SHEA GETS GREENER - Development of a shea butter supply chain with high environmental and social added value to create jobs and large-scale sales for artisanal producers

Start
December 2021
End
April 2024
Project cost
1 068 000 €
Role in the project
Expertise shea sector

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire Mali

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Agroprocessing Market

Sectors

Shea

Main goals

Integrate 5,400 artisanal shea collectors and producers in Côte d'Ivoire and Mali into a long-term business relationship with Savannah Fruit Compagny, which generates real income opportunities for shea collectors and producers and is accompanied by the dissemination of organic farming practices and production equipment that reduce the social and environmental externalities of the activity

Beneficiaries

  • 4000 women shea collectors
  • 1400 women shea butter producers
  • 7 shea butter production centers
  • 2 shea kernel production centers

Results

R1. Organization and consolidation of organization's network of women shea producers (PO) that supply the SFC company
R2. Development of shea production capacities of partner POs and reduction of environmental impacts of post-harvest and butter extraction processes
R3. Development and certification of production practices in organic shea farming

Activities

A1. Identification and diagnosis of partner organizations of women shea producers in Ivory Coast and Mali. The diagnostic work will focus on: the functioning and structuring of the cooperatives; the installed production practices and capacities; the existing and potential organic shea resources.
A2. Support and training of women shea producers' organizations to strengthen their structuring and functioning, particularly with regard to marketing management and the management of collective production equipment.
A3. Installation or improvement of 7 shea butter production centers to increase production capacity, improve working conditions for operators and reduce environmental impacts.
A4. Installation of 3 post-harvest processing centers for the production of shea kernels to improve the quality and traceability of the kernels, as well as to improve the working conditions of the operators and reduce the environmental impact.
A5. Training and support in the use of the installed production equipment, in the organization of work and in good production practices at the treatment and production centres.
A6. Support for certification and training in organic shea production.

The project is supported by the USAID-funded West Africa Trade & Investment Hub

Related people

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more
frederic_de_coster.jpg
Country representative in Mali

Frederic De Coster

Holder of a master's degree in development economics from the University of Namur in Belgium, he has more than 5 years of experience in private companies active in renewable energy and agriculture in Africa. His expertise lies in optimizing business models and logistics and financial operations. He worked for 4 years at myAgro, a social enterprise active in the agricultural sector in Mali and Tanzania that gave him a particular knowledge of the Malian context, both at the institutional level and at the level of actors in the agricultural world.

photo_3.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / Burkina

Caroline Bassono

She graduated from the agronomy school of Rennes, Agrocampus Ouest, specialized in Plant Science and Productions - Agrosystems Engineering. She brings her expertise in the development of sustainable farming systems, the support of producers in improving their practices, the creation of training materials on production and post-harvest techniques (sesame) and agroecology

See more
fabienne_koffi.jpg
Facilitator for agricultural value-chain and cooperatives

Fabienne Koffi

Holder of a master's degree in Management of Agropastoral Companies and Organizations and a Bachelor's degree in Economics and Agropastoral Management from the Institute of Agro-Pastoral Management at the University of Korhogo (Côte d'Ivoire), she has experience as a technician , advisor and trainer in various agricultural structures. Today, she brings her expertise and experience to the team as an agricultural and local development facilitator

arlette_kouassiale_akakpo.jpg
Task officer / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina-Faso

Arlette Kouassiale Akakpo

Engineer in Water Engineering, Sanitation and Hydro-Agricultural Developments from the International Institute of Water and Environmental Engineering (2iE), she brings her expertise in the treatment and recovery agro-industrial waste as well as the assessment of environmental impacts. She joined Nitidæ as an intern in January 2021 on the Agrovalor project, then hired as an Energy task officer

griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
seyidina_oumar_sall.jpg
Financial and Administrative Officer / Mali

Seyidina Oumar Sall

Graduated with a master's degree in management and a DUT in finance-accounting, he has acquired several experiences in the field of finance and office management

dorgeles.jpg
Head of Agrovalor Project / Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Mekeu Jules Dorgeles Gomeu

Holder of an engineering degree in management of mining, oil and energy activities, Dorgeles joined the Nitidæ team in 2016 and became Head of the Agrovalor project in January 2018. He brings his expertise in coordination, the implementation and monitoring of the activities of this project.

abel_degnimon_sogbegnon.jpg
Energy project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Abel Dègnimon Sogbegnon

He holds a Masters in Energy and Electrical Engineering (2IE, Ouagadougou) and a Masters in Science Physic (UAC, Benin). He has expertise in drying technologies, gasification/pyrolysis, energy recovery from waste (biomass), food processing and industrial electrical installations in the cashew, mango, rice and vegetable oils sectors (cotton, shea nut, soy) in West Africa. He works in close partnership with local manufacturing shops and entrepreneurs in a skills transfer approach

arnaud_niesz.jpg
Project officer / Bioenergy & Waste / Benin

Arnaud Niesz

Energy and environment engineer gratuaded from the Institut national des sciences appliquées (INSA) Lyon, he works on subjects related to material and energy recovery of agricultural and agro-industrial bio-waste (in the cashew nut sector particularly).

bakary_tanko_soro.jpg
Local technician/ Bioenergy & Waste / Côte d'Ivoire

Bakary Tanko Soro

He holds a boiler technician diploma. He worked at Sitab as well as Agefop. In June 2019, he joined the Agrovalor Project as an intern. In February 2020, he was hired as a Local Technician on the Agrovalor Bouaké project

jean_stanislas_niamien_kouadio.jpg
Technical manager for PO's certification and support / Agriculture & Market / Côte d'Ivoire

Jean Stanislas Niamien Kouadio

Holder of an engineering degree in agronomic techniques, agroforestry option and specialist in organic certifications, he joined the Côte d'Ivoire team in May 2022 as technical manager for certifications and support to the shea farmers' organizations of the "Shea Gets Greener" project. He is based in Korhogo.

ida.png
Project officer

Ida Drabo

Graduated as Design Engineer in Agricultural Extension at the University Nazi Boni Bobo Dioulasso-Burkina Faso, she brings her expertise in supporting producers in the adoption of innovative technologies. In particular the support and the accompaniment of the actors of the sector in the marketing of shea on the national and international level

dramane_traore.jpg
PO Structuring Technical Manager / Agriculture & Market / Mali

Traoré Dramane

He has a master's degree in management from the Faculty of Management and Economics of Bamako. He was trained as a master trainer in the cashew value chain. He has 8 years of experience in agricultural value chains, particularly cashew nuts, in particular for the professionalization of POs and local marketing

salimata_traore.jpg
Shea intern in the Shea Gets Greener project

Salimata Traoré

A graduate in computer secretariat at the Institut Ivoire Prestige Formation in Bouaké, she had the opportunity to work in the Tchéregnimin cooperative, a cooperative specializing in the production of shea butter in Korhogo. In contact with women, she acquired a very good experience in the collection of shea kernels and their transformation into butter

nanga_soro.jpg
Field animator / Agriculture & Market / Côte d'Ivoire

Nanga Soro

He holds a Bachelor's degree in Economics and Agropastoral Management obtained at the Higher Institute of Agropastoral Management of the University Peleforo Gon Coulibaly of Korhogo. He joined the team as a facilitator on the shea sector

fatoumata_karambe.jpg
Financial and administrative officer / Mali

Fatoumata Karambe

She holds a Master's degree in Audit and Management Control from the Gaston Berger University of Saint-Louis in Senegal. She then worked for 3 years as an Administrative and Accounting Assistant in a World Bank project

amadou_bella_diallo.jpg
Field animator / Agriculture & Market / Mali

Amadou Bella Diallo

Agricultural engineer, specialization in soil science, he has been working since 2013 in agricultural and community development, in particular through training, animation and awareness-raising for producers on the use of Elephant Vert Mali organic products. He thus works for the good management of agricultural and financial resources as well as the development of agricultural sectors with high added value in order to achieve empowerment of farmers' organizations for healthy, sustainable and environmentally friendly agriculture

SHEA GETS GREENER - Développement d’une chaîne d'approvisionnement du beurre de karité à forte plus-values environnementales et sociales pour créer des emplois et des ventes à grande échelle pour les productrices artisanales

Début
décembre 2021
Fin
avril 2024
Coût de l’action
1 068 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise filière karité

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire Mali

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Agroprocessing Marché

Filières

Karité

Objectifs principaux

Intégrer 5400 collectrices et productrices artisanales de karité en Côte d’Ivoire et au Mali dans une relation commerciale de long terme avec Savannah Fruit Compagny qui génère de réelles opportunités de revenus pour les collectrices et productrices de karité et s’accompagne d’une diffusion des pratiques de l’agriculture biologique et d’équipement de productions qui réduisent les externalités sociales et environnementales de l’activité

Bénéficiaires

  • 4000 collectrices de karité
  • 1400 productrices de beurre de karité
  • 7 centres de production de beurre de karité
  • 3 centres de production d'amande

Résultats

R1. Organisation et consolidation de réseaux d’OP (organisation de productrices) de karité fournisseur de la compagnie SFC
R2. Développement des capacités de production de karité des OP partenaires et réductions des impacts environnementaux des procédés de post-récolte et d’extraction du beurre
R3. Développement et certification des pratiques de production en agriculture biologique du karité

Activités

A1. Identification et diagnostic des organisations de productrices de karité partenaires en Côte d'Ivoire et au Mali. Le diagnostic portera sur : le fonctionnement et la structuration des coopératives ; les pratiques et capacités de production installées ; les ressources existantes et potentielles en karité biologique.
A2. Accompagnement et formation des organisations de productrices de karité pour le renforcement de leur structuration et fonctionnement, notamment en matière de gestion commerciale et de gestion des équipements collectifs de production.
A3. Installation ou amélioration de 7 centre de production de beurre de karité pour augmenter la capacité de production, améliorer les conditions de travail des opérateurs et réduire les impacts environnementaux.
A4. Installation 3 centres de traitement post récolte des noix de karité pour améliorer la qualité et la traçabilité des amandes, ainsi que les conditions de travail des opérateurs et réduire l'impact environnemental.
A5. Formation et accompagnement à l’usage des équipements de production installés, à l’organisation du travail et aux bonne pratiques de production sur les centres de traitement et de production.
A6. Accompagnement à la certification et formation à la production de karité en agriculture biologique.

Le projet est soutenu par le West Africa Trade & Investment Hub financé par l'USAID

Personnes associées

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / France

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Ingénieur Agronome issu de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT - spécialité en qualité de l’environnement et gestion des ressources), Benjamin est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire. Il assure également la coordination directe des projets CERTIBIO et ELECTRICI.

En voir +
frederic_de_coster.jpg
Représentant au Mali

Frederic De Coster

Titulaire d'un master en économie du développement de l'Université de Namur en Belgique, il possède plus de 5 ans d'expérience au sein des entreprises privés actives dans l’énergie renouvelable et l’agriculture en Afrique. Il a une expertise dans l’optimisation des modèles d’affaires et des opérations logistiques et financiers. Il a travaillé pendant 4 ans au sein de myAgro, une entreprise sociale active dans les filières agricoles au Mali et Tanzanie qui lui ont donné une connaissance particulière du contexte malien, tant au niveau institutionnel qu'au niveau des acteurs du monde agricole.

photo_3.jpg
Chargée de mission / Agriculture & Marché / Burkina

Caroline Bassono

Elle est diplômée de l'école d'agronomie de Rennes, Agrocampus Ouest, spécialisée en Sciences et Productions Végétales - Ingénierie des Agrosystèmes. Elle apporte son expertise dans le développement de systèmes agricoles durables, l'accompagnement des producteurs dans l'amélioration de leurs pratiques, la création de supports de formation sur les techniques de production et post-récolte (sésame) et l'agroécologie

En voir +
fabienne_koffi.jpg
Animatrice Filières et Coopératives agricoles

Fabienne Koffi

Titulaire d'un master en Management des Entreprises et Organisations Agropastorales et d'une Licence en Economie et Gestion Agropastorale de l'Institut de Gestion Agro-Pastorale à l'Université de Korhogo (Côte d'Ivoire), elle possède une expérience de technicienne, conseillère et formatrice dans diverses structures agricoles. Aujourd'hui, elle apporte son expertise et son expérience à l'équipe en tant qu'animatrice de développement agricole et local

arlette_kouassiale_akakpo.jpg
Chargée de mission / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina-Faso

Arlette Kouassiale Akakpo

Ingénieure en Génie de l'eau, de l'Assainissement et des Aménagements Hydro-Agricole issue de l'Institut International d'Ingénierie de l'Eau et de l'Environnement (2iE), elle apporte son expertise dans le traitement et la valorisation des déchets agro-industriels ainsi que l'évaluation des impacts environnementaux. Elle a rejoint Nitidæ en tant que stagiaire en janvier 2021 sur le projet Agrovalor, puis embauchée en tant que chargée de mission Energie

griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
seyidina_oumar_sall.jpg
Responsable Administratif et Financier / Mali

Seyidina Oumar Sall

Diplômé d'une maîtrise en gestion et d'un DUT en finances-comptabilité, il a acquis plusieurs expériences dans le domaine de la finance et de la gestion de bureau

dorgeles.jpg
Chef de Projet Agrovalor / Bioénergies & Déchets / Côte d'Ivoire

Mekeu Jules Dorgeles Gomeu

Titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur en management des activités minières, pétrolières et énergétiques, Dorgeles a rejoint l'équipe Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en 2016 et est devenu Chef du projet Agrovalor en janvier 2018. Il apporte son expertise dans la coordination, la mise en œuvre et le suivi des activités de ce projet

abel_degnimon_sogbegnon.jpg
Chargé de mission énergie / Bioénergie & Déchet / Côte d'Ivoire

Abel Dègnimon Sogbegnon

Il est titulaire d'un Master en génie énergétique et électrique (2IE, Ouagadougou) et d'un Master en sciences physiques (UAC, Bénin). Il possède une expertise dans les technologies de séchage, la gazéification/pyrolyse, la valorisation énergétique des déchets (biomasse), la transformation des aliments et les installations électriques industrielles dans les secteurs de la noix de cajou, de la mangue, du riz et des huiles végétales (coton, karité, soja) en Afrique de l'Ouest. Il travaille en partenariat étroit avec les ateliers locaux et les entrepreneurs dans une approche de transfert de compétences

arnaud_niesz.jpg
Chargé de mission / Bioénergie & Déchet / Bénin

Arnaud Niesz

Ingénieur en génie énergétique et environnement, diplômé de l’Institut national des sciences appliquées (INSA) Lyon, il travaille sur des sujets de valorisation en énergie et/ou matière de déchets agricoles et agro-industriels (de la filière anacarde tout particulièrement).

bakary_tanko_soro.jpg
Technicien local / Bioénergie & Déchet / Côte d'Ivoire

Bakary Tanko Soro

Il est titulaire d'un diplôme de technicien en chaudronnerie. Il a travaillé à la Sitab ainsi qu'à Agefop. En juin 2019, il a rejoint le Projet Agrovalor en tant que stagiaire. En Février 2020, il a été embauché en tant que Technicien local sur le projet Agrovalor Bouaké

jean_stanislas_niamien_kouadio.jpg
Responsable certification et accompagnement des OP / Agriculture & Marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Jean Stanislas Niamien Kouadio

Titulaire d'un diplôme d’ingénieur des techniques agronomiques option agroforesterie et spécialiste des certifications biologiques, il a intégré l'équipe Côte d'Ivoire en Mai 2022 en tant que responsable technique certifications et accompagnement des organisations paysannes de karité du projet Shea Gets Greener. Il est basé à Korhogo.

ida.png
Chargée de mission

Ida Drabo

Diplômée en Ingénieur de conception en Vulgarisation Agricole à l’Université Nazi Boni de Bobo Dioulasso- Burkina Faso, elle apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs dans l’adoption des technologies innovantes. Notamment l’appui et l’accompagnement des acteurs de la filière dans la commercialisation du karité au niveau national et international

dramane_traore.jpg
Responsable Technique Structuration OP / Agriculture & Marché / Mali

Traoré Dramane

Il possède une maîtrise en gestion de la Faculté de gestion et économique de Bamako. Il a été formé comme maître formateur dans la chaîne de valeur noix de cajou. Il possède une expérience de 8 ans dans les chaînes de valeurs agricoles, particulièrement la noix de cajou, notamment pour la professionnalisation des OP et la commercialisation locale

salimata_traore.jpg
Stagiaire karité dans le projet Shea Gets Greener

Salimata Traoré

Diplômée en secrétariat informatique à l'Institut Ivoire Prestige Formation à Bouaké, elle a eu l'opportunité de travailler dans la coopérative Tchéregnimin, une coopérative spécialisée dans la production du beurre de karité à Korhogo. Au contact des femmes, elle a acquit une très bonne expérience sur la collecte des amandes de karité et leur transformation en beurre

nanga_soro.jpg
Animateur terrain / Agriculture & Marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Nanga Soro

Il est titulaire d'une Licence en économie et gestion Agropastorale obtenue à l'Institut supérieur de gestion agropastorale de l'Université Peleforo Gon Coulibaly de Korhogo. Il a intégré l'équipe en tant qu'animateur sur la filière karité