TERRI4SOL - Implementation of a multifunctional management scenario of agricultural, forestry and post-forestry territories in the Mé region

Start
January 2021
End
January 2024
Project cost
430 000 €
Role in the project
Project Coordinator

Countries

Côte d’Ivoire

Fields

Organic Agriculture Agroforestry Spatial Planning Bioenergy Biodiversity Climate Forest Market

Sectors

Cocoa

Main goals

Collaborative construction of scenarios, implementation in the plots and evaluation of both climatic and socio-economic effects.

Specific objectives

The project is built in complementarity with the Cocoa4Future project and aims to work on low-carbon rural development scenarios. The idea is to co-construct low-carbon development scenarios with beneficiary communities, implementing them to evaluate climatic and socio-economic impacts afterwards.

Beneficiaries

  • Villages of Bieby, Mebifon and Mopodji
  • About 450 producers supported in the implementation of low-carbon practices on their farms

Results

R1. Local analysis of regional scenarios and co-construction of local consensus scenarios (focus groups, participatory modeling workshops)
R2. Analysis of local socio-economic and environmental factors as well as impacts of each scenario for 3 villages included in the project following a participatory approach to formalize local scenarios of changes, practices and land use defined with the concerned populations
R3. Assessment of carbon and socio-economic impacts using a tool already in place that updates model parameters with data on socio-economic parameters collected and biophysical data recorded by demonstrators
R4. Support for producers who have implemented at least one low-carbon practice in their farming system

Activities

A1. Completion and update of agrarian diagnostics carried out by Nitidæ within the framework of the Mé REDD+ Project to provide necessary information for the design of local scenarios, low-carbon demonstrators, support to producers and monitoring-evaluation of component's effects by developing partnerships with the company Inprobois for production of wood in agroforestry
A2. Deployment of low-carbon demonstrators in each of the villages targeted by the project and incorporation of various pilot plots of low-carbon practices to implement in situ the strategy of preservation and restoration of organic carbon stocks (key land use transitions, technical itineraries)
A3. Implementation of measures for the support of producers in low-carbon practices, based on activities already carried out by Nitidæ within the framework of the MRP, in particular regarding the delivery of land certificates so that producers can invest without fear in low-carbon practices with an impact that is often deferred in time
A4. Implementation of demonstrators and accompanying measures that have improved carbon footprint, socio-economic and food security indicators in the 3 targeted villages

Related people

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Director

Cédric Rabany

Holder of a Master of Science, "Agricultural Engineer and territories development" from the Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture (ISARA Lyon), he brings his expertise in agro-food/agricultural sectors' analysis and development, strengthening of supplychain actors (producers, private/public actors, agro-food industries...), socio-economic analysis of agricultural chains and his great knowledge of companies in these markets

See more
clipboard01.png
Country representative in Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Agricultural Engineer, specialised in "quality of the environment and resources management", from the French National School of Agricultural Science and Engineering of Toulouse (INP ENSAT). He brings his expertise in feasibility studies for investment funds, agricultural markets studies and analysis of value chains

See more
elsa_sanial.jpg
Research officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Elsa Sanial

Geography PhD at University Jean Moulin Lyon 3 and the International Research Centre for agronomy and developement (CIRAD), she brings her expertise on ecological, agronomic and socio-economic agroforestry’s stakes, on cocoa value chain sustainability, the analysis of agricultural systems at territorial scale, socio-ecological systems studies, social sciences investigation, mapping and botany. She also has several years of experience in projects setting and coordination

clovis_grinand.jpg
Project Manager

Clovis Grinand

PhD in Functional Ecology and Agronomic Sciences (SupAgro, IRD and CIRAD) and specialized in Localized Information Systems for Spatial Planning (AgroParisTech), he is an expert in land use change monitoring using remote sensing, digital soil mapping and spatial modeling applied to forestry, agronomy and landscape ecology. He is the author of numerous international scientific publications.

See more
img_20180324_093949850.jpg
Project DESIRA Manager / Agro-Botanist / Côte d'Ivoire

Rolande Kouassi Ettien

Botanist, Rolande holds a Master 2 in Systematics, Ecology and Biodiversity. She currently holds the position of Agro-Botanist for the Mé REDD+ Project. She mainly brings her expertise on cocoa agroforestry plots, the management of organic cocoa cooperatives and the Organic and Fair Trade certification.

See more
tio.jpg
Project Officer GIS and remote sensing / Côte d'Ivoire

Tiodionwa Ouattara

Holder of a Master of Remote Sensing and Geographical Information Systems for the Development and Management of Lands and Ecosystems, Tiodionwa joined the team of Nitidæ Côte d'Ivoire in December 2016. He is currently pursuing a thesis dedicated to monitoring (agro)forest dynamics within the framework of the Mé REDD + Project (PRM).

See more

TERRI4SOL - Mise en œuvre d'un scénario d’aménagement multifonctionnel des territoires agricoles, forestiers et post-forestiers dans la région de la Mé

Début
janvier 2021
Fin
janvier 2024
Coût de l’action
430 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise anacarde

Pays

Côte d’Ivoire

Thématiques

Agriculture Biologique Agroforesterie Aménagement du Territoire Bio-énergie Biodiversité Climat Forêt Marché

Filières

Cacao

Objectifs principaux

Construction participative de scénarios, de leur mise en place dans les parcelles et de l’évaluation des effets, tant climatiques que socio-économiques

Objectifs spécifiques

Le projet s'est construit en complémentarité du projet Cocoa4Future et vise à travailler sur des scénarios de développement rural bas-carbone. L'idée est de co-construire des scénarios de développement à faible impact carbone avec les communautés bénéficiaires, de les mettre en œuvre pour en évaluer les impacts climatiques et socio-économiques par la suite

Bénéficiaires

  • Les villages de Bieby, Mebifon et Mopodji
  • Près de 450 producteurs / productrices accompagnés dans la mise en œuvre de pratiques bas carbone sur leur exploitation

Résultats

R1. Analyse locale des scénarios régionaux et co-construction de scénarios locaux consensuels (focus groups, ateliers de modélisation participative)
R2. Analyse des déterminants socio-économiques et environnementaux locaux ainsi que des impacts de chaque scénario pour les 3 villages inclus dans le projet suite à une méthodologie participative de formalisation de scénarios locaux d’évolution de changements, de pratiques et d’usage des terres définie avec les populations concernées
R3. Évaluation des impacts carbone et ceux socio-économiques grâce à un outil déjà mis en place mettant à jour les paramètres des modèles grâce aux données sur les déterminants socio-économiques récoltées et les données biophysiques enregistrées par les démonstrateurs
R4. Accompagnement des producteurs ayant mis en application au moins une pratique bas carbone dans leur système d’exploitation

Activités

A1. Complétion et mise à jour des diagnostics agraires réalisés par Nitidæ dans le cadre du Projet REDD+ de la Mé pour fournir les informations nécessaires à la conception des scénarios locaux, des démonstrateurs bas-carbone, des appuis aux producteurs et du suivi-évaluation des effets de la composante en développant des partenariats avec la société Inprobois pour la production de bois en agroforesterie
A2. Déploiement de démonstrateurs bas-carbone dans chacun des villages ciblés par le projet et incorporation de diverses parcelles pilotes de pratiques bas-carbone pour mettre en œuvre in situ la stratégie de préservation et de restauration des stocks de carbones organique (transitions clés d’usage des terres, itinéraires techniques)
A3. Mise en place de mesures d'accompagnement de producteurs dans la pratique bas-carbone en s'appuyant sur les activités déjà menées par Nitidæ dans le cadre du PRM, notamment en ce qui concerne la délivrance de certificats fonciers afin que les producteurs / productrices puissent investir sans craintes dans des pratiques bas carbone à l’impact souvent différé dans le temps
A4. Mise en place des démonstrateurs et des mesures d’accompagnement qui ont amélioré le bilan carbone, les indicateurs socio-économiques et de sécurité alimentaire sur les 3 villages ciblés

Personnes associées

20171019_165949.jpg
Co-Directeur

Cédric Rabany

Diplômé d'un Master of Science - Ingénieur Agricole, Développement des Territoires de l'Institut Supérieur d’Agriculture - ISARA - Lyon, il apporte son expertise en analyse et développement de filières agricoles et agro-alimentaires, le renforcement des acteurs des filières (producteurs organisés, privés, publics, industrie agro-alimentaire...) à la compréhension et la chaîne de valeur, et son excellente connaissance des entreprises sur ces marchés

En voir +
clipboard01.png
Représentant en Côte d'Ivoire

Benjamin Garnier

Ingénieur Agronome issu de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure Agronomique de Toulouse (INP ENSAT - spécialité en qualité de l’environnement et gestion des ressources), Benjamin est actuellement notre représentant en Côte d'Ivoire. Il assure également la coordination directe des projets CERTIBIO et ELECTRICI.

En voir +
elsa_sanial.jpg
Chargée de mission de recherche / Agriculture & Marché / France

Elsa Sanial

Docteur en Géographie de l’Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3 et du Centre International de Recherche pour l’Agronomie et le Développement (CIRAD), elle apporte son expertise sur les dimensions écologiques, agronomiques et socio-économiques de l’agroforesterie, sur la durabilité dans la filière cacao, l’analyse des systèmes agricoles à l’échelle territoriale, l'étude des systèmes socio-écologiques, enquêtes en sciences sociales, cartographie et botanique. Elle dispose également d’une expérience de plusieurs années en montage et coordination de projets

clovis_grinand.jpg
Chargé de projets

Clovis Grinand

Docteur en Écologie Fonctionnelle et Sciences Agronomiques (SupAgro, IRD et CIRAD) et spécialisé en Systèmes d'Informations Localisées pour l'Aménagement des Territoires (AgroParisTech), il est expert en suivi des changements d'usage des terres par télédétection, cartographie numérique des sols et modélisation spatiale appliquée à la foresterie, agronomie et écologie des paysages. Il est auteur de nombreuses publications scientifiques de rang international

En voir +
img_20180324_093949850.jpg
Cheffe de projet DESIRA / Agro-Botaniste / Côte d'Ivoire

Rolande Kouassi Ettien

Botaniste de formation, Rolande est titulaire d'un Master 2 de Systématique, Écologie et Biodiversité Végétales et apporte principalement son expertise dans la conduite de parcelles agroforestières cacaoyères, l’encadrement de coopératives cacao bio et la certification Agriculture Biologique et Équitable. Après avoir occupé le poste d’Agro-Botaniste au sein du Projet REDD+ de la Mé, elle est désormais en charge de la coordination des activités menées par Nitidæ au sein du projet Cocoa 4 Future.

En voir +
tio.jpg
Chargé de mission SIG et Télédétection / Côte d'Ivoire

Tiodionwa Abdoulaye Ouattara

Titulaire d’un Master de Télédétection et Systèmes d'Information Géographique pour l'Aménagement et la Gestion des Terres et des Ecosystèmes, Tiodionwa a intégré l'équipe de Nitidæ Côte d’Ivoire en décembre 2016. Il poursuit actuellement une thèse dédiée au suivi des dynamiques (agro)forestières dans le cadre du Projet REDD+ de la Mé (PRM)

En voir +