VCCOTTON - Analysis of the cotton value chain in Benin and study of the social, economic and environmental impacts of an investment in the sector

Start
August 2022
End
November 2022
Project cost
40 000 €
Role in the project
Market expertise

Countries

Benin

Fields

Agriculture Market

Sectors

Cotton

Main goals

AATIF, Africa Agriculture and Trade Investment Fund, wishes to invest in the cotton sector in Benin. As part of this investment project, the AATIF fund has commissioned a comprehensive study of the sector in order to understand the stakeholders, the performance, the flows and the social and environmental risks associated with it. The objectives of the study are therefore to shed light on mapping the stakeholders in the sector, the performance of processing units, changes in regulations and the organization of the value chain, as well as trends in market at national, West African and international levels

Specific objectives

SO1. Conduct a comprehensive analysis of the cotton value chain in West Africa, with a particular focus on Benin, to better understand the entire Beninese cotton value chain, its stakeholders, and
SO2. Assess sustainability issues and environmental and social risks of this investment

Evolution of exports of cotton and cotton-derived products in Benin between 2000 and 2021. Source: UN Comtrade. Unit: million dollars

Related people

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
leo_godard.jpg
Value chain project manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Léo Godard

Agronomist with a degree from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT), he works on the analysis of agroindustrial projects and provide consultancy for promoters and investors of agro value chains. He also provides technical assistance and consultancy for small to large scale agricultural to switch to organic or regenerative practices

See more

VCCOTTON - Analyse de la chaîne de valeur du coton au Bénin et étude des impacts sociaux, économiques et environnementaux d'un investissement dans la filière

Début
août 2022
Fin
novembre 2022
Coût de l’action
40 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise marché

Pays

Bénin

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché

Filières

Coton

Objectifs principaux

L'AATIF, Africa Agriculture and Trade Investment Fund, souhaite investir dans le secteur du coton au Bénin. Dans le cadre de ce projet d'investissement, le fonds AATIF a commandé une étude intégrale du secteur afin d'en comprendre les acteurs, le fonctionnement, les flux et les risques sociaux et environnementaux qui y sont associés. Les objectifs de l'étude sont donc d'apporter un éclairage sur la carte des acteurs de la filière, les performances des unités de transformation, l'évolution des réglementations et de l'organisation de la chaîne de valeur, ainsi que les tendances de marché aux niveaux nationaux, ouest-africains et internationaux.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Conduite d'une analyse complète de la chaîne de valeur du coton en Afrique de l'Ouest, avec un accent particulier sur le Bénin, afin de mieux comprendre l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur du coton béninois, ses acteurs et
OS2. Evaluer les problématiques de durabilité et les risques environnementaux et sociaux de cet investissement

Évolution des exportations de coton et de produits dérivés du coton au Bénin entre 2000 et 2021. Source : UN Comtrade. Unité : millions de dollars

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
leo_godard.jpg
Agronome chargé de missions filières / Agriculture & Marché / France

Léo Godard

Ingénieur agronome diplômé de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP-ENSAT), il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse et le conseil pour le montage et l'investissement de projets agro-industriels (plantation, transformation), ainsi que l'accompagnement technique à la transition vers l'agriculture biologique pour des projets agricoles de petite, moyenne et grande échelle

En voir +