TRACAM - Traceability, transparency and sustainability issues of cocoa supply-chain in Cameroon

Start
January 2022
End
May 2022
Project cost
34  500 €
Role in the project
Cocoa value chain expertise

Countries

Cameroon

Fields

Agroforestry Climate Forest Market

Sectors

Cocoa

Main goals

The assignment will provide an analysis of the state of play of the cocoa supply chain, cocoa traceability and standards related to economic, environmental and social sustainability. This assignment is meant to assess the feasibility and potential of a transparency approach in the cocoa supply chain to inform Cameroon’s strategic dialogue with its commercial partners, in particular the EU to operationalize its strategy on imported deforestation

Specific objectives

SO1. Realize a detailed description, and corresponding data sources, of the cocoa supply chain in terms of production, domestic trade, processing, exports, institutional arrangements, sustainability and stakeholders
SO2. Provide a description of existing and planned public and private traceability initiatives in the cocoa sector, their main challenges and the evaluation of these systems
SO3. Furnish a description and analysis of existing policy and institutional frameworks related to cocoa pricing and farmer incomes, deforestation and forest degradation, and child labor

Related people

thomas_fabre.jpg
Mission officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Thomas Fabre

After graduating from a general business school (HEC Paris) and a master's degree in ecological philosophy, he specialised in environmental management at AgroParisTech. He worked for an econometric and statistical analysis company, as well as in a strategy consulting firm specialised in the Africa and Middle East. He has carried out missions concerning agricultural markets in sub-Saharan Africa and has conducted surveys in Tanzania on the development of mobile payments in an agricultural sector. He supports the research department on the traceability of cocoa in Cameroon and works on the carbon footprint of a company in the vanilla industry in Madagascar

elsa_sanial.jpg
Research officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Elsa Sanial

Geography PhD at University Jean Moulin Lyon 3 and the International Research Centre for agronomy and developement (CIRAD), she brings her expertise on ecological, agronomic and socio-economic agroforestry’s stakes, on cocoa value chain sustainability, the analysis of agricultural systems at territorial scale, socio-ecological systems studies, social sciences investigation, mapping and botany. She also has several years of experience in projects setting and coordination

image1.jpg
Project officer / Agriculture & Market / France

Pierre Ricau

Holder of a Master Degree in "Agricultural Development and Economic Policies" from the Institute of Development Studies (IEDES), Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University and AgroParisTech. He brings his expertise in agricultural market analysis (especially cashew, sesame, shea, cocoa, hevea, corn, rice and onion), development of agro-food sectors, training engineering and consultancy on public agricultural/agro-industrial policies

See more

TRACAM - Traçabilité, transparence et enjeux de durabilité de la filière cacao au Cameroun

Début
janvier 2022
Fin
mai 2022
Coût de l’action
34  500 €
Rôle dans l'action
Expertise chaîne de valeur cacao

Pays

Cameroun

Thématiques

Agroforesterie Climat Forêt Marché

Filières

Cacao

Objectifs principaux

La mission fournira une analyse de l'état d'avancement de la chaîne d'approvisionnement du cacao, de sa traçabilité et des normes liées à la durabilité économique, environnementale et sociale. Cette mission vise à évaluer la faisabilité et le potentiel d'une approche de transparence dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement du cacao pour éclairer le dialogue stratégique du Cameroun avec ses partenaires commerciaux, en particulier l'UE pour opérationnaliser sa stratégie sur la déforestation importée

Objectifs spécifiques

OS1. Fournir une description détaillée, et les sources de données correspondantes, de la chaîne d'approvisionnement du cacao en termes de production, de commerce national, de transformation, d'exportations, d'arrangements institutionnels, de durabilité et d'acteurs
OS2. Réaliser une description des initiatives de traçabilité publiques et privées existantes et prévues dans le secteur du cacao, leurs principaux défis et l'évaluation de ces systèmes
OS3. Faire une description et une analyse des cadres politiques et institutionnels existants liés à la tarification du cacao et aux revenus des agriculteurs, à la déforestation et à la dégradation des forêts ainsi qu'au travail des enfants

Personnes associées

thomas_fabre.jpg
Chargé de missions / Agriculture & Marché / France

Thomas Fabre

Issu d’une école de commerce généraliste (HEC Paris) et d’un master en philosophie écologique, il s’est spécialisé en gestion de l’environnement à AgroParisTech. Il dispose d’une expérience dans une entreprise d’analyse économétrique et statistique, ainsi que dans un cabinet de conseil en stratégie spécialisé dans les régions Afrique & Moyen-Orient. Il a effectué des missions concernant les marchés agricoles d'Afrique subsaharienne et a mené des enquêtes en Tanzanie sur le développement du paiement mobile dans une filière agricole. Il appuie le pôle étude sur la traçabilité du cacao au Cameroun et travaille sur le bilan carbone d’une entreprise de la filière vanille à Madagascar

elsa_sanial.jpg
Chargée de mission de recherche / Agriculture & Marché / France

Elsa Sanial

Docteur en Géographie de l’Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3 et du Centre International de Recherche pour l’Agronomie et le Développement (CIRAD), elle apporte son expertise sur les dimensions écologiques, agronomiques et socio-économiques de l’agroforesterie, sur la durabilité dans la filière cacao, l’analyse des systèmes agricoles à l’échelle territoriale, l'étude des systèmes socio-écologiques, enquêtes en sciences sociales, cartographie et botanique. Elle dispose également d’une expérience de plusieurs années en montage et coordination de projets

image1.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture & Marché / France

Pierre Ricau

Diplômé d'un Master II Professionnel Développement Agricole et Politiques Économiques dans les Pays en Développement de l'Institut des Etudes du Développement Economique et Social (IEDES), Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne et AgroParisTech, il apporte son expertise dans l'analyse des marchés agricoles et le conseil en politiques publiques ou projets agro-industriels

En voir +