PERR-FH - Eco-Regional REDD+ Project - Rainforests of Madagascar

Start
March 2014
End
March 2015
Project cost
1 000 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Spatial Planning Forest REDD+ Remote sensing

Main goals

Like PHCF or Makira, various REDD+ projects (Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Degradation of forests) have been implemented in Madagascar for the last ten years over large areas from north to south.

The variety of carbon accounting methods deployed so far by these projects has led the various REDD + stakeholders of the country to committ in an eco-regional approach that harmonise those methods and bring together all REDD+ initiatives around a developed vision, at the scale of 4.5 million hectares of rainforests.

After actively participating in the drafting of the R-PP, a readiness plan for REDD+ validated by the Forest Carbon Partnership Facility (FCPF) in July 2014, this project allows Nitidæ (ex-Etc Terra) to continue the ongoing commitment in Madagascar, both locally and nationally.

Specific objectives

  • Facilitate the access of REDD + projects (current and future) to carbon markets
  • Contribute in the country's preparation for REDD+ by initiating the eco-regional approach by Eastern Rainforests. The Madagascar forest ecosystem has the greatest potential in terms of REDD+

Results

R1. Keep Madagascar among the most innovative countries in REDD+ projects. Indeed, despite major political crisis that took place in the country from 2009 to 2014, Madagascar is still one of the most advanced African countries in the field of REDD+. This is particularly true as regards to these methodological questions that are crucial to the mechanism's credibility.
R2. Contribute to the valorization of emission reductions (or carbon credits) generated at the eco-regional level by the various actors in the field.
Beyond the economies of scale that will be carried out thanks to this project, the PERR-FH has already allowed Madagascar to apply as a beneficiary country of the FCPF Carbon Fund.

Activities

A1. Preparation of the reference emission level according to VCS and FCPF methodological frameworks
A2. Mapping of carbon stocks (biomass and soil) based on a large field inventory campaign
A3. Update of the historical analysis of deforestation over the period 2005-2010-2013
A4. Projection of future deforestation and CO2 emissions associated with it
A5. Definition of an environmental and socio-economic reference state
A6. Development of carbon monitoring systems, deforestation factors and environmental and socio-economic impacts

Related people

id_photo_2018.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in "Information Systems for the Localized Management of the Territories", from AgroParisTech, Engref and SupAgro, he is expert in remote sensing, pedology, forestry, agronomy, geomophology and modeling on projects related to forestry and agriculture, development of innovative tools, scientific publications, impact measurement studies

See more
vaudry.jpg
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Romuald Vaudry

Forester and with a Master II in "Development and Land Planning" from the National Agronomic Institute Paris Grignon and University of Science Montpellier II (France). Currently our representative in Cote d'Ivoire, he brings his expertise in the design and implementation of multi-stakeholder territorial projects (REDD+, IWRM) as well as sustainable forest management and reforestation.

See more
0_1_.jpg
Project Officer

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Currently a PhD student, he holds a DEA of Physics, specialised in "geophysics, remote sensing and GIS" from the Faculty of Sciences of Antananarivo in Madagascar (IOGA). He brings his expertise to the impacts of deforestation, above-ground biomass mapping and scenario development of carbon emissions

See more

Le Lab

PERR-FH - Projet Eco-Regional REDD+ - Forêts Humides de Madagascar

Début
mars 2014
Fin
mars 2015
Coût de l’action
1 000 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Aménagement du Territoire Forêt REDD+ Télédétection

Objectifs principaux

A l'image du PHCF ou de Makira, plusieurs projets REDD+ (Réduction des Emissions issues de la Déforestation et de la Dégradation des forêts) sont mis en oeuvre à Madagascar depuis une dizaine d'années sur de vastes surfaces, du nord au sud du pays.

La diversité des méthodes de comptabilité carbone déployées jusque là par ces projets a conduit les diverses parties prenantes REDD+ du pays à s'engager dans une approche éco-régionale destinée à harmoniser ces méthodes et à réunir toutes les initiatives REDD+ autour d’une vision développée à l’échelle des 4,5 millions d’hectares de forêts humides du pays.

Après avoir activement participé à la rédaction de la R-PP, document national de préparation à la REDD+ validé par le Fonds de Partenariat pour le Carbone Forestier (FCPF) en juillet 2014, ce projet permet à Etc Terra de poursuivre son engagement à Madagascar, tant au niveau local que national.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Faciliter l’accès des projets REDD+ (actuels et futurs) aux marchés du carbone
  • Contribuer à la préparation du pays à la REDD+ en amorçant l'approche éco-régionale par les Forêts Humides de l'Est, l'écosystème forestier malgache présentant le plus grand potentiel en terme de REDD+.

Résultats

R1. Maintenir Madagascar parmi les pays les plus innovants en matière de la REDD+. En effet, malgré la crise politique majeure qui a sévi dans le pays de 2009 à 2014, Madagascar fait toujours partie des pays africains les plus avancés dans le domaine de la REDD+. C'est particulièrement vrai en ce qui concerne ces questions méthodologiques cruciales à la crédibilité de ce mécanisme
R2. Contribuer à la valorisation des réductions d'émissions (ou crédits carbone) générés à l'échelle de l'éco-région par les différents acteurs de terrain. Au-delà des économies d'échelle qui seront réalisées grâce à ce projet, le PERR-FH a par ailleurs déjà permis à Madagascar de poser sa candidature en tant que pays bénéficiaire du Fonds Carbone du FCPF.

Activités

A1. Elaboration du niveau d'émission de référence selon les cadres méthodologiques VCS et FCPF
A2. Cartographie des stocks de carbone (biomasse et sol) basée sur une vaste campagne d'inventaires de terrain
A3. Actualisation de l'analyse historique de la déforestation sur la période 2005-2010-2013
A4. Projection de la déforestation future et des émissions de CO2 associées
A5. Définition de l'état de référence environnemental et socio-économique
A6. Développement des systèmes de suivi du carbone, des facteurs de déforestation et des impacts environnementaux et socio-économiques

Personnes associées

clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +
0_1_.jpg
Chargé d'étude SIG et Télédétection & chargé d’étude comptabilité carbone

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Titulaire d'un Doctorat en Physique du Globe, de l’Environnement et de l’Énergie, il est également diplômé d'un DEA en physique (option géophysique, télédétection et SIG), de la Faculté des Sciences d’Antananarivo de l'Université de Madagascar, il apporte toute son expertise sur les impacts de la déforestation, la cartographie de la biomasse aérienne, l'élaboration de scénario des émissions de référence de CO2

En voir +