PROCASHEW - Baseline evaluation of the West Africa Value Chain (PRO-Cashew) Project Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, and Nigeria

Start
October 2020
End
December 2020
Project cost
80 000 €
Role in the project
Cashew and Baseline Expertise

Countries

Benin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Ghana Nigeria

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Market ICT

Sectors

Cashew

Main goals

The five-year United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) PRO-Cashew project will work to boost the competitiveness of West African producers by improving efficiency and quality in production and trade, and by working to develop more coherent regional trade and investment policies. In doing so, the project will strengthen producer capacities as well as develop incentives to renovate and rehabilitate cashew farms, improve production and quality, and create a more competitive West African raw cashew nut for the international market.

Specific objectives

SO1. Capacity Building
SO2. In-Kind Grants for Equipment & Inputs
SO3. Develop Agrodealers & Input Suppliers
SO4. Develop an Integrated Data System
SO5. Disperse Improved Market Information
SO6. Improve Policy & Regulatory Framework

Beneficiaries

  • RCN farmers
  • Cashew growing communities (in addition to RFP requirement). These will include a wider cross section of members of the community and have mixed groups as well as well as women only and youths only groups. The purpose is to gain deeper insight into community dynamics, power relations, needs, barriers, and opportunities associated with cashew growing
  • RCN farmer organizations
  • Agro-food commodity companies
  • Service providers
  • Extension agents
  • Government officials (also including leaders of national sector associations)
  • Researchers and academics (in addition to RFP requirement). This is to learn more about the state, effectiveness and needs of research and innovation capacities in the country

Results

R1. $103.7 million in annual sales of farmers and firms as a result of USDA assistance
R2. $3.7 million accessed in agricultural-related financing as a result of USDA assistance
R3. 728,516 individuals benefiting as a result of USDA assistance
R4. 340 jobs created

Activities

A1. Final Baseline Evaluation Workplan, with a full suite of all methodological information, tools and templates and a time plan
A2. Data collection report (upon completion of data collection). Data will be collected through Farmer surveys (1650), Key informant Interview and Focus Group Discussions
A3. Preliminary Baseline Report, with evaluation results in graphical and tabular form, conclusions and recommendations, and full data
A4. Final Baseline Evaluation Report, and presentation of findings

Related people

photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Associate Expert

Soungari Sekongo

Engineer in Tropical Agronomy from the CIED, option "plant production", he brings his expertise in agricultural markets analysis, advising-supporting actors, vegetable production and supporting professional agricultural organizations (management, capacity building)

See more
photo_kadiri.jpg
Project Officer / Agriculture & Market / Ghana

Rashad Kadiri

Holder of a Master’s Degree in Management Studies from the University for Development Studies, UDS in Ghana. Areas of expertise include project management, agriculture value chain development, design and implementation of community and rural development programs, agriculture market analysis and business advocacy. Since, he has worked in rural communities and with Farmer Based Organizations (FBOs) particularly in the Northern Sector of Ghana. He has contributed immensely in the establishment and administration of the Cereal Inter-professional Committee of Ghana (CIC-Ghana) as part of the West African Grain Network (WAGN)

clipboard17.jpg
Project officer

Moussa Bingboure

Graduate of a Master in Economics and Management, option Agricultural Economics and Environment at Norbert Zongo University, specialty: Natural Resource Management and Rural / Sustainable Development. He brings expertise in sustainable community development in agriculture, natural resource management, project design and coordination, value chain analysis, and social and environmental impacts.

ida.png
Project officer

Ida Drabo

Graduated as Design Engineer in Agricultural Extension at the University Nazi Boni Bobo Dioulasso-Burkina Faso, she brings her expertise in supporting producers in the adoption of innovative technologies. In particular the support and the accompaniment of the actors of the sector in the marketing of shea on the national and international level

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more
griffon.png
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more

PROCASHEW - Baseline évaluation du projet sur la chaîne de valeur noix de cajou en Afrique de l’Ouest (PRO-Cashew) au Bénin, au Burkina Faso, en Côte d’Ivoire, au Ghana et au Nigéria

Début
octobre 2020
Fin
décembre 2020
Coût de l’action
80 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Cashew and Baseline Expertise

Pays

Bénin Burkina Faso Côte d’Ivoire Ghana Nigéria

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Marché TIC

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde

Objectifs principaux

Le projet PRO-Cashew du Département de l'agriculture des États-Unis (USDA), d'une durée de cinq ans, travaillera à renforcer la compétitivité des producteurs ouest-africains de noix de cajou en améliorant l'efficacité et la qualité de la production et du commerce, et en travaillant à l'élaboration de politiques régionales de commerce et d'investissement plus cohérentes. Ce faisant, le projet renforcera les capacités des producteurs et développera des incitations pour rénover et réhabiliter les exploitations de cajou, améliorer la production et la qualité, et créer une noix de cajou brute d'Afrique de l'Ouest plus compétitive pour le marché international.

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Renforcement des capacités
OS2. Subventions en nature pour l'équipement et les intrants
OS3. Développer les services des agro-distributeurs et des fournisseurs d'intrants
OS4. Développer un système de gestion des données intégré
OS5. Diffuser des informations de marché avancées
OS6. Améliorer le cadre politique et réglementaire

Bénéficiaires

  • Producteurs de noix de cajou brute
  • Les communautés productrices de cajou. Ceux-ci comprendront un échantillon plus large de membres de la communauté et auront des groupes mixtes ainsi que des groupes de femmes et de jeunes uniquement. Le but est de mieux comprendre la dynamique communautaire, les relations de pouvoir, les besoins, les obstacles et les opportunités associés à la culture du cajou.
  • Organisations paysannes de la noix de cajou
  • Entreprises de matières premières agro-alimentaires
  • Les fournisseurs de services
  • Agents de vulgarisation
  • Fonctionnaires gouvernementaux (y compris les dirigeants des associations sectorielles nationales)
  • Chercheurs et universitaires. Il s'agit d'en savoir plus sur l'état, l'efficacité et les besoins des capacités de recherche et d'innovation dans le pays

Résultats

R1. 103,7 millions de dollars de ventes annuelles des agriculteurs et des entreprises grâce à l'aide de l'USDA
R2. 3,7 millions de dollars de financement obtenus grâce à l'aide de l'USDA
R3. 728 516 personnes bénéficiant de l'aide de l'USDA
R4. 340 emplois créés

Activités

A1. Plan de travail final d'évaluation de base, avec une suite complète de toutes les informations méthodologiques, outils et modèles et un calendrier
A2. Rapport de collecte de données (une fois toute la collecte de données terminée). Les données seront collectées au moyen d'enquêtes auprès des agriculteurs (1650), d'entrevues avec des informateurs clés et de groupes de discussion
A3. Rapport de base préliminaire, avec les résultats de l'évaluation sous forme de graphique et de tableaux, conclusions et recommandations et données brutes complètes
A4. Rapport final de la baseline évaluation et présentation des résultats

Personnes associées

photo_sek_n_kalo.png
Expert associé

Soungari Sekongo

Diplômé du CIED en tant qu'ingénieur en agronomie tropicale option production végétale, il apporte son expertise sur l'analyse des filières agricoles, l’appui-conseil aux acteurs, la production végétale et l'appui aux organisations professionnelles agricoles (gestion, renforcement des capacités)

En voir +
photo_kadiri.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marchés / Ghana

Rashad Kadiri

Titulaire d’une maîtrise de gestion de l’Université des études sur le développement (UDS) au Ghana incluant des formations sur le développement de la chaîne de valeur agricole, la conception et la mise en œuvre de programmes de développement communautaire et l’analyse des marchés agricoles. Il a ensuite exercé dans les communautés rurales et les organisations d'agriculteurs, en particulier dans le secteur nord du Ghana et a contribué à la création du Comité interprofessionnel des céréales du Ghana (CIC-Ghana) du réseau céréalier d'Afrique de l'Ouest (WAGN)

clipboard17.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture et Marché / Burkina

Moussa Bingboure

Diplômé d’un Master en Sciences Economique et de Gestion, option Economie Agricole et de l’Environnement à l’Université Norbert Zongo, spécialité : Gestion des ressources naturelles et développement rural/durable. Il apporte son expertise en matière de developpement communautaire durable dans l'agriculture, dans la gestion des ressources naturelles, le montage et coordination de projets, l'analyse des chaînes de valeur et des impacts sociaux et environnementaux

ida.png
Chargée de mission

Ida Drabo

Diplômée en Ingénieur de conception en Vulgarisation Agricole à l’Université Nazi Boni de Bobo Dioulasso- Burkina Faso, elle apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs dans l’adoption des technologies innovantes. Notamment l’appui et l’accompagnement des acteurs de la filière dans la commercialisation du karité au niveau national et international

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +