PARC MIKEA - Study on historical deforestation and scenarios of future deforestation

Start
April 2016
End
July 2016
Project cost
34 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Organic Agriculture Climate Forest REDD+ Remote sensing

Main goals

In response to a significant loss in forest cover experienced by the Atsimo Andrefana Region (Madagascar), particularly around Mikea National Park, the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) is implementing a project to promote organic cotton in order to develop an alternative livelihood method to slash-and-burn agriculture for rural populations.

In this context, WCS asked Nitidæ (ex-Etc Terra) and Biotope to conduct a study on historical deforestation around the park so as to create future deforestation scenarios based on reliable and spatialised data.

Specific objectives

  • Map the tracts of forest and deforestation plots from 1990 to 2015
  • Identify direct and indirect causes of deforestation and the impact of cotton on past and present dynamics
  • Produce various scenarios of future deforestation according to the introduction of alternative practices such as organic cotton production

Results

Results show deforestation rates that reached in 2015, 3.82%/year in and around the park which places this region among the highest rates of deforestation of the planet.

Traditionally, slash-and-burn agriculture has been the main cause of deforestation. However, currently the impact of fire on the forest is increasing and is emphasised by degradation due to (i) illegal but widespread exploitation of rosewood and ebony and (ii) creation of windfall by cyclones.

These fires are lit for a number of reasons: voluntarily for the easy acquisition of new land for agriculture or accidentally when harvesting non-timber forest products or grazing maintenance.

While cotton growing has historically been a direct cause of deforestation or indirect cause by the reinvestment of additional benefits in new land at the edge of the forest, it is now located in savannah areas near highways and Tulear. It is a significant source of income for producers reducing their dependence on slash-and-burn agriculture.

Possible scenarios of future deforestation (see figure below) were based on the result of consultations with local stakeholders (via focus groups) and shows that in the absence of intervention providing convincing alternatives and guaranteeing law enforcement, the integrity of the Mikéa National Park is seriously threatened. The latest can completely disappear by 2026 in the case of the most pessimistic scenario.

Activities

The methodology was based on the 1990-2015 analysis of satellite images (a similar approach to the one already published by the Lab) coupled with field surveys in order to identify and locate the different causes of deforestation and their potential future increases.

Potential scenarios of future deforestation

700_700_160803053234_scenarios_mikea.png

Related people

clovis_grinand.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in Functional Ecology and Agronomic Sciences (SupAgro, IRD and CIRAD) and specialized in Localized Information Systems for Spatial Planning (AgroParisTech), he is an expert in land use change monitoring using remote sensing, digital soil mapping and spatial modeling applied to forestry, agronomy and landscape ecology. He is the author of numerous international scientific publications.

See more
marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more

Le Lab

PARC MIKEA - Etude sur la déforestation historique et scénarios de déforestation future

Début
avril 2016
Fin
juillet 2016
Coût de l’action
34 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Biologique Climat Forêt REDD+ Télédétection

Objectifs principaux

Face à la forte régression de la couverture forestière que connait la Région Atsimo Andrefana (Madagascar), notamment aux alentours du Parc National de Mikea, Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) met en œuvre un projet de promotion de coton biologique afin de développer un mode de subsistance alternatif à la culture itinérante sur brûlis pour les populations riveraines.

Dans ce cadre, WCS a sollicité Etc Terra et Biotope pour mener une étude sur la déforestation historique aux alentours du parc afin d’alimenter les scénarios de déforestation future sur la base de données fiables et spatialisées.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Cartographier l’étendue de la forêt et les parcelles de déforestation sur une période allant de 1990 à 2015 ;
  • Identifier les causes directes et indirectes de déforestation et l'impact du coton sur les dynamiques passées et actuelles ;
  • Produire divers scénarios de déforestation future selon l'introduction de pratiques alternatives telles que la production de coton biologique.

Résultats

Les résultats montrent des taux de déforestation qui atteignaient en 2015 le niveau de 3.82 % / an dans et autour du parc, ce qui situe cette région parmi les taux de déforestation les plus importants de la planète.

Traditionnellement, l’agriculture sur abattis-brûlis constitue la principale cause de déforestation mais actuellement, l’impact des feux sur la forêt est en augmentation et est accentué par la dégradation due à (i) l’exploitation illégale mais répandue de palissandre et d'ébène et à (ii) la création de chablis par les cyclones.

Ces feux sont allumés pour plusieurs raisons : volontairement pour l’acquisition facile de nouvelles terres pour l’agriculture ou accidentellement lors de la récolte de produits forestiers non ligneux ou de l’entretien des pâturages.

Si la culture du coton a pu, par le passé, être une cause directe de déforestation ou indirecte par le réinvestissement des bénéfices additionnels dans de nouvelles terres agricoles à la lisière des forêts, elle est maintenant cantonnée aux zones de savanes à proximité des axes routiers et de la ville de Tuléar et constitue une source de revenus non négligeable pour les producteurs diminuant ainsi leur dépendance à l’agriculture sur abattis-brûlis.

Les potentiels scénarios de déforestation future (cf figure ci-dessous) ont été construits sur la base de consultations avec les parties prenantes locales (via focus groupes) et montrent qu’en l'absence d’intervention fournissant des alternatives convaincantes et garantissant l’application des Lois, l’intégrité du Parc National de Mikéa est gravement menacée, celui-ci pouvant intégralement disparaitre d'ici 2026 dans le cas du scénario le plus pessimiste.

Activités

La méthodologie s'est basée sur l'analyse 1990-2015 d’images satellites (méthode similaire à celle ayant déjà fait l'objet de publications du Lab') couplée à des enquêtes de terrain destinées à identifier et localiser les différentes causes de déforestation et leur éventuelle évolution future.

Les potentiels scénarios de déforestation future

700_700_160803053234_scenarios_mikea.png

Personnes associées

clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +
marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +