SESAME (SESAme Marketing and Exports) - Increase the capacity of actors in the sesame value chain to meet export quality standards

Start
October 2016
End
October 2021
Project cost
800 000 €
Role in the project
Sesame expertise

Countries

Burkina Faso

Fields

Agriculture Agroprocessing Market

Sectors

Sesame

Main goals

SESAme Marketing and Exports is a five-year project implemented by Lutheran World Relief (LWR) to increase:

  • the production and export of high quality sesame through an ICT platform (Information and Communication Technologies) that will facilitate the flow of information and transactions
  • targeted capacity building for producers, associations and exporters
  • access to financial services

Specific objectives

SESAME will allow sustainable partnerships between buyers and sellers, strengthen producers’ associations and ensure long-term impact beyond the project

Beneficiaries

LWR works with exporters and producer cooperatives, processors, buyers, financial institutions and government entities to increase their ability to meet export quality standards, and improve seller-buyer relations. More than 509,000 people will benefit directly and indirectly from the SESAME project during its implementation

Results

R1. Conduct a study to understand international sesame standards and their impact (technical, financial and social) on the value chain in Burkina Faso
R2. Organize four conferences / workshops (one per region) to disseminate information on industry standards, develop common approaches to products handling and post-harvest storage practices to meet these standards, and on the importance of respecting (for buyers and sellers)
R3. Present the study’s findings on international sesame standards and their impact on the value chain in Burkina Faso at inter-professional meetings bringing together national stakeholders (government, exporters and inputs national supply companies)
R4. Provide support and follow-up through one-on-one meetings with government departments and exporters, to define the terms and conditions for integrating these standards into their business strategies
R5. Develop and disseminate communication materials (radio messages in French and local languages) and visual materials (posters, brochures, leaflets) to raise awareness about standards among producers’ organizations, traders and exporters
R6. Train pickers, transporters and traders on best hygiene practices for handling sesame and PEAs on good agricultural techniques, handling practices and post-harvest storage (to keep sesame clean)

Activities

RONGEAD / nitidæ contributes to the following overall project activities:

A1. Market access: facilitate buyer-seller relationships
A6. Infrastructure: handling practices and post-harvest storage
A7. Capacity building: agriculture extension agents / services

Related people

jules.png
Country representative

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Holder of a Master II in "Accounting and Financial Management" from the International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston, USA, he brings his expertise in sustainable community development in West Africa, particularly in the fields of identification and enhancement of local individual or collective initiatives

See more
griffon.jpg
Project Officer

François Griffon

Holder of a Master's degree in "Sustainable Farming and Agri-food Systems in the South", specialised in "Markets, Organization, Quality and Services" from Montpellier SupAgro - Institut des Régions Chaudes (IRC), he brings his expertise in sector and value chain analysis, market studies, quality management and farmers' organisations services and support

See more
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Project Manager

Loïc Simonnot

Engineer in international agro-development from ISTOM, he has high-level expertise recognized by both the public and the private sector, in the shea sector: producers’ organizations, production, processing, marketing and on reducing environmental impacts of processing

See more
clipboard14.png
Chargé de mission

Michel Ouali

Graduated with a diploma of Technician Superior (BTS) of agriculture he brings his expertise in the supervision of the peasant world in the promotion of innovative agricultural techniques. Much more comfortable in the field, he is illustrated in the organization, training, monitoring and support-advice of the rural world. He worked at the Matourkou Polyvalent Agricultural Center (Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso) and at the International Center for Research and Development on Subhumid Livestock Farming (CIRDES).

photo_3.jpg
Chargée de mission

Caroline Bassono

She graduated from the agronomy school of Rennes, Agrocampus Ouest, specialized in Plant Science and Productions - Agrosystems Engineering. She brings her expertise in the development of sustainable farming systems, the support of producers in improving their practices, the creation of training materials on production and post-harvest techniques (sesame) and agroecology

clipboard15.png
Chargé de mission

Sophie Yaogo

Graduate of a Master of Science in Agricultural Economics from the National University of Taiwan (College of Bio-resources and Agriculture), and a Master of Economics and Management of Enterprises of Social and Solidarity Economy from Ouaga University II , she has skills in designing, implementing, monitoring and evaluating sustainable development projects, analyzing agricultural value chains and agricultural products valorization

clipboard17.jpg

Moussa Bingboure

Graduate of a Master in Economics and Management, option Agricultural Economics and Environment at Norbert Zongo University, specialty: Natural Resource Management and Rural / Sustainable Development. He brings expertise in sustainable community development in agriculture, natural resource management, project design and coordination, value chain analysis, and social and environmental impacts.

clipboard18.jpg
Chargé de mission

Sansan Hien

Graduate of a Master in Project Management from the Higher Institute of Professional Departments of Bobo-Dioulasso and a Master in Agricultural Economics and Environment-University Norbert Zongo, he brings his expertise in integrated management of agricultural enterprises and agribusiness, monitoring and evaluation system, analysis of agricultural markets and strengthening actors in agricultural value chains

20181013_164433.jpg
Chauffeur

David Yonli

Driver with experience as a tour guide, he brings all his experience in the management of logistics, preparation and organization of field missions.

ida.png
Chargée de mission

Ida Drabo

Graduated as Design Engineer in Agricultural Extension at the University Nazi Boni Bobo Dioulasso-Burkina Faso, she brings her expertise in supporting producers in the adoption of innovative technologies. In particular the support and the accompaniment of the actors of the sector in the marketing of shea on the national and international level

SESAME (SESAme Marketing and Exports) - Accroître la capacité des acteurs de la chaîne de valeur du sésame à respecter les normes de qualité des exportations

Début
octobre 2016
Fin
octobre 2021
Coût de l’action
800 000 €
Rôle dans l'action
Experts sésames

Pays

Burkina Faso

Thématiques

Agriculture Agroprocessing Marché

Filières

Sésame

Objectifs principaux

SESAme Marketing and Exports est un projet de cinq ans mis en œuvre par Lutheran World Relief (LWR) et qui vise à accroître:

  • la production et l’exportation de sésame de qualité supérieure à travers une plateforme TIC (Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication) qui facilitera la circulation de l’information et les transactions
  • le renforcement de capacités ciblées des producteurs, des associations et des exportateurs
  • l’accès aux services financiers

Objectifs spécifiques

SESAME permettra de créer des partenariats durables entre les acheteurs et les vendeurs et de renforcer les associations de producteurs et d’assurer un impact à long terme au delà du projet

Bénéficiaires

LWR travaille avec les exportateurs et les coopératives de producteurs, les transformateurs, les acheteurs, les institutions financières et les entités gouvernementales pour accroître leurs capacités à répondre aux normes de qualité de l’exportation, et améliorer les relations vendeur-acheteur. Plus de 509.000 personnes bénéficient directement et indirectement du projet SESAME durant sa mise en œuvre

Résultats

R1. Réaliser une étude pour comprendre les normes internationales relatives au sésame et leur impact (technique, financier et social) sur la chaîne de valeur au Burkina Faso
R2. Organiser quatre conférences / ateliers (un par région) pour diffuser l'information sur les normes de l'industrie, élaborer des approches communes aux pratiques de manutention et de stockage après récolte pour respecter ces normes et sur l'importance du respect des contracts par les acheteurs et des vendeurs
R3. Présenter les conclusions de l'étude sur les normes internationales relatives au sésame et leur impact sur la chaîne de valeur au Burkina Faso lors des réunions interprofessionnelles rassemblant les acteurs nationaux (gouvernement, exportateurs et entreprises nationales d'approvisionnement en intrants)
R4. Fournir un soutien et un suivi à travers des rencontres individuelles avec les services du gouvernement et les exportateurs pour définir les modalités et les conditions d'intégration de ces normes dans leurs stratégies commerciales
R5. Développer et diffuser des matériels de communication (messages radio en français et en langues locales) et des matériels visuels (affiches, brochures, dépliants) pour des composantes visant à sensibiliser les organisations de producteurs, les commerçants et les exportateurs aux normes
R6. Former les collectionneurs, les transporteurs et les commerçants sur les meilleures pratiques d'hygiène dans la manipulation du sésame et PEAs sur les bonnes techniques agricoles et la manipulation et le stockage post-récolte (pour conserver le sésame propre)

Activités

RONGEAD/nitidæ contribue aux activités globales du projet suivantes:
A1. Accès au marché: Faciliter les relations Acheteur-Vendeur
A6. Infrastructure: Manutention et entreposage après récolte
A7. Renforcement des capacités: Agriculture Extension Agents / Services

Ressources associées

sesame_burkina_marche_agri_bio_tic.jpg
Agriculture, Marché

Rapport à mi-parcours du projet SESAME (SESAme Marketing and Exports)

This publication was produced at the request of the USDA. It was prepared independently by the Center for Studies, Research and Training on Economic and Social Development (CERFORDES) and authored by Dr. Yaro Yacouba
sesame_bf_agri.png
Agriculture, Marché

Plaquette - Classification du sésame au Burkina Faso

Caroline Bassono, François Griffon
formation_burkina_agri.jpg
Agriculture, Marché, TIC

Nos formations et services liés à l'information de marché

Pierre Ricau, François Griffon, Loïc Simonnot, Julien Gonnet, Cédric Rabany
sesame_bilan_2018_marche.png
Marché, TIC

Bilan de la campagne sésame 2017-2018 et perspectives 2018-2019

François Griffon
sesame_contamination_bf_agri.png
Agriculture, Marché

Affiche - Les sources de contamination du sésame!

Caroline Bassono
bf_sesame_stockage_agri.png
Agriculture, Marché

Affiche - Halte aux contaminations du sésame lors du stockage!

Caroline Bassono
sesame_transport_bf_agri.png
Agriculture, Marché

Affiche - Halte aux contaminations du sésame lors du transport!

Caroline Bassono
clipboard01.png
Agriculture, Marché

Etude sur les normes et standards dans la filière sésame au Burkina

François Griffon
clipboard01.gif
Agriculture

Boîte à images - Sésame Les bonnes pratiques culturales

clipboard01.png
Marché

Boîte à images - Le marché du sésame - L'Offre et la Demande - Les pays consommateurs et producteurs

François Griffon
clipboard01.png
Marché

La filière sésame en 2013 : Livret 5 - Marchés du sésame et commercialisation

Romain Peyrache, Cédric Rabany
clipboard01.png
Marché

Guide de l’exportateur - Burkina Faso (Clasquin) Aider les producteurs à répertorier les démarches administratives relatives au processus d’exportation…

Romain Peyrache
p1010437.jpg
Agriculture, Marché

Mémoire - La filière sésame au Burkina Faso - Stratégies d'appui aux acteurs

Pascale Dulioust

Personnes associées

jules.png
Représentant au Burkina Faso

Souleymane Jules Gaye

Diplômé d'un Master II of Accounting and Financial Management de l'International School of Engineering (INSOFE), Boston MA, USA, il apporte toute son expertise en matière de développement communautaire durable en Afrique de l’Ouest dans l'agriculture et l’identification et la valorisation d’initiatives individuelles ou collectives locales

En voir +
griffon.png
Chargé de mission

François Griffon

Diplômé d'un Master Systèmes Agricoles et Agroalimentaires Durables dans les pays du Sud, option Marchés, Organisation, Qualité et Services de Montpellier SupAgro, Institut des Régions Chaudes, il apporte son expertise en matière d'analyse des filières, d'études de marché et des chaînes de valeur, en gestion de la qualité et en appui et services aux organisations de producteurs

En voir +
loc_simonnot_1082.jpg
Chargé de projets / Bioénergie & Déchet / France

Loïc Simonnot

Diplomé en Ingénieur en Agro-développement international de l'ISTOM, il possède une expertise, reconnue par le secteur public et privé, dans le karité: organisation des productrices, production, transformation, commercialisation et sur la réduction des impacts environnementaux de la transformation agricole

En voir +
clipboard14.png
Chargé de mission

Michel Ouali

Diplomé d’un Brevet de Technicien Supérieur (BTS) d’agriculture il apporte son expertise dans l’encadrement du monde paysan en matière de promotion de techniques agricoles innovantes. Beaucoup plus à l’aise sur le terrain, il s’illustre dans l'organisation, la formation, le suivi et l’appui-conseil du monde rural. Il a travaillé au Centre Agricole Polyvalent de Matourkou (Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso) et au Centre International sur de Recherche-Développement sur l'Elevage en zone Subhumide (CIRDES)

photo_3.jpg
Chargée de mission

Caroline Bassono

Elle est diplômée de l'école d'agronomie de Rennes, Agrocampus Ouest, spécialisée en Sciences et Productions Végétales - Ingénierie des Agrosystèmes. Elle apporte son expertise dans le développement de systèmes agricoles durables, l'accompagnement des producteurs dans l'amélioration de leurs pratiques, la création de supports de formation sur les techniques de production et post-récolte (sésame) et l'agroécologie

En voir +
clipboard15.png
Chargée de mission

Sophie Yaogo

Diplômée d’un Master of Science in Agricultural Economics de l’Université National de Taïwan (College of Bio-resources and Agriculture), et d’une Maîtrise en Economie et Gestion des Entreprises d’Economie Sociale et Solidaire de l’Université Ouaga II, elle possède des compétences en conception, mise en œuvre, suivi et évaluation de projets de développement durable, l’analyse des chaînes de valeur agricole et la valorisation des produits agricoles

clipboard17.jpg
Chargé de mission / Agriculture et Marché / Burkina

Moussa Bingboure

Diplômé d’un Master en Sciences Economique et de Gestion, option Economie Agricole et de l’Environnement à l’Université Norbert Zongo, spécialité : Gestion des ressources naturelles et développement rural/durable. Il apporte son expertise en matière de developpement communautaire durable dans l'agriculture, dans la gestion des ressources naturelles, le montage et coordination de projets, l'analyse des chaînes de valeur et des impacts sociaux et environnementaux

clipboard18.jpg
Chargé de mission

Sansan Hien

Diplômé d’un Master en management de projets de l’Institut Supérieur des Filières Professionnalisantes de Bobo-Dioulasso et d’une Maîtrise en Economie Agricole et de l’Environnement-Université Norbert Zongo, il apport son expertise en gestion intégrée des entreprises agricoles et agroalimentaires, en système de monitoring & évaluation, en analyse des marchés agricoles et en renforcement des acteurs des chaînes de valeurs agricoles

En voir +
20181013_164433.jpg
Chauffeur

David Yonli

Chauffeur ayant une expérience en tant que guide touristique, il apporte toute son experience dans la gestion de la logistique, préparation et organisation des missions terrain.

ida.png
Chargée de mission

Ida Drabo

Diplômée en Ingénieur de conception en Vulgarisation Agricole à l’Université Nazi Boni de Bobo Dioulasso- Burkina Faso, elle apporte son expertise dans l’accompagnement des producteurs dans l’adoption des technologies innovantes. Notamment l’appui et l’accompagnement des acteurs de la filière dans la commercialisation du karité au niveau national et international

alice_lompo.jpg
Responsable Administrative et Financière / Burkina

Alice Lompo

Titulaire d'un Master II en Finances et Comptabilité, Alice a travaillé dans plusieurs ONG internationales au Burkina Faso avant de rejoindre Nitidæ en Juillet 2019. Elle occupe actuellement le poste de Responsable Administrative et Financière de la Représentation du Burkina Faso