BFONIO - Support for the commercial development of the fonio sector in Burkina Faso

Start
April 2011
End
May 2011
Project cost
6 000 €
Role in the project
Fonio value chain expertise

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Market

Sectors

Fonio

Main goals

The APROSSA Afrique Verte/Artisans du Monde project support the actors of the sector (producers, rural pilers and urban processors) in the promotion of fonio through the improvement of production and processing techniques in order to increase its attractiveness and its consumption in urban areas. This support can not have significant impacts without a significant increase in demand, ensuring a profitable and stable outlet for producers

Specific objectives

Realization of a fonio market study to prepare the implementation of a Fonio Commercial Development Plan

Beneficiaries

Fonio stakeholders in Burkina

Results

R1. Local demand needs to be better characterized, qualitatively and quantitatively
R2. Distribution channels and their constraints need to be better known and understood
R3. Trade and marketing capacity building should also be tailored to market demands and changing demand
R4. Market study carried out as a support for the preparation of the Fonio Commercial Development Plan

Activities

A1. Approximately 60 surveys were conducted among processors, distributors and restaurateurs in the main urban centers (Ouagadougou and Bobo-Dioulasso) and Burkina Faso production areas (Orodara and Banfora)
A2. Qualitative and quantitative analysis of demand
A3. Analysis of supply and understanding of distribution channels
A4. Proposal of a marketing mix plan and the identification of action levers for the definition of a coherent commercial strategy

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more

BFONIO - Appui au développement commercial de la filière fonio au Burkina Faso

Début
avril 2011
Fin
mai 2011
Coût de l’action
6 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise filière fonio

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Marché

Filières

Fonio

Objectifs principaux

Le projet APROSSA Afrique Verte / Artisans du Monde propose un accompagnement aux acteurs de la filière (producteurs, pileuses rurales, et transformatrices urbaines) dans la valorisation du fonio grâce à l’amélioration des techniques de production et de transformation afin d’accroître son attractivité et sa consommation en milieu urbain. Cet accompagnement ne peut avoir d’impacts significatifs sans un développement conséquent de la demande, assurant un débouché rémunérateur et stable aux producteurs et transformatrices.

Objectifs spécifiques

Réalisation d'une étude de marché du fonio pour préparer la mise en œuvre d’un Plan de Développement Commercial du Fonio

Bénéficiaires

Acteurs du fonio au Burkina

Résultats

R1. La demande locale doit être mieux caractérisée, qualitativement et quantitativement
R2. Les circuits de distribution et leurs contraintes doivent être mieux connus et compris
R3. Le renforcement des capacités commerciales et marketing doit aussi être conçu en fonction des exigences du marché et des évolutions de la demande
R4. Etude de marché réalisée en tant que support à la préparation du Plan de Développement Commercial du Fonio

Activités

A1. Environ 60 enquêtes ont été réalisées auprès des transformateurs, des distributeurs et des restaurateurs dans les principaux centres urbains (Ouagadougou et Bobo-Dioulasso) et les zones de production (Orodara et Banfora) du Burkina Faso
A2. Analyse qualitative et quantitative de la demande
A3. Analyse de l’offre et de la compréhension des circuits de distribution
A4. Proposition d’un plan de marketing mixte et de l’identification des leviers d’actions pour la définition d’une stratégie commerciale cohérente

Personnes associées

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +