KARIFOYA - Evaluation of an improved stoves promotion project in the shea sector in Burkina Faso

Start
January 2019
End
April 2019
Project cost
5 000 €
Role in the project
Bioenergy expert

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Bioenergy Climate Market

Sectors

Shea

Partners

CONFIDENTIAL

Main goals

Evaluate the degree of adoption and effectiveness of improved stove production techniques promoted by the partner to 3,900 women in Burkina Faso between 2016 and 2018

Specific objectives

  • Analyze the results of the training provided by the partner in terms of dissemination capacity (replication of the techniques promoted, construction, use...) and improvement of the economic and health conditions of the users (economic gains, time savings, suppression of smoke, etc.)
  • The efficiency of the improved stoves built by the beneficiaries will also be analyzed in terms of their durability and their energy performance (wood consumption, cooking time, etc.).

Beneficiaries

The study will enable the partner to capitalize on its training project for the benefit of the shea sector in Burkina Faso and 3,900 Burkinabe women

Results

At the end of the service, the final report will allow the partner to have a complete study to understand the success factors of its program, to evaluate its main results and the impacts of the project on the shea sector.

Activities

A1. Establishment of a reference scenario which will analyze the actions implemented by the partner within the framework of its program in order to clearly identify success factors and possible obstacles. It will be established on the basis of literature and initial exchanges with the beneficiaries
A2. Creation of survey questionnaires and test criteria: the forms will be defined according to the data to be collected, the situation analysis and the exchanges with the beneficiaries
A3. Realization of field surveys: data will be collected on a representative sample of nearly 200 women, divided equally into three intervention zones: Diebougou / Dano, Leo and Orodara
A4. Realization of energy tests: energy performance tests will be carried out on control sample stoves, within a subsample
A5. Data Processing and analysis for final report formulation

Related people

sacla_aide_2.png
Project Officer

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Design & Mechanical Engineer, specialised in "Energy and industrial technician in mechanical production" from the Ecole Polytechnique of Abomey Calavi (EPAC) in Benin, he brings his expertise in renewable energy including biomass energy recovery and industrial process

See more
ida.png
Project officer

Ida Drabo

Graduated as Design Engineer in Agricultural Extension at the University Nazi Boni Bobo Dioulasso-Burkina Faso, she brings her expertise in supporting producers in the adoption of innovative technologies. In particular the support and the accompaniment of the actors of the sector in the marketing of shea on the national and international level

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project officer

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
julia_artigos.jpg
Energy project manager

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more

KARIFOYA - Évaluation des résultats du projet de promotion de foyers améliorés dans la filière karité au Burkina Faso

Début
janvier 2019
Fin
avril 2019
Coût de l’action
5 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expert bioénergie

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Bio-énergie Climat Marché

Filières

Karité

Partenaires

CONFIDENTIEL

Objectifs principaux

Evaluer le degré d’adoption et l’efficacité des techniques de production de foyers améliorés promues par le partenaire auprès de 3900 femmes au Burkina Faso entre 2016 et 2018

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Analyser les résultats de la formation portée par le prestataire en termes de capacité de diffusion (réplication des techniques promues, consytruction, utilisation...) et d’amélioration des conditions économiques et sanitaires des utilisatrices (gains économique, gains de temps, suppression de fumées, etc.)
  • L’efficacité des foyers améliorés construits par les bénéficiaires sera aussi analysée au regard de leur durabilité et de leur performance énergétique (consommation de bois, temps de cuisson, etc.).

Bénéficiaires

L’étude permettra au partenaire de capitaliser sur son projet de formation au bénéfice de la filière karité au Burkina Faso et de 3900 femmes burkinabés

Résultats

En fin de prestation, le rapport final permettra au commanditaire de disposer d’une étude complète permettant de comprendre les facteurs de succès de son programme, d’en évaluer ses principaux résultats et les impacts du projet sur la filière karité

Activités

A1. Établissement d’un scenario de référence qui s’attachera à analyser les actions mises en place par le partenaire dans le cadre de son programme afin de bien cerner les facteurs de succès et les freins éventuels. Il sera établi sur la base de la littérature et de premiers échanges avec les bénéficiaires
A2. Création des questionnaires d’enquêtes et critères de tests: les formulaires seront définis en fonction des données à collecter, de l’analyse de la situation et des échanges avec les bénéficiaires
A3. Réalisation des enquêtes terrain: les données seront collectées sur un échantillon représentatif de près de 200 femmes, réparties équitablement dans trois zones d’intervention: Diebougou/Dano, Leo et Orodara
A4. Réalisation des tests énergétiques: des tests de performances énergétiques seront réalisés sur des foyers témoins, au sein d’un sous-échantillon
A5. Traitement et analyse des données pour la formulation du rapport final

Personnes associées

sacla_aide_2.png
Chargé de mission

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Diplômé en Ingénieur de conception en Génie Mécanique, Option Energétique et technicien industriel en fabrication mécanique de l'Ecole Polytechnique d’Abomey Calavi - EPAC (Bénin), il apporte son expertise dans les énergies renouvelables et notamment la valorisation énergétique de la biomasse et le procédé industriel

En voir +
ida.png
Chargée de mission

Ida Drabo

Diplômée en Ingénieur de conception en Vulgarisation Agricole à l’Université Nazi Boni de Bobo Dioulasso- Burkina Faso, elle apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs dans l’adoption des technologies innovantes. Notamment l’appui et l’accompagnement des acteurs de la filière dans la commercialisation du karité au niveau national et international

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de mission

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets énergie

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +