GILE PFNL - Sustainable use of Non-Timber Forest Products around Gilé National Park Mozambique

Start
January 2017
End
December 2020
Project cost
74 000 €
Role in the project
Biodiversity & market expertise
champignon_gile_mozambique_biodiv_foret_marche.jpg

Countries

Mozambique

Fields

Biodiversity Forest Market

Sectors

Mushroom Honey

Partners

Main goals

The project for the valorization and marketing of Non-Timber Forestry Products (NTFPs) around Gilé National Park (GNAP), coordinated by FFS-IGF started in 2017 with the financial support of the French Development Agency (AFD). The project aims to i) strengthen the GNAP team capacities to protect natural resources, ii) promote the legalization and organization of the NTFPs sustainable use by local communities living in the Buffer zone, and iii) develop the NTFPs production by identifying and implementing methods, tools and channels of use and valorization.

Nitidæ aims to support the NTPFs project by evaluating the potentiality of storing and commercialisation of NTFPs, namely wild mushrooms and honey by local communities living in the Buffer Zone of GNAP and providing basic training to selected communities’ members.

Specific objectives

SO1. Support to improve and transfer capacity on long term to the GNAP team on NTFPs monitoring and sustainable production techniques
SO2. Realize pilot tests and market studies to help identify suitable technologies and prioritize the best options for NTFPs value chain development

Beneficiaries

Local communities living in the Buffer Zone of GNAP, in particular women groups responsible for the collection of NTFPs

Mushroom collection in Miombo Woodland

Mushroom cleaning

Training community selected members in sustainable beekeeping practices

Results

R1. Mushroom species knowledge for the Gilé National Park and Mozambique are improved and a sustainable collection thresholds is defined
R2. Women groups are trained on best practices for the collection, storage and commercialization of wild mushrooms
R3. Community selected members are trained on sustainable beekeeping practices
R4. Appropriate technologies low-cost and easily used are tested and identified to improve the harvesting, transport, processing, storage and commercialization of wild mushrooms
R5. The mushroom and honey value chain in and around the GNAP are structured and a market strategy is identified

Activities

Mushroom

A1. Support on the scientific identification of mushrooms and implementation of a sampling protocol to estimate biological productivity and a data collection system with ODK collect to facilitate the collection of field information on edible mushrooms
A2. Training of collectors and community development department (CDD) team in good practices of harvesting, transportation, cleaning and basic hygiene requirements to ensure long-term resource management and quality product
A3. Realize pilot tests of low-tech affordable drying and packaging techniques to improve the product quality
A4. Elaboration of a set of pedagogic materials on good collection and processing practices to be used by the CDD team
A5. An analyse of the NTFPs legal framework in Mozambique
A6. Market study and linkage at provincial and/or national scale to strengthen a realistic strategy considering different scenarios and the existing legal framework in Mozambique

Honey

A1. Support and advise CDD team on the improvement of traditional production methods and sustainable beekeeping management methodologies
A2. Training community selected members in sustainable beekeeping practices and build capacity to increase honey production
A3. Provide technical and strategic assistance for commercialization and market linkage

Trained beekeepers

Beehive management

AFD video report on the Gilé National Reserve in Mozambique

Credits: ©AFD2020

Related people

copie_de_p6162181.jpg
Project officer / Forest & REDD + / France

Frédérique Montfort

Currently working on her PhD thesis, she has a Master II in "Plant biodiversity and tropical ecosystem management (BioGET)" from the University of Montpellier and AgroPariTech. She brings her expertise in biodiversity and forest landscape degradation/restoration

See more
julia_artigos.jpg
Project manager / Bioenergy & Waste / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Process engineer and holder of a European MsC in Renewable energies, she works on energy-related issues in African industry, since 2016. Process optimization and agri-waste-to-energy systems are her main expertise areas: appropriate technologies, training on operation and maintenance, biofuels…

See more
juliano_moller_rodrigues.jpg
Technical Assistant for Honey Value Chain / Mozambique

Juliano Möller Rodrigues

Graduated in Social Sciences from the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, experience with field research, sustainable beekeeping, honey production and value chain development. Promoting beekeeping as a mechanism of biodiversity conservation and community livelihoods improvement in south of Brasil and North of Mozambique

jean_baptiste_roelens.jpg
Country representative in Mozambique

Jean-Baptiste Roelens

Holder of a master Tropical environment and Biodiversity, he worked for 3 years in French Guyana, notably as forest ecology and soil science research officer at CIRAD. From 2008 to 2016 he worked at the WWF in Madagascar, France and Democratic Republic of Congo as Forest and Climate program manager. At WWF, he supported conservation, forest landscape restoration and REDD+ projects, he also conducted campaign and advocacy work on forest policies and energy infrastructure development. He joined Etc Terra - then nitidæ - in May 2016 as MOZBIO project manager around the Gilé national reserve in the Zambézia province in Mozambique.

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more

GILE PFNL - Gestion durable des produits forestiers non ligneux autour du Parc National de Gilé au Mozambique

Début
janvier 2017
Fin
décembre 2020
Coût de l’action
74 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise biodiversité & marché
champignon_gile_mozambique_biodiv_foret_marche.jpg

Pays

Mozambique

Thématiques

Biodiversité Forêt Marché

Filières

Champignon Miel

Partenaires

Fondation François Sommer - Fondation Internationale pour la Gestion de la Faune (FFS-IGF) · Agence Nationale des Aires de Conservation (ANAC) du Mozambique

Objectifs principaux

Le projet de valorisation et de commercialisation des produits forestiers non-ligneux (PFNL) autour du Parc National du Gilé (GNAP), coordonné par la FFS-IGF a démarré en 2017 avec le soutien financier de l'Agence française de développement (AFD). Le projet vise à i) renforcer les capacités de l'équipe du GNAP à protéger les ressources naturelles, ii) promouvoir la légalisation et l'organisation de l'utilisation durable des PFNL par les communautés locales vivant dans la zone tampon, et à iii) développer la production des PFNL en identifiant des méthodes et des outils durables d'utilisation et de valorisation.

Nitidæ soutient le projet en formant les membres des communautés sélectionnées, en identifiant les techniques appropriés de production et les opportunités de commercialisation des PFNL, à savoir les champignons sauvages et le miel par les communautés locales vivant dans la zone tampon du GNAP.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Aide à l'amélioration et au transfert de capacité à long terme à l'équipe du GNAP sur le suivi des PFNL et les techniques de gestion durable de la ressource
OS2. Réaliser des tests pilotes et des études de marché pour aider à identifier les techniques appropriées et à prioriser les meilleures options pour le développement de la chaîne de valeur des PFNL

Bénéficiaires

Les communautés locales vivant dans la zone tampon du GNAP, en particulier les groupes de femmes responsables de la collecte des PFNL

Collecte des champignons dans la forêt de Miombo

Nettoyage des champignons en forêt

Formation des membres de la communauté aux pratiques apicoles durables

Résultats

R1. Les connaissances sur les espèces de champignons comestibles du Mozambique sont améliorées et un seuil de collecte durable est défini
R2. Les groupes de femmes sont formés aux meilleures pratiques de collecte, de séchage et de commercialisation des champignons sauvages
R3. Des membres de la communauté sont formés aux pratiques apicoles durables
R4. Des technologies appropriées, peu coûteuses et faciles à utiliser, sont testées et identifiées pour améliorer la récolte, le transport, la transformation, le stockage et la commercialisation des champignons sauvages
R5. La chaîne de valeur des champignons et du miel autour du GNAP est structurée et une stratégie de commercialisation est identifiée

Activités

Champignon

A1. Soutien à l'identification scientifique des champignons comestibles et mise en œuvre d'un protocole d'échantillonnage pour estimer la productivité biologique et d'un système de collecte de données avec ODK pour faciliter la collecte d'informations sur le terrain
A2. Formation des collecteurs et de l'équipe du Département de Développement Communautaire (DDC) du Parc aux bonnes pratiques de récolte, de transport, de nettoyage et aux exigences d'hygiène de base pour assurer la gestion des ressources à long terme et la qualité du produit
A3. Réaliser des essais pilotes sur les techniques de séchage et d'emballage peu coûteuses pour améliorer la qualité du produit
A4. Elaboration d'un ensemble de matériels pédagogiques sur les bonnes pratiques de collecte et de séchage pour l'équipe du DDC
A5. Analyse du cadre juridique des PFNL au Mozambique
A6. Étude de marché et mise en relation à l'échelle provinciale et/ou nationale pour renforcer la stratégie commerciale en tenant compte du cadre juridique existant au Mozambique

Miel

A1. Soutenir et conseiller l'équipe du DDC sur l'amélioration des méthodes de production traditionnelles et des méthodologies de gestion durable de l'apiculture
A2. Former les membres sélectionnés de la communauté aux pratiques d'apiculture durable et renforcer les capacités pour augmenter la production de miel
A3. Fournir une assistance technique et stratégique pour la commercialisation et l'établissement de liens avec le marché

Apiculteurs formés

Gestion des ruches

Reportage vidéo de l'AFD sur la Réserve Nationale de Gilé au Mozambique

Crédits: ©AFD2020

Personnes associées

copie_de_p6162181.jpg
Chargée de mission / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Frédérique Montfort

Actuellement en Thèse, elle est diplômée d'un Master 2 en Biodiversité végétale et gestion des écosystèmes tropicaux (BioGET) de l'Université de Montpellier et AgroParisTech, elle apporte son expertise sur la composante biodiversité et sur la dégradation et la restauration des paysages forestiers

En voir +
julia_artigos.jpg
Chargée de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / Burkina

Julia Artigas Sancho

Ingénieure de procédés et titulaire d’un Master européen en Énergies Renouvelables, elle travaille depuis 2016 sur les questions énergétiques dans l’industrie africaine. L’optimisation des processus de transformation ainsi que les systèmes de valorisation de déchets agricoles en énergie sont ses principaux domaines d’expertise : équipements adaptés au contexte local, formation à l’opération et maintenance, biocombustibles…

En voir +
juliano_moller_rodrigues.jpg
Assistant technique pour la chaîne de valeur du miel / Mozambique

Juliano Möller Rodrigues

Diplômé en sciences sociales de l'Université fédérale de Rio Grande do Sul, expérience de la recherche sur le terrain, de l'apiculture durable, de la production de miel et du développement de la chaîne de valeur. Promouvoir l'apiculture comme mécanisme de conservation de la biodiversité et d'amélioration des moyens d'existence des communautés au sud du Brésil et au nord du Mozambique

jean_baptiste_roelens.jpg
Représentant au Mozambique

Jean-Baptiste Roelens

Titulaire d’un master Environnement tropical et valorisation de la biodiversité, il a travaillé pendant 3 ans en Guyane, notamment en tant que chargé d’étude en écologie forestière et pédologie au CIRAD. De 2008 à 2016 il a travaillé pour WWF, à Madagascar, en France puis en République Démocratique du Congo en tant que chargé de programme forêt et climat en appui aux projets de conservation, de restauration de paysage forestier, REDD+ ou de plaidoyer sur des projets d’infrastructure énergétique. Il a rejoint Nitidæ en mai 2016 en tant que chef de projet MOZBIO et dirige maintenant notre représentation au Mozambique.

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +