PONASI2 - Sustainable landscapes and inclusive supply chains

Start
July 2021
End
July 2024
Project cost
840 000 €
Role in the project
General Coordination

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Agriculture Agroforestry Spatial Planning Biodiversity Climate Degradation-Restoration Forest ICT

Sectors

Timber Shea Rice

Partners

CERDE - Centre d’Etudes et de Recherches sur le Droit de l’Environnement · EU - European Union

Main goals

In the continuation of the PONASI project, the objective here is the achievement of a sustainable management and a social and economic valorization of natural resources of the PONASI landscape, promoting the development of the local economy

Specific objectives

SO1. Commitment to sustainable management of forest resources
SO2. Development of all-season income-generating activities for the benefit of women and a significant contribution to the State's commitments in carbon capture

Beneficiaries

  • Inhabitants of 4 villages of the 3 rural communes of Bieha, Guiaro, and Nobere located between the Protected Areas
  • An estimation of 150 villages and 60,000 inhabitants in addition to the 30 villages supported by PONASI and the 20 others by WAKANDA

Results

R1. Development of forest areas through effective and sustainable community management and use of forest ecosystems
R2. Sustainable rural economy developed through a structuring of inclusive sectors at the local level (establishment of inclusive sectors for women and youth in targeted villages)
R3. Project management and communication provided and inter-municipal cooperation strengthened

Market gardeners in one of the 4 villages concerned by the project

Activities

A1. Standardization of a legal, legitimate, fair and equitable community management model
A2. Development and consensual approval of documents for community regulation
A3 Promotion of optimal production and organized comercialization of forest products and services from village conservation areas
A4. Development of an information kit on forestry jobs (development of income-generating forestry activities through market gardening and other agricultural sectors)
A5. Support for the development of improved dolo stoves (mapping, choice of species and establishment of productive water sources and adequate watering devices)
A6. Community involvement for the rehabilitation or reforestation of forest areas (3090ha)
A7. Identification and protection of market gardening areas and supervision of intensive production on 4 ha (support for marketing, rainfed crops adapted to the agro-ecological transition)
A8. Soil and biomass inventory and carbon assessment in village forests and conservation areas
A9. Support for the development of inter-communal cooperation, socio-cultural activities and promotion of solidarity in the periphery of the PONASI PAs (steering committee, mutual solidarity), solar system for household electrification...

Related people

jules_souleymane_gaye.jpg
Country representative in Burkina-Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Holder of a Master II in "Accounting and Financial Management" from the International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston, USA, he brings his expertise in sustainable community development in West Africa, particularly in the fields of identification and enhancement of local individual or collective initiatives

See more
clovis_grinand.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in Functional Ecology and Agronomic Sciences (SupAgro, IRD and CIRAD) and specialized in Localized Information Systems for Spatial Planning (AgroParisTech), he is an expert in land use change monitoring using remote sensing, digital soil mapping and spatial modeling applied to forestry, agronomy and landscape ecology. He is the author of numerous international scientific publications.

See more
marie.png
Project Manager / Forest & REDD + / France

Marie Nourtier

PhD in Forest sciences conducted at INRA Avignon, EMMAH research lab, she brings her expertise in forest ecology, support for REDD+ mechanism and carbon accounting, Environmental and social impact assessment of projects, project management and supervision of technical work

See more
romaric.jpg
Project Officer / Energy / Burkina

Romaric Aouake

Holder of an engineering degree in management of mining, oil and energy activities, Romaric joined Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire in January 2018 and currently holds the position of Energy Project Manager for the REDD + Project of Mé. He brings his expertise in the improvement of carbonization techniques and the support of local biomass energy recovery and energy efficiency projects.

loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager / Bioenergy & Waste / France

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
sacla_aide_2.png
Project Officer / Energy / Burkina

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Design & Mechanical Engineer, specialised in "Energy and industrial technician in mechanical production" from the Ecole Polytechnique of Abomey Calavi (EPAC) in Benin, he brings his expertise in renewable energy including biomass energy recovery and industrial process

See more
ismael_nombre.jpg
Field and Logistic Coordinator / Forest & REDD+ / Burkina

Ismaël Nombré

Graduate of a Master's degree in Economics and management option agricultural economy and environment of the University of Koudougou in Burkina Faso. He brings expertise in the management of local development projects, extension of water conservation techniques, land/soil protection and restoration (CES/DRS) and support for income generating activity in the valuation of non-timber forest products

ardjata_sontie.jpg
Forestry Advisor / Forest & REDD+ / Burkina-Faso

Ardjata Sontie

Rural Development Engineer, Waters and Forests option at the Rural Development Institute of the Nazi Boni University of Bobo, she conducted research on the production and genetic variability of shea at INERA, and on solutions for adaptation to climate change and the contribution of vegetation to the resilience of the population in WASCAL. She brings her expertise in supporting communities on good management practices and protection of community forests

PONASI2 - Paysages durables et filières inclusives

Début
juillet 2021
Fin
juillet 2024
Coût de l’action
840 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Coordination Générale

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroforesterie Aménagement du Territoire Biodiversité Climat Dégradation-Restauration Forêt TIC

Filières

Bois d'œuvre Karité Riz

Partenaires

CERDE - Centre d’Etudes et de Recherches sur le Droit de l’Environnement · UE - Union européenne

Objectifs principaux

Dans la continuité du projet PONASI, l'objectif ici est l'obtention d'une gestion durable et d'une valorisation sociale et économique des ressources naturelles du paysage PONASI, favorisant le développement de l’économie locale

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Engagement dans la gestion durable des ressources forestières
OS2. Développement d’activités génératrices de revenus de toutes saisons au profit des femmes et d’une contribution significative aux engagements de l’Etat en captation de carbone

Bénéficiaires

  • Les habitants de 4 villages des 3 communes rurales (Biéha, Guiaro, et Nobéré) situés entre les Aires Protégées
  • Une estimation de 150 villages et 60 000 habitants complètant les 30 villages supportés par PONASI et les 20 autres par WAKANDA

Résultats

R1. Valorisation des espaces forestiers par une gestion et utilisation communautaire des écosystèmes forestiers effective et durable
R2. Économie rurale durable développée à travers une structuration de filières inclusives au niveau des terroirs (mise en place de filières inclusives pour les femmes et les jeunes dans les villages cibles)
R3. Gestion et communication du projet assurées et coopération intercommunale renforcée

Activités

A1. Formalisation d’un modèle de gestion communautaire légal, légitime, juste et équitable
A2. Elaboration et homologation consensuelle des documents pour une régulation communautaire
A3 Promotion d’une production optimale et une commercialisation organisée des produits et services forestiers des zones villageoises de conservation
A4. Elaboration d’une trousse d’information sur les métiers de foresterie (développement des activités forestières génératrices de revenus à travers la filière maraîchage et autres filières agricoles)
A5. Appui au développement des foyers améliorés dolo (cartographie, choix des espèces et mise en place de sources d’eau productives et dispositifs d’arrosage adéquats)
A6. Mobilisation communautaire pour la réhabilitation ou reforestation des périmètres forestiers (3090ha)
A7. Identification et protection des périmètres maraîchers et encadrement à une production intensive sur 4 ha (accompagnement à la commercialisation, aux cultures pluviales adaptées à la transition agro-écologique)
A8. Inventaire sols, biomasse et évaluation carbone dans les forêts villageoises et zones de conservation
A9. Appui au développement de la coopération intercommunale, d’activités socio-culturelles et de promotion de la solidarité en périphérie des AP du paysage PONASI (comité de pilotage, mutuelle de solidarité, système solaire pour l’électrification des ménages...)

Personnes associées

clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets / France

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +
marie.png
Chargée de projets / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Marie Nourtier

Docteure de l’UAPV et de l'INRA d’Avignon - Unité EMMAH – en sciences forestières, elle apporte son expertise en termes d'écologie forestière, d'appui au mécanisme REDD+ et comptabilité carbone, de suivi environnemental (eau, biodiversité, occupation du sol, etc.), de développement de stratégies de réduction de la déforestation et supervision de travail technique

En voir +
romaric.jpg
Chargé de mission / Energie / Burkina-Faso

Romaric Aouake

Titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur en gestion des activités minières, pétrolières et énergétiques, Romaric a rejoint Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en Janvier 2018 en tant que chargé de mission énergie du Projet REDD+ de la Mé. Il apporte maintenant son expertise en termes d’amélioration des techniques de carbonisation dans le cadre du projet PONASI.

sacla_aide_2.png
Chargé de mission / Energie / Burkina-Faso

Magloire Sacla Aïde

Diplômé en Ingénieur de conception en Génie Mécanique, Option Energétique et technicien industriel en fabrication mécanique de l'Ecole Polytechnique d’Abomey Calavi - EPAC (Bénin), il apporte son expertise dans les énergies renouvelables et notamment la valorisation énergétique de la biomasse et le procédé industriel

En voir +
ismael_nombre.jpg
Coordinateur Terrain et Logistique / Forêt & REDD+ / Burkina-Faso

Ismaël Nombré

Diplômé d’une Maîtrise en Sciences économiques et gestion option économie agricole et de l’environnement de l’Université de Koudougou au Burkina Faso. Il apporte son expertise dans la gestion des projets de développement local, la vulgarisation des techniques de conservation des eaux et des sols, la défense et restauration des sols (CES/DRS) et l’appui aux activités génératrices de revenus (AGR) par la valorisation des produits forestiers non ligneux

ardjata_sontie.jpg
Conseillère en Foresterie / Forêt & REDD+ / Burkina-Faso

Ardjata Sontie

Ingénieure du Développement Rural option Eaux et Forêts de l'Institut du Développement Rural de l'Université Nazi Boni de Bobo, elle a mené des travaux de recherche sur la production et la variabilité génétique du karité à l'INERA, sur des solutions d'adaptation aux changement climatique et la contribution de la végétation à la résilience de la population à WASCAL. Elle apporte son expertise dans l'accompagnement des communautés sur les bonnes pratiques d'aménagement et de protection des forêts communautaires

pierre_sutter.jpg
Chargé de projet - Systèmes Agraires - Territoires - Agro-écologie / Agriculture & Marché / Sénégal

Pierre Sutter

Diplômé Ingénieur en Agriculture, Spécialisé en Agroécologie de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISA), il apporte son expertise à l'appui méthodologique des équipes sur la réalisation de diagnostic à l'échelle du territoire et de la parcelle pour faire évoluer les règles de gestions des ressources naturelles et co-construire des pratiques agricoles innovantes avec les producteur.rices. Basé à Dakar au service de l'Afrique de l'Ouest & du Centre.

lucas_veysman.jpg
Chargé de mission carbone / Forêt & REDD+ / France

Lucas Veysman

Ingénieur agronome de formation "Développement Agricole" à AgroParisTech. Après avoir œuvré à l’élaboration de politiques publiques pour la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre à la Banque de France, il a rejoint l’équipe avec son expertise la décarbonation des filières agricoles. Il est spécialisé dans l'évaluation des quantités de gaz à effet de serre émis, évités et séquestrés lors des projets de Nitidæ. Son autre mission est de calculer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre générées par les approvisionnements en produits tropicaux, notamment pour des filières sensibles aux changements d'usages des sols