résidus de noix de cajou (coques et pommes de cajou pour la gazéification et le chauffage)
  • Identification des machines/technologies appropriées.
  • Identification des fournisseurs de machines/technologies (local de préférence)
  • Evaluation des émissions de gaz et des mesures de contrôle pour la santé et l’environnement selon l’IFC.

A3. Demande en électricité de l’usine
A4. Assistance technique sur au moins trois unités potentielles, identifiées
A5. Analyse économique des trois unités potentielles, identifiées
A6. Impact social et environnemental
A7. Conclusion et recommandations

Personnes associées

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Chargé de mission

Benjamin Garnier

Diplômé Ingénieur Agronome de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT), spécialité : qualité de l’environnement et Gestion des ressources, il apporte son expertise dans les études de faisabilité pour des fonds d’investissements et les études des marchés agricoles et des chaînes de valeurs

En voir +
copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de mission

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +