MADANACA2 - Cashew value chain development project in the Ambilobe zone - Phase 2

Start
January 2021
End
March 2023
Project cost
500 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Madagascar

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Spatial Planning Forest Market Remote sensing

Sectors

Cashew

Main goals

The overall objective of the project is to contribute to the development of agricultural and forestry value chains and to the improvement of the standard of living of households in the DIANA Region

Specific objectives

Two specific objectives were adopted for the project:
SO1. The productivity and profitability of the cashew value chain are improved to increase the income of the households involved
SO2. The sustainability of the cashew value chain is strengthened by capacity building and the regrouping of stakeholders and the renewal of plantations

Beneficiaries

All links in the cashew nut value chain in AFAFFI-North's intervention area
The target groups are the rural populations in the three intervention regions, namely Diana, Boeny and Atsimo Andrefana. In addition, the actors of the municipal administration are also concerned, as well as the public bodies of inter-municipal cooperation (OPCI), the COBAs and other local associations, the NGOs and the actors of the artisanal mining sector (prospectors and small-scale mining operators)

Results

R1. Cashew plantations and producers are analyzed
R2. Cashew nut production is improved
R3. The processing of cashews into almonds is supported
R4. Producers and artisanal processors are supported in marketing
R5. Governance of the value chain is improved

Activities

A1. Detailed analysis of cashew plantations and producers
A2. Improvement of cashew nut production
A3. Support for the artisanal processing of cashew nuts into kernels
A4. Support for producers and processors in marketing
A5. Improved governance of the value chain

Related people

christian_olivier_mahefa.jpg
Project coordinator / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Christian Olivier Mahefa

Holder of a Specialized Higher Studies Diploma in Natural Resources Management and Environment (Option: Conservation Manager) and a Masters in Management Sciences, he has 20 years of experience in the management of Protected Areas (marine and terrestrial). He has held various positions providing him with solid experience in the field of administrative and financial management, budget and human resources management, advocacy, development of public or private partnerships and rural development

tovo.jpg
Country representative in Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

With a degree in science - coupled with a background in administration and environmental economics - he has over twenty-five years of experience in sustainable development in a variety of fields: protected areas management, environmental management (planning, information system, environmental impact assessments), quality management at the National Office for the Environment, natural resource management, carbone finance

See more
ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Forestry engineer, specialized on "Ecosystem and Biodiversity" and graduated from ESSA (Madagascar), she joined the team with her skills in biodiversity conservation, forest management and natural resources management. With her experience in assessing threats to protected areas, TNRM (Transfer of Natural Resources Management) and community support in conservation, she contributes to the implementation of different projects.

rakotomalala_honore_victor.jpg
Project officer / Bioenergy / Madagascar

Honoré Victor Rakotomalala

A graduate in Renewable Energies at the University of Antananarivo, Honoré specialized in biomass, solar and hydroelectric energy (sizing, production, transportation, distribution). Honoré brings his expertise in the diffusion of biomass energies, in the optimization of wood-energy sectors (households) in rural areas and his experience in editing / project management and telecommunications

0_1_.jpg
Project Officer

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Currently a PhD student, he holds a DEA of Physics, specialised in "geophysics, remote sensing and GIS" from the Faculty of Sciences of Antananarivo in Madagascar (IOGA). He brings his expertise to the impacts of deforestation, above-ground biomass mapping and scenario development of carbon emissions

See more
anicet_hermann.jpg
Forest project manager / Agriculture & Market / Madagascar

Anicet Hermann

He holds a Master's degree in environmental sciences from ISSEDD (ex-GREEN) in Toamasina Barika University 5, year 2015. He joined the team in November 2018 on the Talaky project in Fort-Dauphin. His experience in ecology, sociology and sustainable development allows him to carry out his duties as Forest-Co-management Technician. Since October 2020, he has been in charge of the forestry, social and organization mission in MADANACA in the North of Madagascar

nathalie_sylvia_andrianisa.jpg
Administrative and Financial Assistant / Madagascar

Nathalie Sylvia Andrianisa

She's graduated of the Institut Supérieur de Technologie d'Antsiranana en Commerce, she worked as a commercial agent at Airtel Madagascar from 2012 to 2015, then she assumed the function of Administrative Secretary within the Anti Erosive Control Program - PLAE, an NGO whose main activity is erosion control and agriculture. She joined the team in December 2020 as Administrative and Financial Assistant in the North of Madagascar

jacques_jacques.jpg
Responsible / Forest & REDD+ / Madagascar

Jacques Jacques

A lawyer by training, he has more than 20 years of career as manager of development support and environmental education within Madagascar National Parks (Ankarana National Park). He joined the MADACANA du Nord team as head of Natural Resource Management Transfer to harmonize the purpose of the expected objectives with the expectations of partner peasant associations

MADANACA2 - Projet de développement de la chaîne de valeur Anacarde dans la zone Ambilobe - Phase 2

Début
janvier 2021
Fin
mars 2023
Coût de l’action
500 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Madagascar

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Aménagement du Territoire Forêt Marché Télédétection

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde

Objectifs principaux

L’objectif global du projet est de contribuer au développement des chaînes de valeur agricoles et forestières et à l’amélioration du niveau de vie des ménages dans la Région DIANA

Objectifs spécifiques

Deux objectifs spécifiques ont été adoptées pour le projet :
OS1. La productivité et la rentabilité de la chaine de valeur anacarde sont améliorées permettant d’augmenter les revenus des ménages impliqués
OS2. La pérennité de la chaîne de valeur anacarde est renforcée par le renforcement des capacités et le regroupement des acteurs et le renouvellement des plantations

Bénéficiaires

Tous les maillons de la chaîne de valeur anacarde de la zone d’intervention d’AFAFI-Nord
Les groupes cibles sont les populations rurales dans les trois régions d’intervention, à savoir Diana, Boeny et Atsimo Andrefana. En outre, sont aussi concernés les acteurs de l’administration communale, ainsi que les organismes publics de coopération intercommunale (OPCI), les COBA et autres associations locales, les ONG et les acteurs du secteur minier artisanal (prospecteurs et exploitants miniers à petite échelle)

Résultats

R1. Les plantations d’anacardiers et les producteurs sont analysés
R2. La production de noix de cajou est améliorée
R3. La transformation des noix de cajou en amandes est appuyée
R4. Les producteurs et les transformateurs artisanaux sont appuyés dans la commercialisation
R5. La gouvernance de la chaîne de valeur est améliorée

Activités

A1. Analyse détaillée des plantations d’anacardiers et des producteurs
A2. Amélioration de la production de noix de cajou
A3. Appui à la transformation artisanale des noix de cajou en amandes
A4. Appui aux producteurs et aux transformateurs dans la commercialisation
A5. Amélioration de la gouvernance de la chaîne de valeur

Personnes associées

christian_olivier_mahefa.jpg
Coordinateur de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Christian Olivier Mahefa

Titulaire d’un Diplôme d’Etudes Supérieures Spécialisées en Gestion des Ressources Naturelles et Environnement (Option : Manager de Conservation) et d'une Maîtrise en sciences de gestion, il possède 20 ans d’expérience dans la gestion d’Aire Protégée (marine et terrestre). Il a occupé différents postes lui apportant une solide expérience dans le domaine de la direction administrative et financière, de la gestion de budget et des ressources humaines, du plaidoyer, du développement des partenariats public ou privé et du développement du milieu rural

tovo.jpg
Représentant à Madagascar

Tovondriaka Rakotobe

De formation scientifique - doublée d’une formation en administration et en économie de l’environnement - il dispose de plus de 25 années d’expériences dans le développement durable dans des domaines variés: gestion d’aires protégées, gestion de l’environnement (planification, système d’information, étude d’impacts), gestion de la qualité à l’office National pour l’Environnement, la gestion des ressources naturelles, le financement carbone

En voir +
ny_avy_andriamisaina.jpg
Chargée de projet / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Ny Avy Andriamisaina

Ingénieur forestier de formation, dans le parcours “Écosystème et Biodiversité” et diplômée de l’ESSA (Madagascar), elle rejoint l'équipe avec ses compétences en conservation de la biodiversité, aménagement forestier et gestion des ressources naturelles. Avec ses expériences dans l'évaluation des menaces sur les aires protégées, les TGRN (Transfert de Gestion des Ressources Naturelles) et l'appui des communautés dans la conservation, elle contribue à la mise en œuvre de différents projets.

rakotomalala_honore_victor.jpg
Chargé de mission / Bio-énergies / Madagascar

Honoré Victor Rakotomalala

Diplômé en Energies Renouvelables à l'Université d'Antananarivo, Honoré s'est spécialisé dans les énergies biomasse, solaire et hydroélectrique (dimensionnement, production, transport, distribution). Honoré apporte son expertise dans la diffusion des énergies biomasse, dans l'optimisation des filières bois-énergie (foyers) en milieu rural et son expérience en montage/gestion de projet et télécommunications

0_1_.jpg
Chargé de mission

Fety Abel Rakotomalala

Actuellement en thèse, il est diplômé d'un DEA en physique (option géophysique, télédétection et SIG), de la Faculté des Sciences d’Antananarivo de l'Université de Madagascar, il apporte toute son expertise sur les impacts de la déforestation, la cartographie de la biomasse aérienne, l'élaboration de scénario des émissions de référence de CO2

En voir +
anicet_hermann.jpg
Chargé de mission forêt / Agriculture & Marché / Madagascar

Anicet Hermann

Il est titulaire d’un diplôme Master en sciences environnementale de l’ISSEDD (ex-GREEN) à Toamasina Université Barika 5, année 2015. Il a rejoint l'équipe en novembre 2018 sur le projet Talaky à Fort-dauphin. Son expérience en écologie, sociologie et développement durable lui permet de mener bien ses fonctions de Technicien Forêt-Cogestion. Depuis octobre 2020, il est chargé de mission forêt, social et organisation sur MADANACA au Nord de Madagascar

nathalie_sylvia_andrianisa.jpg
Assistante Administrative et Financière / Madagascar

Nathalie Sylvia Andrianisa

Diplômée de l'Institut Supérieur de Technologie d'Antsiranana en Commerce, elle a travaillé comme agent commercial chez Airtel Madagascar de 2012 à 2015, par la suite elle a assumé la fonction du Secrétaire administrative au sein du Programme de Lutte Anti Erosive - PLAE, une ONG ayant comme activité principale la lutte anti-érosive et l'agriculture. Elle a rejoint l'équipe en décembre 2020 en tant qu'assistante Administrative et Financière dans le Nord de Madagascar

jacques_jacques.jpg
Responsable / Forêt & REDD+ / Madagascar

Jacques Jacques

Juriste de formation, il a plus de 20 ans de carrière comme responsable d’appui au développement et d'éducation environnementale au sein de Madagascar National Parks (Parc National Ankarana). Il a rejoint l’équipe MADACANA du Nord en tant que responsable du Transfert de Gestion de Ressources Naturelles pour harmoniser la finalité des objectifs attendus avec l’attente des associations paysans partenaires

sibomana_jean_marie.png
Chargé de mission / Forêts & REDD+ / Madagascar

Jean-Marie Sibomana

Forestier diplômé de l’Ecole Agricole et Forestière de Nyamishaba (Rwanda) et titulaire d’un Certificat spécialisé en Exploitation Forestière et Transformation du bois à Madagascar, Jean-Marie apporte son expertise pour la conception installation des plantations forestières, l’élaboration-suivi des plans de gestion forestière et la mesure des impacts sociaux et environnementaux