BNPA - Protection of biodiversity through the accession of the Beampingaratsy Reserve to Protected Area status

Start
January 2023
End
March 2028
Project cost
1 500 000 USD
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Agroecology Agroforestry Spatial Planning Biodiversity Climate Forest IWRM Market REDD+

Sectors

Pink peppercorn Coffee Clove Honey Pepper Rice Vanilla

Main goals

Since 2018, Nitidæ has been leading the TALAKY project (Conservation and Enhancement of Forests, Intensification and Ecological Diversification of Agriculture, Concerted Sustainable Development) financed by the French Development Agency (AFD). In line with the two previous phases (Holistic Forest Conservation Program), Talaky's objective is to contribute to the preservation of natural forest ecosystems and to the improvement of the living conditions of the populations living in these forests. This project to be carried out with Rainforest Trust remains in the continuity of Talaky with a focus on the protection of biodiversity through the definitive protection of Beampingaratsy under the status of protected area.

Specific objectives

SO1. Support for the creation of the Beampingaratsy Protected Area and the sustainable management of the natural resources of the forest
SO2. Strengthen resilience and put in place incentives for environmental protection at the community level

Results

R1. Creation of the protected area
R2. Support to the future manager of the protected area (local Nitidæ staff)
R3. Support to local communities as key stakeholders for effective conservation of Beampingaratsy

Activities

A1. Maintain a high level of knowledge of biodiversity and the environment (implementation of a research infrastructure, operationalization of a system for monitoring climate parameters), in particular with the use of data satellites to monitor deforestation and fires
A2. Redraw the landscape matrix by establishing areas of ecological interest (mini-forest Miyawaki approach)
A3. Operationalization of the surveillance system (hard and soft) and control of the forest block, in particular through the improvement of patrols and field surveillance by project staff and communities
A4. Provide an information system linked to knowledge of biodiversity (participatory forest monitoring)
A5. Equip and operationalize community forest resource management schemes, in particular by preparing the management of the protected area (tools and governance)
A6. Strengthen the resilience of communities to climatic hazards (cyclones), in particular by improving ecological monitoring using the detection index mechanism
A7. Promotion of the essential oils value chain

Related people

ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Project Manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Forestry engineer, specialized on "Ecosystem and Biodiversity" and graduated from ESSA (Madagascar), she joined the team with her skills in biodiversity conservation, forest management and natural resources management. With her experience in assessing threats to protected areas, TNRM (Transfer of Natural Resources Management) and community support in conservation, she contributes to the implementation of different projects.

tsoa_andrianamenosoa_rakotondrasoa_miaratiana.jpg
Regional coordinator and project manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Tsoa Andrianamenosoa Rakotondrasoa Miaratiana

Engineer in Agricultural Sciences from the University of Antananarivo, holder of a Master 2 in planning and management of tropical ecosystems (University of Lomé), a Master in Agroecology, Biodiversity and Climate Change (University of Antananarivo and Montpellier SupAgro) and a Master in Agroecology and Resource Management from Bordeaux Sciences Agro. He coordinates the Nitidæ sub-office in Fort-Dauphin and brings his expertise to the setting up and coordination of two major projects in the southern and southeastern part of Madagascar: Talaky Be financed by AFD and the European Union and Beampingaratsy National Protected Area financed by the Rainforest Trust Foundation

eddie_fanantenana_rakotondrasoa.jpg
Project manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Eddie Rakotondrasoa

Holder of a specialized higher education diploma in environmental sciences from the Faculty of Sciences (University of Antananarivo), he brings his expertise in the field of conservation and management of projects financed by the AFD or the European Union. His skills are currently exercised in the Beampingaratsy forest corridor, a forest in the southern part of Madagascar, currently being converted into a New Protected Area as part of the Beampingaratsy National Protected Area project

thierry_rafanohizantsoa.jpg
Technical Manager in Natural Resource Management / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Thierry Rafanohizantsoa

He holds a DEA in Biodiversity and Environment from the University of Toliara, which involved research on the conservation status of a dozen endemic, rare and threatened plant species in the Mandrare valley in the south of Madagascar. He was a student at the ValBio Center at Stony Brook University, then head of the Honko-Reef Doctor project in the Ambondrolava mangrove. He was also project manager for social protection for the Madagascar Development Intervention Fund (FID)

fabien_zikisa_benedicte.jpg
Technical Manager in Biodiversity and Protected Areas / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Fabien Zikisà Benedicte

