ARAMIS - Setting up a market information system for data collection and analysis of production, trade and consumption in Burkina Faso, Niger and Mali

Start
April 2021
End
September 2021
Project cost
44 000 €
Role in the project
Market analysis expertise

Countries

Burkina Faso Ethiopia Kenya Mali Mozambique Malawi Niger South Sudan Zimbabwe

Fields

Agriculture Market

Sectors

Peanut Cereal Corn Cassava Millet Cowpea Soya Sorghum Teff

Main goals

African food systems face systemic challenges that often lead to food and nutritional insecurity among vulnerable populations. To this end, AGRA is implementing a regional food trade resilience program to address some of the structural challenges, in particular by helping governments to generate policies for a stable food environment to encourage private sector investment. Yet, structural data on food and food markets are often scarce and not comparable across countries.

Specific objectives

For this purpose, AGRA has commissioned a project to strengthen data collection and analysis of food production, storage, trade, consumption and prices. To do so, Agramondis and Nitidæ will use the successful approach of N'kalo, Nitidæ's market analysis and advisory service, to determine farm-gate prices, wholesale and retail prices for four food products across nine countries:

  • West Africa: Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso
  • East Africa: Kenya, Ethiopia and South Sudan
  • Southern Africa: Mozambique, Malawi and Zimbabwe

Results

R1. Provide advice and expertise on national food systems and on the importance of main crops for food security with Agramondis throughout the mission
R2. Provide a list of informants including farmers, wholesalers and market observers
R3. Generate monthly market reports containing farm-gate prices, wholesale and retail prices, including a short narrative description of the overall situation of the 4 markets monitored

Activities

A1. Participate in the training and advice provided by Agramondis within the framework of this mission
A2. Advise on the relevance of value chains (food products) proposed by Agramondis and AGRA for food security of the nine countries and approve the selection
A3. Support the Agramondis team to identify and describe existing national data sources on prices of the four commodities (platforms, portals, GIS, organizations, institutions, stakeholders...)
A4. Identify major production areas, major markets, consumption areas, and retail markets
A5. Identify informants (farmers, wholesalers, market observers...)
A6. Interview those informants
A7. Regularly collect data from selected sources on the 4 value chains

Related people

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Project manager / Agriculture & Market / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Currently in a thesis, he is graduated with a Master 2 in remote sensing and Geographic Information Systems from the Félix Houphouët Boigny University in Abidjan. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis and support to the FORECO project as Remote Sensing Assistant and Geographic Information Systems

ARAMIS - Montage d'un système d'information de marché pour la collecte de données et l'analyse de la production, du commerce et de la consommation au Burkina Faso, Niger et Mali

Début
avril 2021
Fin
septembre 2021
Coût de l’action
44 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise analyse de marchés

Pays

Burkina Faso Éthiopie Kenya Mali Mozambique Malawi Niger Soudan du Sud Zimbabwe

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché

Filières

Arachide Céréales Maïs Manioc Mil Niébé Soja Sorgho Teff

Objectifs principaux

Les systèmes alimentaires africains sont aux prises avec des défis systémiques menant souvent à l'insécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle des populations vulnérables. Pour cela l'AGRA met en œuvre un programme sur la résilience du commerce alimentaire régional pour relever certains des défis structurels, en particulier en aidant les gouvernements à générer des politiques pour un environnement alimentaire stable visant à encourager les investissements du secteur privé. Or, les données structurelles sur les aliments et les marchés alimentaires sont souvent rares et non comparables entre les pays.

Objectifs spécifiques

Dans ce cadre, l'AGRA a commandé un projet de renforcement de la collecte de données et analyse de la production alimentaire, du stockage, du commerce, de la consommation et des prix. Pour cela, Agramondis et Nitidæ, utiliseront l'approche éprouvée de N'kalo, le service de Nitidæ d'analyse et de conseils sur les marchés, pour déterminer les prix bord-champ, les prix de gros et de détail de quatre produits alimentaires sur neuf pays :

  • Afrique de l'Ouest : Niger, Mali et Burkina Faso
  • Afrique de l'Est : Kenya, Éthiopie et Soudan du Sud
  • Afrique australe : Mozambique, Malawi et Zimbabwe

Résultats

R1. Assurer le conseil et apporter notre expertise sur les systèmes alimentaires nationaux et l'importance des principales cultures pour la sécurité alimentaire auprès d’Agramondis tout au long de la mission
R2. Fournir une liste d'informateurs incluant des agriculteurs, des grossistes et des observateurs de marchés
R3. Produire des rapports de marché mensuels contenant les prix bord-champ, les prix de gros et les prix de détail, incluant une courte description narrative de la situation globale des 4 marchés suivis

Activités

A1. Participer à la formation et aux conseils proposés par Agramondis dans le cadre de cette mission
A2. Conseiller sur la pertinence des chaînes de valeur (produits alimentaires) proposées par Agramondis et AGRA pour la sécurité alimentaire des neuf pays et valider la sélection
A3. Soutenir l'équipe d'Agramondis pour identifier et décrire les sources de données nationales existantes sur les prix des quatre produits (plateformes, portails, SIG, organisations, institutions, parties prenantes...)
A4. Identifier les principales zones de production, les marchés majeurs, les zones de consommation et les marchés de détail
A5. Identifier les informateurs (agriculteurs, grossistes, observateurs de marchés…)
A6. Interviewer ces informateurs
A7. Récupérer régulièrement les données des sources sélectionnées sur les 4 chaînes de valeur

Personnes associées

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
alassane_sogodogo.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / Mali

Alassane Sogodogo

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un Master 2 en télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique de l’Université Félix Houphouët Boigny d’Abidjan. Il apporte son expertise en analyse des marchés agricoles et accompagnement au projet FORECO en qualité d’Assistant de télédétection et Systèmes d’Information Géographique