NKALOIF - Promote the ingration of smallholder farmers of cashew and sesame in international trade, through the dissemination of helpful and regular information

Start
January 2013
End
December 2014
Project cost
150 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Gambia Mali Senegal

Fields

Agriculture Organic Agriculture Agroprocessing Market

Sectors

Cashew Shea Sesame

Partners

Main goals

Sustainably improve smallholder farmers’ income (+ € 100/year, per family) through better information and marketing risks management in an international environment marked by an instability of agricultural prices and increasing demand.

The cashew and sesame sectors are growing for over 10 years and concern nearly 300,000 producers in the targeted Sudano-Sahelian area. The lack of information up the entire value chain and the low capacity of processing products are serious constraints to the sustainable development of rural populations.

Specific objectives

  • Strengthen the capacity and access to information of 50,000 smallholder farmers, 200 agricultural organisations of producers (OPA) and 7 agricultural organisation of processors including women (representing more than 1,000 women in rural areas)
  • Strengthen women capacity to process agri-food products in rural areas by improving their access to market information and the upgrading of private operators, including certified sustainable relationships (promotion of Fair Trade and Organic agriculture)

Beneficiaries

  • 50,000 smallhorlder farmers (30,000 in Cote d’Ivoire, 10,000 in Burkina Faso, 5,000 in Mali, 5,000 in Senegal and The Gambia)
  • 200 agricultural organisation of producers (OPA)
  • 7 agricultural organisation of processors including 1,000 women (500 women in Cote d’Ivoire, 500 women in Burkina Faso)

Results

R1. 50,000 smallholder farmers improve their incomes via access to the Market Information & Advisory Service. Therefore, improving the economic structuring of OPAs and access to certification
R2. 1,000 employment are sustained in rural areas by a first processing factory and the added value of agricultural products is increased

Activities

A1. Promote access to market information for 50,000 cashew and sesame producers through the establishment of an International Market Information & Advisory Service
A2. Economic and political strengthening of 200 West African Farmers' Organisations
A3. Promote smallholder farmers' access to Organic and Fairtrade certification
A4. Strengthen technical, commercial and organisational capacities of 7 agricultural organisations of cashew processors (OPAs) including women (representing more than 1,000 women)
A5. Support the setting up of an integrated sector between OLAM (industrial group) and cashew processing units in order to promote rural employment especially for women and to increase the added value

Related people

jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more
img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture & Market / Ivory Coast

Serge Kedja

Engineer in Advanced Information Systems (University of Bejaia, Algeria), MSc in Information Technologies (University of Bournemouth, United Kingdom) and Alumni Chevening, he specializes in design, development, management and the capitalization of digital solutions for agriculture in Africa.

See more
image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more

NKALOIF - Favoriser l'insertion des petits producteurs de noix de cajou et de sésame dans le commerce international, par la diffusion d'information utile et régulière

Début
janvier 2013
Fin
décembre 2014
Coût de l’action
150 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Gambie Mali Sénégal

Thématiques

Agriculture Agriculture Biologique Agroprocessing Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Karité Sésame

Partenaires

Objectifs principaux

Améliorer durablement le revenu des petites exploitations familiales (+100€/an par famille) par une meilleure information et gestion des risques de commercialisation, dans un contexte international marqué par l’instabilité des prix agricoles et l’augmentation de la demande

Les filières anacarde et sésame sont en pleine croissance depuis 10 ans et concernent presque 300 000 producteurs sur la zone soudano-sahélienne visée. Le manque d’information à tous les maillons des chaînes de valeur et la faible transformation dans les pays sont des contraintes fortes au développement durable des populations rurales

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Renforcer les capacités et l’accès à l’information de 50 000 petits producteurs, 200 Organisations Professionnelles Agricoles (OPA) de producteurs et 7 OPA de femmes transformatrices (représentant plus de 1000 femmes en milieu rural),
  • Renforcer les capacités des femmes transformatrices de produits agro-alimentaires en milieu rural, grâce à un accès facilité à l’information de marché et à la contractualisation avec des opérateurs privés, incluant des relations durables certifiées (promotion du Commerce Equitable et de l’Agriculture Biologique).

Bénéficiaires

  • 50 000 petits producteurs (30 000 en Côte d’Ivoire, 10 000 au Burkina Faso, 5 000 au Mali, 5000 au Sénégal et Gambie).
  • 200 OPA de producteurs
  • 7 OPA transformatrices représentant 1 000 femmes transformatrices (500 femmes en Côte d’Ivoire, 500 femmes au Burkina Faso)

Résultats

R1. 50 000 petits producteurs améliorent leurs revenus par l’accès à un Service d’Information et d’Accompagnement sur les Marchés (SIAM), améliorant la structuration économique des OPA et l’accès à la certification
R2. 1000 emplois sont pérennisés en milieu rural par une première transformation agro-alimentaire et la valeur ajoutée des produits agricoles est augmentée

Activités

A1. Favoriser l’accès à l’information de marché pour 50 000 producteurs d’anacarde et de sésame à travers la mise en place d’un Service d’Information et d’Accompagnement sur les Marchés Internationaux
A2. Renforcer la structuration économique et politique de 200 Organisations Paysannes d’Afrique de l’Ouest
A3. Favoriser l’accès des petits producteurs à la certification biologique et équitable
A4. Renforcer les capacités techniques, commerciales et organisationnelles de 7 OPA de transformation et de 1000 femmes transformatrices d’anacarde
A5. Accompagner la mise en place d’une filière intégrée entre OLAM, groupe industriel, et des unités transformatrices d’anacarde pour favoriser l’emploi rural, en particulier féminin et accroitre la valeur ajoutée

Personnes associées

jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +
img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture et marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Serge Kedja

Ingénieur en Systèmes d’Information Avancés (Université de Bejaia, Algérie),titulaire d’un MSc en Technologies de l’Information (Université de Bournemouth, Royaume Uni) et Alumni Chevening, il est spécialisé dans la conception, le développement, la gestion et la capitalisation de solutions numériques pour l’agriculture en Afrique.

En voir +
image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +