FANAMBY - Study of carbon sequestration potential for the feasibility of a carbon project in the New Protected Area of Loky Manambato

Start
January 2018
End
February 2018
Project cost
30 000 €
Role in the project
Experts carbone et certification

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Forest Market

Sectors

NTFPs Vanilla

Partners

CONFIDENTIAL · Fanamby

Main goals

As part of the management of its New Protected Areas (NAP), Fanamby has created a GIE (Groupement d’Intérêt Économique) Sahanala, which brings together within the same platform producers engaged in organic farming, private operators concerned about the environment and fair trade and associations convinced by their participatory conservation approach. In addition, the customer who buys Malagasy vanilla from GIE, wants to offset its carbon emissions, by directly financing the implementation of carbon projects in the NAP of his partner Fanamby.

Specific objectives

  • Analyze the activities of communities living on the outskirts of the NAP and the impact of NAP and GIE activities on these activities to evaluate ex-ante the effectiveness of the carbon project
  • Carry out the feasibility study of the carbon certification following the methodological framework of the client and participate in the training of the team for the implementation of the project

Beneficiaries

The GIE Sahanala
The Fanamby association
The customer
Producers and inhabitants of the Protected Area

Results

R1. Project Proposal and Feasibility Study on carbon calculation
R2. A report on the socio-economic baseline and presenting the social progress plan accompanied by a monitoring methodology

Activities

A1. A first phase of study of the documentation available
A2. A field mission at the beginning of the project carried out by the 3 experts of the team, for the socio-economic component and for the carbon recovery component
A3. Carbon accounting (bibliography on carbon stocks, analysis of deforestation if necessary, calculation of potential carbon benefits, ...)
A4. Following the submission of the Project Concept Note and the discussions on the inclusion of the activities identified as being of interest for the carbon valorization, the information gathered during the mission will be synthesized for the drafting of the Project Proposal
A5. On the basis of the results of the mission, an analysis of the impact of local communities and activities of Fanamby (and GIE) will be carried out

Related people

ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Forestry engineer, specialized on "Ecosystem and Biodiversity" and graduated from ESSA (Madagascar), she joined the team with her skills in biodiversity conservation, forest management and natural resources management. With her experience in assessing threats to protected areas, TNRM (Transfer of Natural Resources Management) and community support in conservation, she contributes to the implementation of different projects.

marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
tovo.jpg
Country representative in Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

With a degree in science - coupled with a background in administration and environmental economics - he has over twenty-five years of experience in sustainable development in a variety of fields: protected areas management, environmental management (planning, information system, environmental impact assessments), quality management at the National Office for the Environment, natural resource management, carbone finance

See more

FANAMBY - Etude du potentiel de séquestration de carbone pour la faisabilité d’un projet carbone dans la Nouvelle Aire Protégée de la Loky Manambato

Début
janvier 2018
Fin
février 2018
Coût de l’action
30 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Experts carbone et certification

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Forêt Marché

Filières

PFNL Vanille

Partenaires

CONFIDENTIEL · Fanamby

Objectifs principaux

Dans le cadre de la gestion de ses Nouvelles Aires Protégées (NAP), Fanamby a créé un GIE (Groupement d’Intérêt Économique) Sahanala, qui réunit au sein d’une même plateforme des producteurs engagés dans l’agriculture biologique, des opérateurs privés soucieux de l’environnement et du commerce équitable ainsi que des associations convaincues par leur démarche de conservation participative. De plus, le client qui se fourni en vanille malgache auprès du GIE, souhaite compenser ses émissions en carbone, en finançant directement la mise en œuvre de projets carbone au sein des NAP de son partenaire Fanamby.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Analyser les activités des communautés vivant en périphérie de la NAP et l’impact des activités de la NAP et du GIE sur ces activités pour évaluer ex-ante l’efficacité du projet carbone
  • Effectuer l’étude de faisabilité de la certification carbone en suivant le cadre méthodologique du client et participer à la formation de l’équipe pour la mise en œuvre du projet
  • Evaluer les impacts de la filière certifiée vanille

Bénéficiaires

Le GIE Sahanala
L'association Fanamby
Le client
Les producteurs et habitants de l'Aire Protégée

Résultats

R1. Le Project Proposal et l’étude de faisabilité sur la valorisation carbone associée
R2. Un rapport sur l’état de référence socio-économique et présentant le plan de progrès social accompagné d’une méthodologie de suivi

Activités

A1. Une première phase d’étude de la documentation
A2. Une mission de terrain en début de projet effectuée par les 3 experts de l’équipe, pour la composante socio-économique et pour la composante de valorisation carbone
A3. Comptabilisation carbone (bibliographie sur les stocks de carbone, analyse de la déforestation le cas échéant, calcul des bénéfices carbone potentiels, …)
A4. Suite à la soumission de la Project Concept Note et aux discussions sur l’inclusion des activités identifiées comme présentant un intérêt pour la valorisation carbone, les informations récoltées pendant la mission seront synthétisées pour la rédaction du Project Proposal
A5. Sur la base des résultats de la mission, une analyse de l’impact des communautés locales et des activités de Fanamby (et du GIE) sera effectuée

Personnes associées

ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Ingénieur forestier de formation, dans le parcours “Écosystème et Biodiversité” et diplômée de l’ESSA (Madagascar), elle rejoint l'équipe avec ses compétences en conservation de la biodiversité, aménagement forestier et gestion des ressources naturelles. Avec ses expériences dans l'évaluation des menaces sur les aires protégées, les TGRN (Transfert de Gestion des Ressources Naturelles) et l'appui des communautés dans la conservation, elle contribue à la mise en œuvre de différents projets.

marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
tovo.jpg
Représentant à Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

De formation scientifique - doublée d’une formation en administration et en économie de l’environnement - il dispose de plus de 25 années d’expériences dans le développement durable dans des domaines variés: gestion d’aires protégées, gestion de l’environnement (planification, système d’information, étude d’impacts), gestion de la qualité à l’office National pour l’Environnement, la gestion des ressources naturelles, le financement carbone

En voir +