He holds a Master's degree in Zoology and Animal Biodiversity from the University of Antananarivo (Madagascar) obtained in 2017. Between 2018 and 2020, he was a research assistant for several Protected Areas. Then from 2021 to 2022, he was chief of operations in charge of conservation activities at the level of the Kirindy Mite National Park and the Andranomena Special Reserve

jeanne_melissa_raharinosy.jpg
Administrative assistant / Madagascar

Jeanne Melissa Raharinosy

She holds a degree in Management, finance and accounting option from the Technical Training Institute (IFT). She has more than 5 years of experience at the Henri et Alain de Haulme (HAH) group as an accounting and human resources assistant

jean_michel_nangalana.jpg
Activity manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Jean Michel Nangalana

He holds a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science, option basic scientific and technical knowledge and networks and systems and is currently training remotely in communication at the National Center for Tele-education in Madagascar. He has worked since 2011 in community relations and socio-organisational, as a trainer and facilitator

tinarinoro_patricia_randriamialisoa.jpg
Ecological monitoring assistant / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Tinarinoro Patricia Randriamialisoa

Forestry technician trained at the National Training Center for Forestry Technicians in Angavokely organized by the Ministry of the Environment and Sustainable Development. This training allowed her to improve her skills in terms of ecological monitoring

arnet_lambo.jpg
Environmental education technician/ Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Arnet Lambo

Graduated in Law from the University of Fianarantsoa in Madagascar, he first worked in the field of child and maternal health in the Androy and Anosy regions. In 2015, he joined the team of the NGO Seed Madagascar on Health, Population and Environment, in the Fort-Dauphin district. In 2019, he joined the team as a territorial planning technician for the TALAKY project then as an environmental education technician for the BNPA project

BNPA - Protection de la biodiversité à travers l'accession de la Réserve de Beampingaratsy sous le statut d'Aire Protégée

Début
janvier 2023
Fin
mars 2028
Coût de l’action
1 500 000 USD
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Agroécologie Agroforesterie Aménagement du Territoire Biodiversité Climat Forêt GIRE Marché REDD+

Filières

Baie rose Café Girofle Miel Poivre Riz Vanille

Objectifs principaux

Depuis 2018, Nitidæ conduit le projet TALAKY (Conservation et Valorisation des Forêts, Intensification et Diversification Ecologique de l'Agriculture, Développement Durable Concerté) financé par l'Agence Française de Développement (AFD). Dans la lignée des deux phases précédentes (Holistic Forest Conservation Program), l'objectif de Talaky est de contribuer à la préservation des écosystèmes forestiers naturels et à l'amélioration des conditions de vie des populations vivant dans ces forêts. Ce projet à réaliser avec Rainforest Trust reste dans la continuité de Talaky avec un focus sur la protection de la biodiversité à travers la protection définitive de Beampingaratsy sous le statut d'aire protégée.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Appui à la création de l'Aire Protégée de Beampingaratsy et à la gestion durable des ressources naturelles de la forêt
OS2. Renforcer la résilience et mettre en place des incitations à la protection de l'environnement au niveau communautaire

Résultats

R1. Création de l'aire protégée
R2. Appui au futur gestionnaire de l'aire protégée (personnel local de Nitidæ)
R3. Appui aux communautés locales en tant que principales parties prenantes pour une conservation efficace de Beampingaratsy

Activités

A1. Maintenir un haut niveau de connaissance de la biodiversité et de l'environnement (mise en place d'une infrastructure de recherche, opérationnalisation d'un système de suivi des paramètres climatiques), avec notamment l'utilisation de données satellitaires pour suivre la déforestation et les incendies
A2. Redessiner la matrice paysagère par l'établissement de zones d'intérêt écologique (approche mini-forêt de Miyawaki)
A3. Opérationnalisation du système de surveillance (hard et soft) et contrôle du bloc forestier, notamment par l'amélioration des patrouilles et de la surveillance sur le terrain par le personnel du projet et les communautés
A4. Fournir un système d'information lié à la connaissance de la biodiversité (suivi forestier participatif)
A5. Equiper et opérationnaliser les schémas communautaires de gestion des ressources forestières, notamment par la préparation de la gestion de l'aire protégée (outils et gouvernance)
A6. Renforcer la résilience des communautés face aux aléas climatiques (cyclones), notamment par l'amélioration de la surveillance écologique à l'aide du mécanisme d'indices de détection
A7. Promotion de la chaîne de valeur des huiles essentielles

Personnes associées

ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Ingénieur forestier de formation, dans le parcours “Écosystème et Biodiversité” et diplômée de l’ESSA (Madagascar), elle rejoint l'équipe avec ses compétences en conservation de la biodiversité, aménagement forestier et gestion des ressources naturelles. Avec ses expériences dans l'évaluation des menaces sur les aires protégées, les TGRN (Transfert de Gestion des Ressources Naturelles) et l'appui des communautés dans la conservation, elle contribue à la mise en œuvre de différents projets.

tsoa_andrianamenosoa_rakotondrasoa_miaratiana.jpg
Coordonnateur régional et chef de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Tsoa Andrianamenosoa Rakotondrasoa Miaratiana

Ingénieur en Sciences Agronomiques de l’Université d’Antananarivo, titulaire d’un Master 2 en aménagement et gestion des écosystèmes tropicaux (Université de Lomé), un Master en Agroécologie, Biodiversité et Changement Climatique (Université d’Antananarivo et Montpellier SupAgro) et un Master en agroécologie et Gestion des ressources de Bordeaux Sciences Agro. Il assure la coordination du sous-bureau de Nitidæ à Fort-dauphin et apporte son expertise pour le montage et la coordination de deux grands projets dans la partie sud et sud-est de Madagascar : Talaky Be financé par l’AFD et l’Union européenne et Beampingaratsy National Protected Area financé par la Fondation Rainforest Trust

eddie_fanantenana_rakotondrasoa.jpg
Chargé de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Eddie Rakotondrasoa

Titulaire d’un diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées en sciences de l’environnement de la faculté des sciences (Université d’Antananarivo), il apporte son expertise dans le domaine de la conservation et la gestion de projets financés par l’AFD ou l’Union européenne. Ses compétences s'exercent actuellement sur le corridor forestier Beampingaratsy, une forêt dans la partie sud de Madagascar,e n cours de conversion en Nouvelle Aire Protégée, dans le cadre du projet Beampingaratsy National Protected Area

thierry_rafanohizantsoa.jpg
Responsable Technique en Gestion de Ressource Naturelle / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Thierry Rafanohizantsoa

Il est titulaire d'un DEA en Biodiversité et Environnement de l'Université de Toliara, qui a impliqué des recherches sur l'état de conservation d'une douzaine d'espèces végétales endémiques, rares et menacées dans la vallée de Mandrare au sud de Madagascar. Il a été étudiant au Centre ValBio de l’Université Stony Brook, puis responsable du projet Honko-Reef Doctor dans la mangrove d’Ambondrolava. Il a également été chargé de projet pour la protection sociale pour le Fonds d’Intervention pour le Développement (FID) Madagascar

fabien_zikisa_benedicte.jpg
Responsable Technique en Biodiversité et Aires Protégées / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Fabien Zikisà Benedicte

Il est titulaire d’un Master en Zoologie et Biodiversité Animale de l’Université d’Antananarivo (Madagascar) obtenu en 2017. Entre 2018 à 2020, il a été assistant de recherche pour plusieurs Aires Protégées. Puis de 2021 à 2022, il a été chef des opérations en charge des activités de conservation au niveau du Parc National Kirindy Mite et de la Réserve Spéciale d’Andranomena

jeanne_melissa_raharinosy.jpg
Assistante administrative / Madagascar

Jeanne Melissa Raharinosy

Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme en Gestion, option finance et comptabilité de l’Institut de Formation Technique (IFT). Elle possède plus de 5 ans d’expérience au groupe Henri et Alain de Haulme (HAH) en tant qu’assistante comptable et ressources humaines

jean_michel_nangalana.jpg
Responsable d'activité / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Jean Michel Nangalana

Il est titulaire d'une Licence en Informatique, option connaissances scientifiques et techniques de base et réseaux et système et se forme actuellement à distance en communication au Centre National de Télé-enseignement de Madagascar. Il a travaillé depuis 2011 en relation communautaire et en socio-organisationnel, en tant que formateur et facilitateur

tinarinoro_patricia_randriamialisoa.jpg
Assistante suivi écologique / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Tinarinoro Patricia Randriamialisoa

Technicienne forestière formée au Centre National de Formation des Techniciens Forestiers à Angavokely organisée par le Ministère de l'Environnement et du Développement Durable. Cette formation lui a permis d’améliorer ses compétence en termes de suivi écologique

arnet_lambo.jpg
Technicien en éducation environnementale / Foret & REDD+ / Madagascar

Arnet Lambo

Diplômé en Droit de l'Université de Fianarantsoa à Madagascar, il a d'abord travaillé dans le domaine de la santé infantile et maternelle dans les régions Androy et Anosy. En 2015, il rejoint l'équipe de l'ONG Seed Madagascar sur la Santé, la Population et l'Environnement, dans le district de Fort-dauphin. En 2019, il rejoint l'équipe en tant que technicien en aménagement territoriale du projet TALAKY puis en tant que technicien en éducation environnementale pour le projet BNPA