TALAKY - Forests conservation and valorization, Agriculture intensification and ecological diversification, Sustainable concerted development

Start
September 2018
End
August 2021
Project cost
3,5 M€
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Agriculture Spatial Planning Biodiversity Climate IWRM REDD+

Sectors

Coffee Rice

Main goals

In line with the previous two phases of the PHCF, Talaky's goal is to contribute to the preservation of natural forest ecosystems and the improvement of the living conditions of the populations bordering these forests

Specific objectives

• Strengthen conservation activities by continuing the process of creating the Beampingaratsy New Protected Area (NAP)
• Develop sustainable alternatives to the exploitation of forest resources to meet the needs of the people
• Strengthen the positioning of local authorities as a key player in the control of spatial planning
• Educate a larger program with the Green Climate Fund. The future program aims at a comprehensive approach to the development of the Anosy Region

Beneficiaries

Local populations
National Coordination Office (BNC) REDD + of Madagascar

Results

R1. 6 communal forest monitoring systems are operational, Management Plans (PAG) and Environmental and Social Management Plans (ESMP) are drafted, REDD + benefits monitoring is carried out, An early warning system for deforestation is put in place
R2. Local communities are supported in the development and enhancement of watersheds and are supported in agro-ecological intensification and agricultural diversification / promotion of income-generating activities
R3. The communes are supported in the participatory realization of their SAC and for the improvement of the control of their land

Activities

A1. Implementation of a development and management plan for the new protected area created in February 2018, as well as a monitoring system for activities (agricultural or otherwise) and early warning based on drone-type technologies; This approach is complemented by a monitoring of the reduction of emissions related to the REDD BNC
A2. Update of existing management and management schemes, rehabilitation and development of rice-growing areas, consolidation and extension of sensitive areas, afforestation activities upstream of watersheds (erosion control); At the farm level, the project aims to promote an intensification of agro-ecological practices (agroforestry, water control, fertilization by off-season cultivation) and promising sectors (coffee, pink berry, cloves, beekeeping)
A3. Support to municipalities in the area, according to their institutional maturity, to develop, validate and implement a municipal development plan (SAC), document that provides a vision of municipal development in the medium term, considers the activities to be carried out and infrastructure to build to achieve it. In a third stage, the project will support the communal management of the forest massif, with the establishment and mobilization of eco-guards (communal brigades)
A4. Ensure the preparation of a more ambitious project that would be presented to the Green Climate Fund; The future program aims at a comprehensive approach to the development of the Anosy Region

Related people

tovo.jpg
Country representative in Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

With a degree in science - coupled with a background in administration and environmental economics - he has over twenty-five years of experience in sustainable development in a variety of fields: protected areas management, environmental management (planning, information system, environmental impact assessments), quality management at the National Office for the Environment, natural resource management, carbone finance

See more
wohlhauser_sebastien.jpg
Project manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Sébastien Wohlhauser

Graduated in Botany and Tropical Ecology (Universities of Geneva & Neuchâtel) but also in GIS and Database Management (University of Bern) and Forest carbon inventory & Accounting techniques…

See more
lea_rakotoson.jpg
Administrative and Financial Manager / Madagascar

Léa Rakotoson

Graduate of a Master in Management from Tamatave University, she has 20 years of experience in administrative, accounting and financial management as a specialist in business management (management control, budget monitoring, fiscal and social dashboard). , ...) but also in accounting, financial and organizational auditing

maminiaina_rakotoarivonona.jpg
Monitoring & Evaluation Manager / Agriculture & Market / Madagascar

Maminiaina Rakotoarivonona

Graduate Agronomy Engineer from ESSA at Antananarivo University, experienced in rural and sustainable development thematics. He brings his skills for activities monitoring and evaluation of the Talaky project in its areas of intervention

0_1_.jpg
Project Officer

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Currently a PhD student, he holds a DEA of Physics, specialised in "geophysics, remote sensing and GIS" from the Faculty of Sciences of Antananarivo in Madagascar (IOGA). He brings his expertise to the impacts of deforestation, above-ground biomass mapping and scenario development of carbon emissions

See more
rakotondrasoa_miaratiana_andrianamenosoa_ntsoa.jpg
Operations Coordinator / Agriculture and Forests / Madagascar

Tsoa Andrianamenosoa Rakotondrasoa Miaratiana

Engineer in Agricultural Sciences (University of Antananarivo), holder of a Master 2 in Land Planning and Management of Tropical Ecosystems (University of Lomé) and a Master 2 in Agroecology, Biodiversity and Climate Change. Tsoa is in charge of the technical coordination, monitoring and activities implementation of the Talaky Project's in the intervention areas

lahitsiory_tsohara.jpg
Land Management Supervisor / Forest & REDD + / Madagascar

Lahitsiory Tsohara

Postgraduate degree in Public Business Law at the University of Antananarivo and a Master's degree in Social Work and Local Development at the Higher Institute of Social Work Antananarivo. He provides support to local communities through land management in the implementation of Talaky Project actions in intervention areas

eddie_fanantenana_rakotondrasoa.jpg
Project Manager / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Eddie Rakotondrasoa

Holder of a Specialized Graduate Diploma in Environmental Science, Faculty of Science, University of Antananarivo. From 2012 to 2019 he worked at Madagasikara Voakajy, in the conservation of endangered species in the Moramanga district and then in the establishment of a Mangabe Protected Area in the Alaotra Mangoro region. He brings his expertise on the monitoring activities and the processes of implementation of the New Protected Area Beampingaratsy

tojonirina_nambinina_randriarisoa.jpg
Territory Planning Supervisor / Forest & REDD + / Madagascar

Tojonirina Nambinina Randriarisoa

Holder of a Master 2 in Rural Land and Land Management, of the Polytechnic School of Antananarivo and a master's degree in Mathematics Computer Science, from the Faculty of Sciences Fianarantsoa, he brings all his expertise on the Land Management activities and also supports local authorities in the implementation of local planning schemes

marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
id_photo_2018.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in "Information Systems for the Localized Management of the Territories", from AgroParisTech, Engref and SupAgro, he is expert in remote sensing, pedology, forestry, agronomy, geomophology and modeling on projects related to forestry and agriculture, development of innovative tools, scientific publications, impact measurement studies

See more
img_3505.jpg
Co-Director

Matthieu Tiberghien

Holder of a Master's degree in Management from the Paris-Dauphine University and a Master in "Social Policies and Planning in developing Countries" from the London School of Economics, he brings his expertise in project building and project management in renewable energy, REDD+, technical engineering, economic and financial due diligence, business development, strategic partnerships, fundraising and human ressources management

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
jessica_fournier.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / Madagascar

Jessica Fournier

Graduate Engineer Agronomist specialized in tropical production and Development of the Territories of the Higher Institute of Agriculture - ISARA-Lyon, she brings her expertise on the development of agricultural sectors in the south of Madagascar and intervenes on projects of management of the natural resources and territorial development

See more
rasolonirina_jocelyne.png
Administration-Finance Manager / Madagascar

Jocelyne Rasolonirina

Holder of a Master's degree in Management, Finance and Accounting option from University of Toliara, Jocelyne has ten years of experience as Administrative and Financial Assistant, acquired mainly from CARE International in the Anosy region. Jocelyne brings her rigor and practical sense to Project TALAKY.

Le Lab

TALAKY - Conservation et valorisation des forêts, Intensification et diversification écologique de l’agriculture, Aménagement concerté durable

Début
septembre 2018
Fin
août 2021
Coût de l’action
3,5 M€
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Aménagement du Territoire Biodiversité Climat GIRE REDD+

Filières

Café Riz

Objectifs principaux

Dans la lignée des deux phases précédentes du PHCF, Talaky conserve pour finalité de contribuer à la préservation des écosystèmes forestiers naturels et à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations riveraines de ces forêts

Objectifs spécifiques

• Renforcer les activités de conservation en poursuivant le processus de création de la Nouvelle Aire Protégée (NAP) de Beampingaratsy
• Développer des alternatives durables à l’exploitation des ressources forestières pour répondre aux besoins des populations
• Renforcer le positionnement des collectivités locales comme acteur clé de la maîtrise de l’aménagement du territoire
• Instruire un programme de plus grande ampleur auprès du Fond Vert pour le Climat. Le futur programme a pour ambition une approche globale du développement de la Région Anosy

Bénéficiaires

Populations locales
Bureau National de Coordination(BNC) REDD+ de Madagascar

Résultats

R1. 6 dispositifs communaux de surveillance forestière sont opérationnels, les Plans d'Aménagement et des Gestion (PAG) et Plans de Gestion Environnementale et Sociale (PGES) sont rédigés, le suivi des bénéfices REDD+ est réalisé, Un système d'alerte précoce de la déforestation est mis en place
R2. Les communautés locales sont appuyées dans l'aménagement et la valorisation des bassins versants et sont appuyées dans l'intensification agro-écologique et la diversification agricole/promotion des activités génératrices de revenus
R3. Les communes sont appuyées dans la réalisation participative de leurs SAC et pour l'amélioration de la maîtrise de leur foncier

Activités

A1. Mise en place d’un plan d’aménagement et de gestion pour la nouvelle aire protégée créée en février 2018 mais aussi d’un système de surveillance des activités (agricoles ou non) et d’alerte précoce basé sur des technologies du type drone ;
 Cette approche est complétée par un suivi de la réduction des émissions en lien avec le BNC REDD
A2. Actualisation des Shémas d’Aménagement et de Gestion existant, réhabilitation et aménagement des périmètres rizicoles, consolidation et extension de l’aménagement de zones sensibles, activités de reboisement en amont des bassins versants (lutte anti érosive); À l’échelle des exploitations, le projet entend promouvoir une intensification des pratiques agro-écologiques (agroforesterie, maîtrise de l’eau, fertilisation par culture de contre-saison) et des filières porteuses (café, baie rose, girofle, apiculture...)
A3. Appui aux communes de la zone, selon leur maturité institutionnelle, à élaborer, valider et mettre en place un schéma d’aménagement communal (SAC), document qui fournit une vision du développement communal à moyen terme, envisage les activités à mener et infrastructures à construire pour y parvenir. Dans une troisième étape, le projet appuiera la gestion communale du massif forestier, avec la mise en place et la mobilisation d’écogardes (brigades communales)
A4. Assurer la préparation d’un projet plus ambitieux qui serait présenté au Fonds Vert pour le Climat ; Le futur programme a pour ambition une approche globale du développement de la Région Anosy

Personnes associées

tovo.jpg
Représentant à Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

De formation scientifique - doublée d’une formation en administration et en économie de l’environnement - il dispose de plus de 25 années d’expériences dans le développement durable dans des domaines variés: gestion d’aires protégées, gestion de l’environnement (planification, système d’information, étude d’impacts), gestion de la qualité à l’office National pour l’Environnement, la gestion des ressources naturelles, le financement carbone

En voir +
wohlhauser_sebastien.jpg
Chargé de projets / Forêts & REDD+ / Madagascar

Sébastien Wohlhauser

Biochimiste, naturaliste, puis écologue de formation, diplômé de l’Université de Neuchâtel (Suisse), Sébastien apporte son expertise dans la gestion des aires protégées, l'aménagement territorial concerté et la recherche-action pour le développement local et la valorisation des produits naturels. Il défend un reboisement biodivers et productif avec sa devise «Chaque arbre compte»

En voir +
lea_rakotoson.jpg
Responsable Administrative et Financière / Madagascar

Léa Rakotoson

Diplômée de maîtrise en gestion de l’Université de Tamatave, elle possède 20 ans d’expérience dans la gestion administrative, comptable et financière comme spécialiste dans le domaine du pilotage des entreprises (contrôle de gestion, suivi budgétaire, tableau de bord fiscal et social, …) mais aussi en audit comptable, financier et organisationnel

maminiaina_rakotoarivonona.jpg
Responsable Suivi Evaluation / Agriculture & Marché / Madagascar

Maminiaina Rakotoarivonona

Ingénieur Agronome sortant de l’ESSA de l’Université Antananarivo, expérimenté sur le domaine du développement rural et durable. Il apporte son soutien dans le cadre de suivi et évaluation des activités du projet talaky dans ses zones d’intervention

0_1_.jpg
Chargé de mission

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un DEA en physique (option géophysique, télédétection et SIG), de la Faculté des Sciences d’Antananarivo de l'Université de Madagascar, il apporte toute son expertise sur les impacts de la déforestation, la cartographie de la biomasse aérienne, l'élaboration de scénario des émissions de référence de CO2

En voir +
rakotondrasoa_miaratiana_andrianamenosoa_ntsoa.jpg
Coordinateur des Opérations / Agriculture et Forêts / Madagascar

Tsoa Andrianamenosoa Rakotondrasoa Miaratiana

Ingénieur en sciences agronomiques (Université d’Antananarivo), titulaire d’un Master 2 en aménagement et gestion des écosystèmes tropicaux (Université de Lomé) et d’un Master 2 en Agroécologie, biodiversité et Changement climatique. Tsoa assure la coordination technique, le suivi ainsi que la mise en œuvre des actions menées par le Projet Talaky dans les zones d’interventions

lahitsiory_tsohara.jpg
Superviseur Gestion Foncière / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Lahitsiory Tsohara

Diplômé de troisième cycle en droit public des affaires à l’université d’Antananarivo et une Maîtrise spécialisée en Travail social et Développement Local à l’Institut Supérieur en Travail Social Antananarivo. Il assure l’appui aux collectivités locales à travers la gestion foncière dans la mise en œuvre des actions menées par le Projet Talaky dans les zones d’interventions

eddie_fanantenana_rakotondrasoa.jpg
Chargé de mission / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Eddie Rakotondrasoa

Titulaire d’un Diplôme d’Etude Supérieure Spécialisé en Science de l’Environnement, Faculté des Sciences, Université d’Antananarivo. De 2012 à 2019 il a travaillé chez Madagasikara Voakajy, dans la conservation des espèces en danger dans le district de Moramanga puis dans la mise en place d’une Aire Protégée Mangabe dans la région Alaotra Mangoro. Il apporte son expertise sur les activités de surveillance et les processus de mise en place de la Nouvelle Aire Protégée de Beampingaratsy

tojonirina_nambinina_randriarisoa.jpg
Superviseur Aménagement du Territoire / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Tojonirina Nambinina Randriarisoa

Titulaire d'un Master 2 en Sécurisation Foncière et Aménagement du Territoire, de l’école Supérieur polytechnique d’Antananarivo et d’une maîtrise en Mathématique Informatique, de la Faculté des sciences Fianarantsoa, il apporte toute son expertise sur les activités d’aménagement du territoire et assure également l’appui aux collectivités locales dans la mise en place des Schémas d’Aménagement locaux.

marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
id_photo_2018.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires, AgroParisTech, Engref et SupAgro Expert, il est expert en travaux de télédétection, pédologie, foresterie, agronomie et géomorphologie et de modélisation sur les projets liés à la forêt et à l'agriculture, développement d’outils innovants, publications scientifiques, études de mesure d’impact

En voir +
img_3505.jpg
Co-Directeur

Matthieu Tiberghien

Diplômé d'une Maîtrise de Gestion de l'Université Paris–Dauphine et d'un Master "Social Policies and Planning in developing Countries" de la London School of Economics, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets d’énergie renouvelables et REDD+, en ingénierie technique et business development, levée de fonds et management des ressources humaines

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
jessica_fournier.jpg
Chargée de mission / Agriculture & Marché / Madagascar

Jessica Fournier

Diplômée Ingénieur Agronome spécialisée en production tropicale et Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA-Lyon, elle apporte son expertise sur le développement de filières agricoles dans le sud de Madagascar et intervient sur des projets de gestion des ressources naturelles et développement territorial

En voir +
rasolonirina_jocelyne.png
Responsable Administration-Finances / Madagascar

Jocelyne Rasolonirina

Titulaire d’un diplôme de C2 de maîtrise en gestion, option Finances et Comptabilité de l'Université de Toliara, Jocelyne dispose d’une dizaine d’années d’expériences en tant qu’Assistante Administrative et Financière, acquises essentiellement auprès de CARE International dans la région Anosy. Jocelyne apporte sa rigueur et son sens pratique au Projet TALAKY.