CARBOVAL - Development of a method to calculate greenhouse gas emissions for a cocoa produced in Madagascar

Start
January 2021
End
March 2021
Project cost
35 000 €
Role in the project
Carbon Compensation Expertise

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Organic Agriculture Agroforestry Climate Degradation-Restoration Forest REDD+ Remote sensing

Sectors

Cocoa

Partners

Main goals

The final aim of Valrhona is the full scope carbon neutrality by 2025. Valrhona controls its supply industry via long-term partnerships. For some origins, it seems that to calculate the carbon footprints of Valrhona, used greenhouse gas are far from the reality. Indeed, the culture system is organic and under shade, and it seems likely that emissions linked to production of this cocoa are distinctly lower opposed to the global average emissions of 12 kgCO²eq

Specific objectives

SO1. Develop a method to calculate greenhouse gas emission for a cocoa produced in Madagascar on the basis of two established areas from Valrhona's partners to check used hypothesis in the carbon footprints calculation of Valrhona and adjust it
SO2. Develop a quantification method, on a more solid basis, from the absortion of the CO² of the cocoa parcels of Madagascar to the build of a reasonable and verifiable carbon compensation system

Results

R1. Soil inventory results about carbon storage in plantations
R2. Analysis of deforestation dynamics in the area and the impact in terms of greenhouse gas emission
R3. The tool ExACT Value Chain calibrated with datas of Valrhona allows also to establish a carbon track record the closest to Valrona's supply reality
R4. A strategy proposition of carbon compensation is contributing to the carbon neutral objective full scope 2025 of Valrhona

Tree-filled stratum gestion for the environmental production and services optimization

Activities

A1. Carbon stocks evaluation in agroferestry parcels of Millo plantation on the West and in representatives parcels on the East
A2. Historic evaluation of deforestation on parcels to estimate carbon impact linked to deforestation and to change of soils occupation
A3. Maps analysis of existing deforestation (Global Forest Watch) to evaluate deforestation to the level of parcels
A4. From the results obtained by the cartography analysis, conduct a slight analysis of agricultural dynamics of the area through area studies that could explain deforestation
A5. Evaluation of the accompanying producers programm towards agroforestry put in place in the East
A6. Results integration of the change of use of the soil, agroforestry sequestration and of other emission sources (transport, transformation...) in a recognizable, easily replicable and transparent carbon track record tool
A7. Training to take the tool over for using it in other areas if necessary
A8. Mixt insetting/offsetting compensation strategy proposition including obtained results from the previous phase

Related people

marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Forestry engineer, specialized on "Ecosystem and Biodiversity" and graduated from ESSA (Madagascar), she joined the team with her skills in biodiversity conservation, forest management and natural resources management. With her experience in assessing threats to protected areas, TNRM (Transfer of Natural Resources Management) and community support in conservation, she contributes to the implementation of different projects.

0_1_.jpg
GIS and Remote Sensing Project Manager

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Currently a PhD student, he holds a DEA of Physics, specialised in "geophysics, remote sensing and GIS" from the Faculty of Sciences of Antananarivo in Madagascar (IOGA). He brings his expertise to the impacts of deforestation, above-ground biomass mapping and scenario development of carbon emissions

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Project Manager

Noémie Rullier

Holder of an Engineering diploma in Agronomy, specializing in Sustainable agricultural & Agri-Food systems for the South, from Montpellier SupAgro- Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), she brings her expertise to support technical changes and development processes in rural area; to support farm advisory, training engineering and plant biology research

See more
tony.jpg
Project Officer

Anthony Guhur

With a degree in "Environment, Earth, Change, Climate", specialised in "Rural Area & Environment" from the University of Bourgogne (co-accredited with AgroSup Dijon), he brings expertise in bioenergy & environmental projects and in project management

See more

CARBOVAL - Développement d’une méthode de calcul d'émission de Gaz à Effet de Serre (GES) pour le cacao à Madagascar

Début
janvier 2021
Fin
mars 2021
Coût de l’action
35 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise compensation carbone

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Biologique Agroforesterie Climat Dégradation-Restauration Forêt REDD+ Télédétection

Filières

Cacao

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

L’objectif final de Valrhona est la neutralité carbone full scope en 2025. Valrhona maîtrise ses filières d’approvisionnement via des partenariats à long terme. Pour certaines origines, il semble que pour calculer l’empreinte carbone de Valrhona les émissions en GES utilisées sont très éloignées de la réalité. En effet, le système de culture est biologique et sous ombrage, il parait probable que les émissions liées à la production de ce cacao soient nettement inférieures aux émissions moyennes mondiales de 12 kgCO²eq

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Développer une méthode de calcul d’émission en GES pour un cacao produit à Madagascar sur la base des deux zones d’implantation du partenaire de Valrhona pour vérifier les hypothèses utilisées dans le calcul de l’empreinte carbone de Valrhona et l’ajuster
OS2. Développer une méthode de quantification, sur une base plus solide, de l’absorption en CO² des parcelles de cacao de Madagascar et construire une stratégie raisonnée et vérifiable de compensation carbone

Résultats

R1. Résultats des inventaires terrains sur le stockage carbone dans les plantations
R2. Analyse des dynamiques de déforestation dans la zone et l’impact en termes d’émission GES
R3. L’outil ExACT Value Chain calibré avec les données Valrhona et permettant d’établir un bilan carbone au plus proche de la réalité des approvisionnements de Valrhona
R4. Une proposition de stratégie de compensation carbone contribuant à l’objectif neutralité carbone full scope 2025 de Valrhona

Gestion des strates arborées pour optimiser production et services environnementaux

Activités

A1. Évaluation des stocks de Carbone dans les parcelles agroforestières de la plantation Millot à l'Ouest et dans des parcelles représentatives à l'Est
A2. Évaluation de l’historique de déforestation sur les parcelles pour évaluer l’impact Carbone lié à la déforestation et au changement d’occupation des sols
A3. Analyse des cartes de déforestation existantes (Global Forest Watch) pour évaluer la déforestation au niveau des parcelles
A4. A partir des résultats obtenus par l’analyse cartographique, conduire une analyse légère des dynamiques agraires de la zone à travers des enquêtes de terrain pouvant expliquer la déforestation
A5. Évaluation du programme d’accompagnement des producteurs à l’agroforesterie mis en œuvre dans l’Est
A6. Intégration des résultats de changements d’usage du sol, de séquestration dans l'agroforesterie et d’autres sources d’émissions (transport, transformation, etc) dans un outil de bilan carbone transparent, reconnu et facilement réplicable
A7. Formation à l’utilisation de l’outil pour utilisation dans d’autres zones si besoin
A8. Proposition d’une stratégie de compensation mixte insetting/offsetting intégrant les résultats obtenus dans la phase précédente

Personnes associées

marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Ingénieur forestier de formation, dans le parcours “Écosystème et Biodiversité” et diplômée de l’ESSA (Madagascar), elle rejoint l'équipe avec ses compétences en conservation de la biodiversité, aménagement forestier et gestion des ressources naturelles. Avec ses expériences dans l'évaluation des menaces sur les aires protégées, les TGRN (Transfert de Gestion des Ressources Naturelles) et l'appui des communautés dans la conservation, elle contribue à la mise en œuvre de différents projets.

0_1_.jpg
Chargé d'étude SIG et Télédétection

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un DEA en physique (option géophysique, télédétection et SIG), de la Faculté des Sciences d’Antananarivo de l'Université de Madagascar, il apporte toute son expertise sur les impacts de la déforestation, la cartographie de la biomasse aérienne, l'élaboration de scénario des émissions de référence de CO2

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
noemie_rullier_2.jpg
Chargée de projets

Noémie Rullier

Diplômée Ingénieur Agronome, Systèmes Agroalimentaires et Agronomiques durables de Montpellier SupAgro-Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), elle apporte son expertise pour appuyer les processus de changements techniques et organisationnels en milieu rural, le conseil à l’exploitation agricole, l'ingénierie de formation et la recherche en Biologie Végétale

En voir +
tony.jpg
Chargé de mission

Anthony Guhur

Diplômé d'un Master 2 Environnement - Terre - Evolution - Climat, Spécialité Espace Rural & Environnement de l’Université de Bourgogne (co-habilitation avec AgroSUP Dijon), il apporte son expertise sur les projets de bio-énergies, environnement et sur la gestion de projet

En voir +