NKABIZ - Improving competitiveness, profitability and ability to manage business risks of 50,000 smallholder farmers

Start
August 2014
End
November 2015
Project cost
122 000 €
Role in the project
Coordination

Countries

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali

Fields

Agriculture Market

Sectors

Cashew Shea Corn Onion Sesame

Main goals

This project involves the extension and harmonization of service information and business consultancy called N'Kalo in Mali, Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast, an initiative born 6 years ago. The overall objective of this project is to improve the competitiveness, profitability and ability to manage business risks of 50,000 small farmers and 1,500 actors in value chains in West Africa through an economic intelligence service based on expertise in three sectors with high growth and high added value (shea , cashew and sesame), associated with two important channels for household food security (maize and onion).

Specific objectives

  • This project aims the migration of the innovative pilot into economic and methodological validation (confirmation of technical, economic assumptions, impacts)
  • This information service is currently operational in the market for cashew nuts, sesame and shea (Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Burkina Faso and to a lesser extent in Senegal and Chad) and combines market analysis, engaged and tailored advices to users (producers, SMEs, institutions) and technological flexibility

Beneficiaries

  • 50000 smallholder farmers in Mali, Burkina and Cote d’Ivoire (cashew nut, sesame, shea, maize and onions sectors)
  • 1500 leaders of these sectors : commerçants, gestionnaire d’unité de transformation, TPE, coopératives, groupements, union, unité de transformation, banques de céréales…

Results

R1. Training of 3 commercial advisors (Mali, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire) and 1 ICT support officer on information matters
R2. Training of the industries actors (sesame, cashew, shea, maize and onion) to the use of the service and to the participation in its funding
R3. Implementation of ICT tools for broadcasting, subscriptions and payments with mobile network operators
R4. Information and ongoing advice on the markets of agricultural sectors to 50,000 smallholders
R5. Technical and financial autonomy (farmers organizations, utilities, private buyers, telephone operators, users)

Activities

A1. Structuring and empower local supply business intelligence : to develop local skills that can strengthen the capacity of involved sector stakeholders and empower the sub regional business intelligence services
A2. Stimulate local demand for regular information and adapted to a variety of users : provide an extensive and annually renewed training on technical production and marketing of agricultural products that will allow beneficiaries to effectively use the broadcasted information
A3. Promote technical conditions, at a competitive cost, that allows the information dissemination, the collection of subscriptions and the sharing of financial resources generated : the focus will be to use any means available in order to achieve an efficient and inexpensive dissemination over GSM networks
A4. Support the service's growth: the 3 previous activities helps to provide an information dissemination system on markets evolution for the sectors concerned in real time. This is primarily a weekly SMS broadcasting system
A5. Maturation of the market: the project will be designed to rely on a financial model where the intervention of public institutions, private organizations, telephone operators and users, will result in a viable stand-alone service, and possibly profitable. Our first year goal is to generate a turnover of € 30,000 to cover local human resources

clipboard01.png

Related people

cheikh_loum.jpeg
Project Officer / Agriculture & Market / Senegal

Cheikh Ousmane Loum

Holder of a Master II in "Territories planning - Decentralisation and local development" at the Faculty of Geography of the Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar. He is an expert in agricultural market analysis, training and in supporting producer organisations

See more
photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Associate Expert

Soungari Sekongo

Engineer in Tropical Agronomy from the CIED, option "plant production", he brings his expertise in agricultural markets analysis, advising-supporting actors, vegetable production and supporting professional agricultural organizations (management, capacity building)

See more
image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture & Market / Ivory Coast

Serge Kedja

Engineer in Advanced Information Systems (University of Bejaia, Algeria), MSc in Information Technologies (University of Bournemouth, United Kingdom) and Alumni Chevening, he specializes in design, development, management and the capitalization of digital solutions for agriculture in Africa.

See more
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more

NKABIZ - Amélioration de la compétitivité, la rentabilité et la capacité à gérer les risques commerciaux de 50 000 petits producteurs

Début
août 2014
Fin
novembre 2015
Coût de l’action
122 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination

Pays

Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Mali

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde Karité Maïs Oignon Sésame

Objectifs principaux

Ce projet vise l’extension et l’harmonisation d’un service d’information et de conseil commercial appelé n'kalô au Mali, au Burkina et en Côte d’Ivoire, né d’une initiative il y a 6 ans. L’objectif général du projet est l’amélioration de la compétitivité, la rentabilité et la capacité à gérer les risques commerciaux de 50 000 petits producteurs agricoles et 1500 acteurs des filières agroalimentaires en Afrique de l’Ouest grâce à un service d’intelligence économique engagée fondé sur une expertise pour trois filières à forte croissance et forte valeur ajoutée (karité, anacarde et sésame), associées à deux filières importantes pour la sécurité alimentaire des ménages (maïs et l’oignon).

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Le présent projet vise le passage de pilote innovant à une validation économique et méthodologique (confirmation des hypothèses techniques, économiques, impacts)
  • Ce service d’information est actuellement opérationnel sur le marché de l’anacarde, du sésame et du karité (en Côte d’Ivoire, au Mali au Burkina Faso et dans une moindre mesure au Sénégal et au Tchad) et combine analyse des marchés, conception de conseils engagés, adaptés aux utilisateurs (producteurs, PME, institutions) et souplesse technologique

Bénéficiaires

  • 50000 petits producteurs au Mali, Burkina et Côte d’Ivoire des filières anacarde, sésame, karité, maïs et oignons
  • 1500 acteurs leaders des filières: commerçants, gestionnaire d’unité de transformation, TPE, coopératives, groupements, union, unité de transformation, banques de céréales…

Résultats

R1. Développer des compétences locales à même de renforcer les capacités des acteurs des filières visées et d’autonomiser le service d’intelligence économique sous-régional
R2. Formation des acteurs des filières sésame, anacarde, karité, maïs, oignons à l’utilisation du service et à la participation à son financement pour renforcer les capacités des institutions, PME, OPA et des producteurs à l’utilisation d’une information pour la prise de décision
R3. Mise en place d’outils TIC de diffusion/souscription/paiement par mobile avec les opérateurs téléphoniques
R4. Information et conseil continus sur les marchés des filières agricoles à 50 000 petits producteurs
R5. Autonomie technique et financière (OPA, services publics, acheteurs privés, opérateurs téléphoniques, utilisateurs)

Activités

A1. Structurer et autonomiser l’offre locale en intelligence économique: développer des compétences locales à même de renforcer les capacités des acteurs des filières visées et d’autonomiser le service d’intelligence économique sous-régional
A2. Stimuler la demande locale d’une information régulière et adaptée à une multitude d’usagers: fournir une formation approfondie et renouvelée tous les ans sur les techniques de production et sur la commercialisation des produits agricoles qui permettra aux bénéficiaires d’utiliser efficacement les informations diffusées
A3. Favoriser les conditions techniques, à un coût compétitif, permettant la diffusion des informations, la collecte des abonnements et le partage des ressources financières générées : il s’agira principalement d’utiliser tout moyen disponible afin d’aboutir à un système de diffusion efficace et à moindre coût via les réseaux GSM
A4. Accompagner la croissance du service: les 3 activités précédentes permettent de mettre à disposition un système de diffusion par SMS hebdomadairesdes informations sur l’évolution des marchés des filières concernées en temps réel
A5. Maturation du marché: le projet sera conçu de manière à s’appuyer sur un modèle financier où l’intervention des institutions publiques, des structures privées, des opérateurs téléphoniques et des utilisateurs, permettra d’aboutir à un service viable, autonome et éventuellement rentable. L’objectif sur la première année est de générer un chiffre d’affaire de 30 000 € permettant de couvrir les ressources humaines locales

clipboard01.png

Personnes associées

cheikh_loum.jpeg
Représentant au Sénégal

Cheikh Ousmane Loum

Diplômé d'un Master 2 en Aménagement du territoire - Décentralisation et Développement local de la faculté de Géographie de l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar, il est un expert en analyse des marchés agricoles et en formation et accompagnement des organisations de producteurs

En voir +
photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Expert associé

Soungari Sekongo

Diplômé du CIED en tant qu'ingénieur en agronomie tropicale option production végétale, il apporte son expertise sur l'analyse des filières agricoles, l’appui-conseil aux acteurs, la production végétale et l'appui aux organisations professionnelles agricoles (gestion, renforcement des capacités)

En voir +
image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer et Responsable du développement N'kalô / Agriculture et marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Serge Kedja

Ingénieur en Systèmes d’Information Avancés (Université de Bejaia, Algérie),titulaire d’un MSc en Technologies de l’Information (Université de Bournemouth, Royaume Uni) et Alumni Chevening, il est spécialisé dans la conception, le développement, la gestion et la capitalisation de solutions numériques pour l’agriculture en Afrique.

En voir +
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / France

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +