PROAGROVALOR - Support to Agrovalor craftspeople for sustainable spread of Agrovalor technologies within the framework of SolinAE - Innovative solutions for access to sustainable energy off-grid

Start
January 2020
End
November 2021
Project cost
146 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Agroprocessing Bioenergy Climate

Sectors

Cashew Shea Cassava

Partners

Agency for ecological transition - ADEME · AFD - French Development Agency · Chigata · Atelier de Soudure Industrielle Somtinda - ASIS

Main goals

The small agrifood industry often uses rudimentary, energy-intensive and polluting tools. The project is part of the current Agrovalor RCI project, which aims to distribute efficient equipment (pyrolysis ovens, bio-digesters, etc.) and adapted to the energy recovery of waste resulting from the processing of cashew nuts, cassava and shea nuts in local food processors in these sectors

Specific objectives

SO1. Design and market suitable technologies for the energy recovery of cashew shells and waste from the processing of cassava and shea
SO2. Strengthen local skills through the training of young technicians, the structuring of equipment supplier operators and the appropriation of results by a public body

Beneficiaries

  • 9 different industrial sites to install 5 pyrolysis ovens, 3 boilers, 2 dryers and 4 biodigesters
  • 4 groups of producers/processors
  • 2 Ivorian structures reinforced in the design, manufacture, marketing, and installation of agrovalor equipment for processing shea
  • the population made aware of the environmental and socio-economic issues addressed by these technologies

Results

R1. A reduction in carbon emissions (2,577,904 tonnes of CO2 avoided)
R2. A reduction in the pressure on the forest (826 tonnes of wood saved)
R3. Green fuel production (75 tonnes of coal produced)
R4. Valorization of fermentation juice (294 m3 treated cassava juice)
R5. A reduction in the externalities of the processing of shea (700 m3 of treated shea sludge)

Activities

A1. Installation of 5 pyrolysis ovens and training of staff for each beneficiary
A2. Valorization of organic shell charcoal
A3. The study, pilot tests, demonstration and capitalization of treatment and recovery solutions for shea and attiéké waste water, including biogas, composting, market gardening use, separation of components added value
A4. Environmental assessment and implementation of financing mechanisms adapted to women's groups
A5. Sensitization and capacity building of women's groups
A6. Study of opportunities for replicating professional training
A7. Support for the creation or strengthening of 2 operators to design, market, manufacture and install the equipment
A8. Monitoring / Evaluation
A9. Capitalization, communication

Related people

julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more
dorgeles.jpg
Head of Agrovalor Project / Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Mekeu Jules Dorgeles Gomeu

Holder of an engineering degree in management of mining, oil and energy activities, Dorgeles joined the Nitidæ team in 2016 and became Head of the Agrovalor project in January 2018. He brings his expertise in coordination, the implementation and monitoring of the activities of this project.

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste

Etienne Perrier

Having graduated from the Engineering School INSA of Lyon as an Engineer in Energy & Environment, option "Thermal systems engineering", Section "Top-level sport", he brings his expertise in renewable thermal systems implementation and analysis, in the food processing industry (shea and cashew), waste recycling and training of local experts

See more
sacla_aide_2.png
Project Officer / Energy / Burkina

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Design & Mechanical Engineer, specialised in "Energy and industrial technician in mechanical production" from the Ecole Polytechnique of Abomey Calavi (EPAC) in Benin, he brings his expertise in renewable energy including biomass energy recovery and industrial process

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more
esther_kossiwa_emefa_homawoo.jpg
Administrative and Financiary Assistant / Côte d'Ivoire

Esther Kossiwa Emefa Homawoo

Holder of a Superior Technician certificate obtained in Piger Côte d'Ivoire, she has 7 years of experience in management and accounting. She previously held the positions of accountant, accounting assistant and cashier saleswoman in companies and accounting firm. She joined the Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire team in February 2020 as an Accounting and Administrative Assistant based in Bouaké for the Agrovalor project

herve_abbo.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Hervé Abbo

Holder of a diploma in Energy Engineering and a master's degree in International Relations, he worked on improved stoves on behalf of organizations such as the Ministry of Energy and GIZ in Benin. Before joining the team, he worked as a Green Energy Project Manager (Recovery of biodegradable household waste into biofuels) for a Benin-French NGO

bakary_tanko_soro.jpg
Local technician/ Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Bakary Tanko Soro

He holds a boiler technician diploma. He worked at Sitab as well as Agefop. In June 2019, he joined the Agrovalor Project as an intern. In February 2020, he was hired as a Local Technician on the Agrovalor Bouaké project

marius_aka_dogo.jpg
Local Technical Assistant / Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Marius Aka Dogo

Holder of a Technician Certificate in Metallic Work, he joined Nitidæ in February 2020, as a Local Technical Assistant on the Agrovalor Project in Bouaké

arnaud_niesz.jpg
Project officer / Bioenergy & Waste / Benin

Arnaud Niesz

Energy and environment engineer gratuaded from the Institut national des sciences appliquées (INSA) Lyon, he works on subjects related to material and energy recovery of agricultural and agro-industrial bio-waste (in the cashew nut sector particularly).

dohomin_alain_yeo.jpg
Driver / Côte d'Ivoire

Dohomin Alain Yéo

Based in Bouaké, he is the driver-courier for the Agrovalor project

abel_degnimon_sogbegnon.jpg
Energy project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Abel Dègnimon Sogbegnon

He holds a Masters in Energy and Electrical Engineering (2IE, Ouagadougou) and a Masters in Science Physic (UAC, Benin). He has expertise in drying technologies, gasification/pyrolysis, energy recovery from waste (biomass), food processing and industrial electrical installations in the cashew, mango, rice and vegetable oils sectors (cotton, shea nut, soy) in West Africa. He works in close partnership with local manufacturing shops and entrepreneurs in a skills transfer approach

PROAGROVALOR - Appui aux artisans pour une diffusion durable des technologies Agrovalor dans le cadre de SolinAE - Solutions innovantes pour l’accès à l’énergie durable hors réseaux

Début
janvier 2020
Fin
novembre 2021
Coût de l’action
146 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agroprocessing Bio-énergie Climat

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Karité Manioc

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

La petite industrie agroalimentaire emploie souvent des outils rudimentaires, énergivores et polluants. Le projet s’inscrit dans le cadre du projet Agrovalor RCI en cours, qui vise à diffuser des équipements efficients (fours à pyrolyse, bio-digesteurs…) et adaptés à la valorisation énergétique des déchets issus de la transformation de l’anacarde, du manioc et du karité chez les transformateurs agroalimentaires locaux de ces filières

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Concevoir et commercialiser des technologies adaptées pour la valorisation énergétique des coques d’anacarde et des déchets issus de la transformation du manioc et du karité
OS2. Renforcer les compétences locales par la formation de jeunes techniciens, la structuration d’opérateurs équipementiers et l’appropriation des résultats par une institution publique

Bénéficiaires

  • 9 sites industriels différents pour installer 5 fours à pyrolyse, 3 chaudières, 2 séchoirs et 4 biodigesteurs
  • 4 groupements de producteurs/transformateurs
  • 2 structures ivoiriennes renforcées dans la conception, fabrication, commercialisation, et installation d’équipements agrovalor pour la transformation du karité
  • la population sensibilisée aux enjeux environnementaux et socioéconomiques adressés par ces technologies

Résultats

R1. Une baisse des émissions de carbone (2 577 904 tonnes CO2 évités)
R2. Une diminution de la pression sur la forêt (826 tonnes de bois économisé)
R3. Une production de combustible vert (75 tonnes de charbon produites)
R4. Une valorisation des jus de fermentation (294 m3 jus de manioc traités)
R5. Une réduction des externalités de la transformation du karité (700 m3 boues de traitement karité traités)

Activités

A1. Installation de 5 fours à pyrolyse et formation du personnel de chaque bénéficiaire
A2. Valorisation du bio charbon de coques
A3. L'étude, essais pilotes, démonstration et capitalisation de solutions de traitement et valorisation des eaux de rejet du karité et d'attiéké, dont le biogaz, le compostage, l'utilisation en maraîchage, la séparation de composants à valeur ajoutée
A4. Evaluation environnementale et mise en place de dispositifs de financement adaptés aux groupements de femmes
A5. Sensibilisation et renforcement de capacités des groupements de femmes
A6. Etude d’opportunités de réplication de la formation professionnelle
A7. Appui à la création ou au renforcement de 2 opérateurs pour concevoir, commercialiser, fabriquer et installer les équipements
A8. Suivi/Évaluation
A9. Capitalisation, communication

Personnes associées

julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +
dorgeles.jpg
Chef de Projet Agrovalor / Bioénergies & Déchets / Côte d'Ivoire

Mekeu Jules Dorgeles Gomeu

Titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur en management des activités minières, pétrolières et énergétiques, Dorgeles a rejoint l'équipe Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en 2016 et est devenu Chef du projet Agrovalor en janvier 2018. Il apporte son expertise dans la coordination, la mise en œuvre et le suivi des activités de ce projet

copie_de_copie_de_dsc03392.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet

Etienne Perrier

Diplômé de l'Ecole d'Ingénieurs INSA de Lyon en tant qu'Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement - Option Génie des systèmes thermiques - Section sport de haut niveau, il apporte toute son expertise dans la mise en place ou l'analyse de systèmes thermiques renouvelables dans la transformation agro-almentaire (notamment karité et anacarde), dans la valorisation des déchets et dans la formation des experts locaux

En voir +
sacla_aide_2.png
Chargé de mission / Energie / Burkina

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Diplômé en Ingénieur de conception en Génie Mécanique, Option Energétique et technicien industriel en fabrication mécanique de l'Ecole Polytechnique d’Abomey Calavi - EPAC (Bénin), il apporte son expertise dans les énergies renouvelables et notamment la valorisation énergétique de la biomasse et le procédé industriel

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Ingénieur Agronome issu de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT - spécialité en qualité de l’environnement et gestion des ressources), Benjamin est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire. Il assure également la coordination directe des projets CERTIBIO et ELECTRICI.

En voir +
esther_kossiwa_emefa_homawoo.jpg
Assistante Administrative et Financière / Côte d'Ivoire

Esther Kossiwa Emefa Homawoo

Titulaire d’un brevet de technicien Supérieur Obtenu à Piger Côte d’Ivoire elle possède 7 ans d’expériences en gestion et comptabilité. Elle a déjà occupé les fonctions de comptable, d’assistante comptable et de caissière vendeuse dans des entreprises et cabinet comptable. Elle a intégré l’équipe de Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en février 2020 en tant qu’Assistante Comptable et Administrative basée à Bouaké pour le projet Agrovalor

herve_abbo.jpg
Chargé de mission / Bioénergies & Déchets / Burkina

Hervé Abbo

Titulaire d’un diplôme d’Ingénieur en Energétique et d’une maîtrise en Relations Internationales, il a travaillé sur les foyers améliorés pour le compte d’organismes tels que le Ministère de l’Energie et la GIZ au Bénin. Avant d’intégrer l'équipe, il a travaillé comme Chargé de Mission Energie Verte (Valorisation des déchets ménagers biodégradables en biocombustibles) pour une ONG bénino-française

bakary_tanko_soro.jpg
Technicien local / Bioénergie & Déchet / Côte d'Ivoire

Bakary Tanko Soro

Il est titulaire d'un diplôme de technicien en chaudronnerie. Il a travaillé à la Sitab ainsi qu'à Agefop. En juin 2019, il a rejoint le Projet Agrovalor en tant que stagiaire. En Février 2020, il a été embauché en tant que Technicien local sur le projet Agrovalor Bouaké

marius_aka_dogo.jpg
Assistant Technique Local / Bioénergie & Déchet / Côte d'Ivoire

Marius Aka Dogo

Titulaire d'un Brevet de Technicien en Ouvrage Métallique, il a rejoint Nitidæ en Février 2020, en tant qu'Assistant Technique Local sur le Projet Agrovalor à Bouaké

arnaud_niesz.jpg
Chargé de mission / Bioénergie & Déchet / Bénin

Arnaud Niesz

Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement, diplômé de l’Institut national des sciences appliquées (INSA) Lyon, il travaille sur des sujets de valorisation en énergie et/ou matière de déchets agricoles et agro-industriels (de la filière anacarde tout particulièrement).

dohomin_alain_yeo.jpg
Chauffeur / Côte d'Ivoire

Dohomin Alain Yéo

Basé à Bouaké, il occupe le poste de chauffeur-coursier pour le projet Agrovalor

abel_degnimon_sogbegnon.jpg
Chargé de mission énergie / Bioénergie & Déchet / Côte d'Ivoire

Abel Dègnimon Sogbegnon

Il est titulaire d'un Master en génie énergétique et électrique (2IE, Ouagadougou) et d'un Master en sciences physiques (UAC, Bénin). Il possède une expertise dans les technologies de séchage, la gazéification/pyrolyse, la valorisation énergétique des déchets (biomasse), la transformation des aliments et les installations électriques industrielles dans les secteurs de la noix de cajou, de la mangue, du riz et des huiles végétales (coton, karité, soja) en Afrique de l'Ouest. Il travaille en partenariat étroit avec les ateliers locaux et les entrepreneurs dans une approche de transfert de compétences