SAP - The traceability of the world leader at the service of cashew nut cooperatives

Start
October 2013
End
December 2015
Project cost
10 300 €
Role in the project
Technical assistance

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Agriculture Market ICT

Sectors

Cashew

Main goals

Test, evaluate and improve a traceability software with SAP barcodes dedicated to producer organizations (cooperatives)
As part of the African Cashew Initiative (ICA) and initiated by funding from the German Cooperation (GIZ), RONGEAD and its partner in Côte d'Ivoire, the NGO Chigata, have been collaborating since 2014 with the international publisher of SAP software for the deployment and evaluation of software tools developed by SAP for the professionalization of cashew marketing activities in rural areas. The project deployed by RONGEAD and Chigata involves cashew producers via their organizations, thanks to the use of a specific version of the SAP Rural Sourcing Management (RSM) tool. This tool allows you to record any transaction carried out by a producer organization, thus facilitating the monitoring and analysis of flows across the cooperative. Three producer organizations were included in the project, making a total of 1,534 producers. Each organization has dedicated agents to capture transactions within the mobile application, allowing the organization to maintain its usual management style and compare results. The designated officers received training in the use of the application, deployed on terminals provided by SAP (around twenty in total), with RONGEAD and Chigata as facilitators. The latter ensured a permanent follow-up of the behavior of the actors vis-à-vis the tool on the ground (monitoring, bugs, feedbacks of the users, proposals and discussions on the possible optimizations and improvements of the tool, reinforcement of the capacities of the agents, etc.).

Specific objectives

Rural Sourcing Management (abbreviated RSM) is a non-standard software developed by SAP for the tracking of transactions in agricultural commodities trading. It was born of the will of SAP and its partners to use technology to reduce poverty in the rural world. It is adapted according to the needs of the various partners involved in the various pilots made in Africa. It is a tool that comes in the form of a mobile application and that allows to record multiple information necessary for the management of transactions in agricultural activities.

  • Work in partnership with ICA, SAP, Chigata and producer organizations (COOGES, CPNK and COWONA) in Côte d'Ivoire to implement pilot projects in the field of cashew marketing in Côte d'Ivoire Ivory
  • Consider collaborating with Fairtrade Africa (FTA) and Fairtrade International (FLO)
  • Collect information on transactions and prices at the producer group level in order to use it for the Rongead / Chigata Market Information System
  • Distribution of information to producer groups by mass SMS

Beneficiaries

3 cashew producer organizations CPNK, COWONA, COOGES 1534 producers

Results

At the end of the two years of the pilot and several field activities, the results obtained are encouraging:
R1. The application has matured (functions more adapted to the rural world, increased flexibility, intuitive interface, etc.) thus making its use more user-friendly for the targets
R2. Improved application resulted in higher transaction volume in 2015 than in 2014
R3. The partners therefore evaluate the possibilities of evolution of the software by including the implication of new actors to lead to a more efficient system

Activities

The activities carried out by RONGEAD as a field facilitator for producer organizations are:
A1. Assist producer organizations in coordinating activities in the field
A2. Participate in periodic prototype software development cycles in consultation with SAP and organizations
A3. Collaborate with FTA and FLO experts
A4. Participate in periodic reviews and evaluations with SAP
A5. Provide feedback related to SAP field experimentation (at project launch and end of project)

Related people

img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture & Market / Ivory Coast

Serge Kedja

Engineer in Advanced Information Systems (University of Bejaia, Algeria), MSc in Information Technologies (University of Bournemouth, United Kingdom) and Alumni Chevening, he specializes in design, development, management and the capitalization of digital solutions for agriculture in Africa.

See more
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
jg.jpg
Project Manager / Agriculture & Market / France

Julien Gonnet

Holder of a Professional Master II in Sustainable Development from the University of Geneva and a Master I in Geography from the University of Jean Moulin, he brings his expertise in project building and project management on agricultural markets, the use of ICT within the agriculture sector, the implementation of certification (organic, fair...) and engineering training

See more

SAP - La traçabilité du leader mondial au service des coopératives de noix de cajou

Début
octobre 2013
Fin
décembre 2015
Coût de l’action
10 300 €
Rôle dans l'action
Assistance technique

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agriculture Marché TIC

Filières

Cajou/Anacarde

Objectifs principaux

Tester, évaluer et améliorer un logiciel de traçabilité avec des codes barres SAP dédiés aux organisations de producteurs (coopératives)

Dans le cadre de l’Initiative du Cajou Africain (ICA) et initié par un financement de la coopération allemande (GIZ), RONGEAD et son partenaire en Côte d’Ivoire, l’ONG Chigata, collaborent depuis 2014 avec l’éditeur international de logiciels SAP sur le déploiement et l’évaluation des outils logiciels, développés par SAP, pour la professionnalisation des activités de commercialisation d’anacarde en milieu rural. Le projet déployé par RONGEAD et Chigata implique les producteurs de cajou via leurs organisations, grâce à l’utilisation d’une mouture spécifique de l’outil SAP Rural Sourcing Management (RSM). Cet outil permet d’enregistrer toute transaction effectuée par une organisation de producteurs, facilitant ainsi le suivi et l’analyse des flux à l’échelle de la coopérative. Trois organisations de producteurs ont été intégrées au projet soit un total de 1534 producteurs. Chaque organisation a désigné des agents dédiés à la saisie des transactions au sein de l’application mobile, permettant ainsi à l’organisation de garder son mode de gestion habituel et de comparer les résultats obtenus. Les agents désignés ont bénéficié d’une formation à l’utilisation de l’application, déployée sur des terminaux fournis par SAP (une vingtaine au total), avec RONGEAD et Chigata en facilitateurs. Ces derniers ont assuré un suivi permanent du comportement des acteurs vis-à-vis de l’outil sur le terrain (monitoring, bugs, feedbacks des utilisateurs, propositions et discussions sur les possibles optimisations et améliorations de l’outil, renforcement des capacités des agents, etc.).

Objectifs spécifiques

Rural Sourcing Management (abrégé RSM) est un logiciel non standard, développé par SAP et destiné au suivi des transactions dans le commerce des produits agricoles. Il est né de la volonté de SAP et de ses partenaires d’utiliser la technologie pour faire reculer la pauvreté dans le monde rural. Il est adapté en fonction des besoins des divers partenaires impliqués dans les différents pilotes réalisés en Afrique. C’est un outil qui se présente sous la forme d’une application mobile et qui permet d’enregistrer de multiples informations nécessaires à la gestion des transactions dans les activités agricoles.

  • Travailler en partenariat avec l'ICA, SAP, Chigata et les organsiations de producteurs (COOGES, CPNK et COWONA) en Côte d'Ivoire afin d'implémenter les projets pilotes réalisés sur le terrain dans le domaine de la commercialisation du cajou en Côte d'Ivoire
  • Envisager de collaborer avec Fairtrade Africa (FTA) et Fairtrade International (FLO)
  • Collecter l'information sur les transactions et prix au niveau des groupements des producteurs afin de pouvoir l'utiliser pour le système d'information de marché de Rongead/Chigata
  • Distribution d'information aux groupements de producteurs par SMS de masses

Bénéficiaires

3 organisations de producteurs de cajou CPNK, COWONA, COOGES 1534 producteurs

Résultats

Au terme des deux années du pilote et de plusieurs activités de terrain, les résultats obtenus sont encourageants:

R1. L’application a gagné en maturité (fonctions plus adaptées au monde rural, souplesse accrue, interface intuitive, etc.) rendant ainsi son utilisation plus conviviale pour les cibles
R2. L'amélioration de l'application s'est traduite par un volume de transactions plus élevé en 2015 qu’en 2014
R3. Les partenaires évaluent donc les possibilités d’évolution du logiciel en incluant l’implication de nouveaux acteurs pour aboutir à un système plus performant

Activités

Les activités menées par RONGEAD en tant que facilitateur sur le terrain auprès des organisations de producteurs sont:

A1. Assister les organisations de producteurs dans la coordination des activités sur le terrain
A2. Participer à des cycles périodiques de développement de logiciel prototype en consultation avec SAP et les organisations
A3. Collaborer avec des experts de FTA et FLO
A4. Participer aux commentaires et aux évaluations périodiques avec SAP
A5. Fournir des commentaires relatifs à l'expérimentation sur le terrain du progiciel SAP (au lancement du projet et en fin de projet)

Personnes associées

img_20170326_104035992.jpg
ICT Business Developer / Agriculture et marché / Côte d'Ivoire

Serge Kedja

Ingénieur en Systèmes d’Information Avancés (Université de Bejaia, Algérie),titulaire d’un MSc en Technologies de l’Information (Université de Bournemouth, Royaume Uni) et Alumni Chevening, il est spécialisé dans la conception, le développement, la gestion et la capitalisation de solutions numériques pour l’agriculture en Afrique.

En voir +
20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
jg.jpg
Chargé de projets / Agriculture & Marché / France

Julien Gonnet

Diplômé d'un Master 2 professionnel en Développement durable de l'Université de Genève et d'une maîtrise de géographie de l'Université Jean Moulin, il apporte son expertise en montage et gestion de projets sur les marchés agricoles, l'utilisation des TIC en agriculture, la mise en place de certifications (biologique, équitable...) et l'ingénieurie de formation

En voir +