MANGOWA - Developing the Sectoral part of an Investment Profile for the Mango Sector in ECOWAS

Start
July 2020
End
December 2020
Project cost
10 000 USD
Role in the project
Market analysis expertise

Countries

Benin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali Senegal Togo

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Market

Sectors

Mango

Main goals

This mission concerns the development of the sector-specific chapters for the ECOWAS Investment Profile on the Mango Sector which will be used by ECOWAS Commission, regional business associations and selected member states to promote investments

Specific objectives

The Regional West Africa Competitiveness (WACOMP) will support ECOWAS in the development of sector investment profiles covering selected Member States, in particular for the mango value chain. The objective of these Investment Profiles is two-fold:
SO1. to assist foreign investors, in terms of understanding the investment climate, receiving the latest research and market insights, and identifying investment opportunities in the sector; and
SO2. to enable public and private sector representatives to promote investment in selected value chains, particularly in the ECOWAS countries presenting a high potential for increased value-chain driven investment that can contribute to improved participation in regional and international trade and value chains

Activities

A1. Develop, draft and submit to ITC, the ECOWAS Mango Chapter of Part 1 of the Profile, which will also involve producing a detailed outline for the chapter that will be validated with ITC
A2. Prepare, and submit to ITC for validation, a draft template and guidelines for the national consultants, which will guide them in the sectoral assessment and the production of the country reports
A3. Jointly with the Trade Facilitation and Policy for Business section (TFPB), undertake two inception meetings (most probably via video-conference) involving respectively the ECOWAS and the national consultants to discuss about the objectives, scope, process and tasks for developing the Investment
A4. Provide guidance to the national consultants in relation to data collection, stakeholder meetings, and drafting of country reports, also ensuring with them that the contents developed are according to the required standard and that all the pertinent information is being addressed as per the initially shared draft template
A5. Based on the final drafts of the country reports provided by the national consultants and upon validation of the main findings with the relevant national authorities in coordination with ECOWAS, draft, and submit to ITC, the Country Chapters’ sectoral part of the Investment Profile (together with the ECOWAS Chapter on Mango as per activity 1 above) – capturing the national value chain analysis of focus countries and the recommendations for very precise and most bankable investment opportunities in the mango sector
A6. If required, after having incorporated the feedback from ITC and ECOWAS, present, potentially jointly with the international consultant, the revised version of the developed draft Profile at a public-private dialogue (PPD)/focus group discussion with ECOWAS and potentially selected government bodies, Investment Promotion Agencies, and possibly investors and other stakeholders
A7. Finalize the sectoral parts of the Profile based on the final inputs received from ECOWAS, ITC, and other stakeholders, including those having participated in the PPD/focus group discussion
A8. Produce an Investment Profile Snapshot (12-15 pages) jointly with the international consultant, which will be used as a brochure for potential investors, and a presentation on the Sectoral Parts of the Profile for the use of ECOWAS, Investment Promotion Agencies and any other relevant stakeholders
A9. Produce, and submit to ITC, a short end-of-assignment report on the different deliverables, highlighting achievements, possible challenges, lessons learnt, recommendations and proposed follow-up actions including in the form of technical assistance

Related people

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more

MANGOWA - Développer la partie analyse sectorielle d'un profil d'investissement pour le secteur de la mangue dans la CEDEAO

Début
juillet 2020
Fin
décembre 2020
Coût de l’action
10 000 USD
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise analyse de marché

Pays

Bénin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali Sénégal Togo

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Marché

Filières

Mangue

Objectifs principaux

Cette mission concerne le développement des chapitres spécifiques au secteur pour le profil d'investissement de la CEDEAO sur le secteur de la mangue qui seront utilisés par la Commission de la CEDEAO, les associations professionnelles régionales et certains États membres pour promouvoir les investissements

Objectifs spécifiques

Le Regional West Africa Competitiveness (WACOMP) soutiendra la CEDEAO dans l'élaboration de profils d'investissement sectoriel couvrant certains États membres, notamment pour la chaîne de valeur mangue. L'objectif de ces profils d'investissement est double:
OS1. pour aider les investisseurs étrangers, en termes de compréhension du climat d'investissement, de recevoir les dernières recherches et informations sur le marché, et l'identification des opportunités d'investissement dans le secteur; et
OS2. pour permettre aux représentants des secteurs public et privé de promouvoir les investissements dans certaines chaînes de valeur, en particulier dans les pays de la CEDEAO présentant un fort potentiel pour une augmentation des investissements axés sur la chaîne de valeur qui peut contribuer à une meilleure participation au commerce régional et international et à la chaine de valeur

Activités

A1. Développer, rédiger et soumettre à l'ITC, le chapitre sur la mangue de la CEDEAO de la partie 1 du profil, ce qui impliquera également de produire un plan détaillé pour le chapitre qui sera validé avec l'ITC
A2. Préparer, et soumettre à ITC pour validation, un projet de modèle et des directives pour les consultants nationaux, qui les guideront dans l'évaluation sectorielle et la production des rapports nationaux
A3. Conjointement avec le Trade Facilitation and Policy for Business section, entreprendre deux réunions de lancement (très probablement par vidéoconférence) impliquant respectivement la CEDEAO et les consultants nationaux pour discuter des objectifs, de la portée, du processus et des tâches de développement de l'investissement
A4. Fournir des conseils aux consultants nationaux concernant la collecte de données, les réunions des parties prenantes et la rédaction des rapports nationaux, en s'assurant également avec eux que le contenu développé est conforme à la norme requise et que toutes les informations pertinentes sont traitées comme selon le modèle de brouillon initialement partagé
A5. Sur la base des projets finaux des rapports nationaux fournis par les consultants nationaux et après validation des principales conclusions avec les autorités nationales compétentes en coordination avec la CEDEAO, rédiger et soumettre à l'ITC, la partie sectorielle des chapitres nationaux le profil d'investissement (avec le chapitre de la CEDEAO sur la mangue selon l'activité 1 ci-dessus) - capturant l'analyse de la chaîne de valeur nationale des pays cibles et les recommandations pour des opportunités d'investissement très précises et les plus bancables dans le secteur de la mangue
A6. Si nécessaire, après avoir intégré les commentaires de l'ITC et de la CEDEAO, présenter, éventuellement conjointement avec le consultant international, la version révisée du projet de profil élaboré lors d'un dialogue public-privé (PPP) / discussion de groupe avec la CEDEAO et éventuellement des organismes gouvernementaux sélectionnés, des agences de promotion des investissements et éventuellement des investisseurs et d'autres parties prenantes
A7. Finaliser les parties sectorielles du profil sur la base des contributions finales reçues de la CEDEAO, de l'ITC et d'autres parties prenantes, y compris celles ayant participé au PPD / discussion du groupe de discussion
A8. Produire un instantané du profil d'investissement (12-15 pages) conjointement avec l'IC, qui sera utilisé comme une brochure pour les investisseurs potentiels, et une présentation sur les parties sectorielles du profil pour l'utilisation de la CEDEAO, l'investissement Agences de promotion et toutes autres parties prenantes concernées
A9. Produire et soumettre à ITC un bref rapport de fin de mission sur les différents produits livrables, mettant en évidence les réalisations, les défis possibles, les enseignements tirés, les recommandations et les actions de suivi proposées, y compris sous la forme d'une assistance technique

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +