IVOMASSE - Detailed technical studies for the construction of decentralized production plants using renewable energies in Côte d'Ivoire, in particular biomass plants

Start
August 2020
End
August 2023
Project cost
146 000 €
Role in the project
Biomass and value chain expertise

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Spatial Planning Bioenergy Climate Forest Market Remote sensing

Sectors

Cocoa Cashew Cotton Hevea Palm oil Rice

Main goals

Identify and quantify biomass deposits in Côte d'Ivoire by collecting all the information available from institutions, professional bodies, as well as from technical and financial partners, NGOs and relevant international organizations on national production of agricultural materials . Evaluate the impacts related to climate change, and to market variations on the availability of these deposits.

Specific objectives

OS1. Definition of the potential of renewable energies
OS2. Identification of biomass and transport resources in biomass feasibility studies
OS3. Participation in the validation process of zones/sites and pre-feasibility
OS4. Identification of power plant installation sites
OS5. Training of counterparts in resource identification
OS6. Support for DGE and CI ENERGIE during consultation with operators

Results

R1. The deposits of biomass resources are identified
R2. The sites of the power plants are identified and the selection criteria are proposed
R3. Each site selected (5) is subject to a pre-feasibility and summary feasibility study, including the environmental and social impact study, the economic and financial analysis and the technical elements allowing constitute the technical part of a tender dossier for the selection of IPP
R4. The Focal Point for the project benefits from technical and methodological support during the consultation phase of the project promoters and possible negotiations, for each of the projects on the selected sites (5)
R5. The counterparts master the methodologies and know-how of implementation

Activities

A1. Assessment of local biomass deposits, identification of owners and qualification of infrastructure in terms of state of conservation and passage capacity (size- vehicle tonnage)
A2. Identification and description of probable sites (target of 15 sites) for the installation of power plants
A3. Plots of supply chains and analysis of biomass transport costs and conditions inventory of transport infrastructure between the biomass deposit and the electricity production site
A4. Assessment of major environmental impacts and identification of land likely to accommodate a power plant and orientation proposals to mitigate negative social and environmental impacts
A5. Evaluation of the calorific potential of the identified potential biomasses
A6. Validation of zones / sites and pre-feasibility by analyzing technical and economic information concerning biomass resources and their sustainability, major environmental and social impacts, as well as land availability
A7. Training of counterparts (DGE and CI ENERGIE executives) for the transfer of methodologies and know-how implemented, in particular by associating the counterparts in activities in the field

Related people

leo_godard.jpg
Value chain project manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Léo Godard

Agronomist with a degree from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT), he works on the analysis of agroindustrial projects and provide consultancy for promoters and investors of agro value chains. He also provides technical assistance and consultancy for small to large scale agricultural to switch to organic or regenerative practices

See more
image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Associate Expert

Soungari Sekongo

Engineer in Tropical Agronomy from the CIED, option "plant production", he brings his expertise in agricultural markets analysis, advising-supporting actors, vegetable production and supporting professional agricultural organizations (management, capacity building)

See more
tio.jpg
Project Officer GIS and remote sensing in Côte d'Ivoire

Tiodionwa Ouattara

Holder of a Master of Remote Sensing and Geographical Information Systems for the Development and Management of Lands and Ecosystems, Tiodionwa joined the team of Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire in December 2016. He is currently pursuing a thesis dedicated to monitoring (agro)forest dynamics within the framework of the Mé REDD + Project (PRM).

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more
julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more

IVOMASSE - Etudes techniques détaillées pour la réalisation de centrales de production décentralisées par énergies renouvelables en Côte d'Ivoire notamment des centrales à biomasse

Début
août 2020
Fin
août 2023
Coût de l’action
146 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise filière, biomasse

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Aménagement du Territoire Bio-énergie Climat Forêt Marché Télédétection

Filières

Cacao Cajou/Anacarde Coton Hévéa Huile de palme Riz

Objectifs principaux

Identifier et quantifier les gisements de biomasse en Côte d'Ivoire par la collecte de toutes les informations disponibles auprès des institutions, des organismes professionnels, ainsi qu’auprès de partenaires techniques et financiers, ONG et organisations internationales pertinentes sur les productions nationales des matières agricoles. Évaluer les impacts liés au changement climatique, et aux variations de marché sur la disponibilité de ces gisements.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Définition du potentiel des énergies renouvelables
OS2. Identification des ressources biomasse et transport dans les études faisabilité biomasse
OS3. Participation au processus de validation des zones/sites et préfaisabilité
OS4. Identification des sites d’implantation des centrales
OS5. Formation des homologues à l’identification des ressources
OS6. Appui à DGE et CI ENERGIE pendant consultation des opérateurs

Résultats

R1. Les gisements des ressources de biomasse sont identifiés
R2. Les sites d'implantation des centrales sont identifiés et les critères de choix sont proposés
R3. Chaque site retenu (5) fait l'objet d'une étude de préfaisabilité, de faisabilité sommaire, incluant l'étude d'impact environnemental et sociale, l'analyse économique et financière et les éléments techniques permettant de constituer la partie technique d'un dossier d'appel d'offres pour la sélection d'IPP
R4. Le Point focal pour le projet bénéficie d'un appui technique et méthodologique pendant la phase de consultation des porteurs de projet et les négociations éventuelles, pour chacun des projets sur les sites retenus (5)
R5. Les homologues maîtrisent les méthodologies et les savoir-faire de mise en œuvre

Activités

A1. Evaluation des gisements de biomasse locaux, identification des détenteurs et de la qualification les infrastructures en termes d’état de conservation et de capacité de passage (taille- tonnage véhicule)
A2. Identification et description de sites probables (objectif de 15 sites) pour l’implantation de centrales
A3. Tracées des filières d’approvisionnement et analyse des coûts et conditions de transport de la biomasse inventaire des infrastructures de transport entre le gisement de biomasse et le site de production électrique
A4. Evaluation des impacts environnementaux majeurs et le repérage des terrains susceptibles d’accueillir une centrale et propositions d’orientation pour atténuer les impacts sociaux et environnementaux négatifs
A5. Evaluation du potentiel calorifique des biomasses potentielles identifiées
A6. Validation des zones/sites et préfaisabilité par l'analyse des informations techniques et économiques qui concernent la ressources biomasse et sa durabilité, les impacts environnementaux et sociaux majeurs, ainsi que les disponibilités de terrains
A7. Formation des homologues (Cadres de la DGE et de CI ENERGIE) pour le transfert des méthodologies et du savoir-faire mis en œuvre, notamment en associant les homologues aux activités sur le terrain

Personnes associées

leo_godard.jpg
Agronome chargé de missions filières / Agriculture & Marché / France

Léo Godard

Ingénieur agronome diplômé de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP-ENSAT), il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse et le conseil pour le montage et l'investissement de projets agro-industriels (plantation, transformation), ainsi que l'accompagnement technique à la transition vers l'agriculture biologique pour des projets agricoles de petite, moyenne et grande échelle

En voir +
image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +
photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Expert associé

Soungari Sekongo

Diplômé du CIED en tant qu'ingénieur en agronomie tropicale option production végétale, il apporte son expertise sur l'analyse des filières agricoles, l’appui-conseil aux acteurs, la production végétale et l'appui aux organisations professionnelles agricoles (gestion, renforcement des capacités)

En voir +
tio.jpg
Chargé de mission SIG et Télédétection en Côte d'Ivoire

Tiodionwa Abdoulaye Ouattara

Titulaire d’un Master de Télédétection et Systèmes d'Information Géographique pour l'Aménagement et la Gestion des Terres et des Ecosystèmes, Tiodionwa a intégré l'équipe de Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en décembre 2016. Il poursuit actuellement une thèse dédiée au suivi des dynamiques (agro)forestières dans le cadre du Projet REDD+ de la Mé (PRM)

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Ingénieur Agronome issu de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT - spécialité en qualité de l’environnement et gestion des ressources), Benjamin est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire. Il assure également la coordination directe des projets CERTIBIO et ELECTRICI.

En voir +
julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +