NEUTRACA - Carbon footprint of the PROTEGE project and recommandations development for neutralization prospects

Start
September 2022
End
August 2023
Project cost
44 800 €
Role in the project
Carbon expertise

Countries

France

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Agroecology Spatial Planning Biodiversity Climate Forest

Sectors

Wood energy Coconut Vanilla

Main goals

The 4th Steering Committee of the PROTEGE project (May 2022) requested that the project carry out an assessment of the contributions of the project to the positive or negative impact factors of carbon emissions by category of activity according to the sectors covered by PROTEGE (agriculture, forestry, fisheries, aquaculture, food systems, wetlands, etc.). The objective is to identify the emission or sequestration of carbon in order to have recommendations for in setting interventions requested by the territories

Specific objectives

SO1. Carry out the project's carbon footprint (travel, impact of equipment installed and activities carried out in the field, etc.)
SO2. The carbon footprint should also include the project's contributions to carbon sequestration (conversion of agricultural land to agroforestry, increase of organic matter levels, diversification in aquaculture, restoration of watersheds, invasive alien species control, etc.)
SO3. Provide recommendations for intervention (with details of the funding required) so that the project can support/strengthen its support for actions contributing to moving towards carbon neutrality of the territories, from analysis of project activities

image_2022_10_19t13_16_53_867z.png
One of the farms of the network

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
copie_de_p6162181.jpg
Project officer / Forest & REDD + / France

Frédérique Montfort

Doctor of AgroParisTech in environmental sciences, she brings her expertise on the biodiversity component and on the degradation and restoration of forest landscapes. She joined N’Lab de Nitidæ in 2017 to carry out her thesis with the association, UR Forêts & Sociétés and UMR Tétis on the degradation and restoration of Miombo forest landscapes in Mozambique. She is currently conducting studies and technical support (capacity building, technology transfer) on various projects of the association

See more
thomas_fabre.jpg
Mission officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Thomas Fabre

After graduating from a general business school (HEC Paris) and a master's degree in ecological philosophy, he specialised in environmental management at AgroParisTech. He worked for an econometric and statistical analysis company, as well as in a strategy consulting firm specialised in the Africa and Middle East. He has carried out missions concerning agricultural markets in sub-Saharan Africa and has conducted surveys in Tanzania on the development of mobile payments in an agricultural sector. He supports the research department on the traceability of cocoa in Cameroon and works on the carbon footprint of a company in the vanilla industry in Madagascar

clovis_grinand.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in Functional Ecology and Agronomic Sciences (SupAgro, IRD and CIRAD) and specialized in Localized Information Systems for Spatial Planning (AgroParisTech), he is an expert in land use change monitoring using remote sensing, digital soil mapping and spatial modeling applied to forestry, agronomy and landscape ecology. He is the author of numerous international scientific publications.

See more

NEUTRACA - Bilan Carbone du projet PROTEGE et élaboration de recommandations pour ses perspectives de neutralisation

Début
septembre 2022
Fin
août 2023
Coût de l’action
44 800 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise carbone

Pays

France

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Agroécologie Aménagement du Territoire Biodiversité Climat Forêt

Filières

Bois énergie Noix de coco Vanille

Objectifs principaux

Le 4ème Comité de Pilotage du projet PROTEGE (mai 2022) a demandé que le projet réalise un bilan des contributions du projet aux facteurs d’impact positif ou négatif d'émissions de carbone par catégorie d’activité selon les secteurs couverts par PROTEGE (agriculture, forêt, pêche, aquaculture, systèmes alimentaires, zones humides, etc.). L’objectif est d’identifier l'émission ou la séquestration de carbone afin d’avoir des recommandations d’interventions d'in setting voulue par les territoires

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Réaliser le bilan carbone du projet (déplacements, impact des équipements mis en place et des activités réalisées sur le terrain, etc.).
OS2. Le bilan carbone devra également inclure les contributions du projet à la séquestration carbone (conversion d’espaces agricoles en agroforesterie, augmentation des taux de matières organiques, diversification en aquaculture, restauration de bassins versants, lutte contre les espèces exotiques envahissantes, etc.)
OS3. Fournir des recommandations d’intervention (avec le détail des financements requis) pour que le projet puisse soutenir/renforcer son soutien à des actions contribuant à tendre vers la neutralité carbone des territoires, à partir de l’analyse des activités du projet

image_2022_10_19t13_16_53_867z.png
Une des fermes du réseau

Personnes associées

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
copie_de_p6162181.jpg
Chargée de mission / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Frédérique Montfort

Docteure d’AgroParisTech en sciences de l’environnement, elle apporte son expertise sur la composante biodiversité et sur la dégradation et la restauration des paysages forestiers. Elle a rejoint le N’Lab de Nitidæ en 2017 pour réaliser sa thèse avec l’association, l’UR Forêts & Sociétés et l’UMR Tétis sur la dégradation et la restauration des paysages forestiers du Miombo au Mozambique. Elle mène actuellement des études et appuis techniques (renforcement de capacités, transfert de technologies) sur différents projets de l’association

En voir +
thomas_fabre.jpg
Chargé de missions / Agriculture & Marché / France

Thomas Fabre

Issu d’une école de commerce généraliste (HEC Paris) et d’un master en philosophie écologique, il s’est spécialisé en gestion de l’environnement à AgroParisTech. Il dispose d’une expérience dans une entreprise d’analyse économétrique et statistique, ainsi que dans un cabinet de conseil en stratégie spécialisé dans les régions Afrique & Moyen-Orient. Il a effectué des missions concernant les marchés agricoles d'Afrique subsaharienne et a mené des enquêtes en Tanzanie sur le développement du paiement mobile dans une filière agricole. Il appuie le pôle étude sur la traçabilité du cacao au Cameroun et travaille sur le bilan carbone d’une entreprise de la filière vanille à Madagascar

clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +